Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Important life skills that almost all can benefit from
I have read the previous Crucial Conversations from the same authors and found this insightful, useful and well written. I thought I would give Crucial Confrontations a go (and it was well priced on Amazon), and I was very pleased I did. Too often writers of books like these hit on some great insight as in Crucial Conversations, and are tempted to regurgitate the same...
Published on 6 Jan. 2012 by Archie25

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange tone?
Not bad at all.

But something about the tone (blaming?) puts me off ever so slightly. Maybe it's just because it's written in an American corporate style. Or maybe there is a deeper problem?
Published on 10 Nov. 2011 by Pete Burden


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Important life skills that almost all can benefit from, 6 Jan. 2012
I have read the previous Crucial Conversations from the same authors and found this insightful, useful and well written. I thought I would give Crucial Confrontations a go (and it was well priced on Amazon), and I was very pleased I did. Too often writers of books like these hit on some great insight as in Crucial Conversations, and are tempted to regurgitate the same thinking in a new book to cash in but without adding anything new - this was not the case here. Crucial Confrontations builds on and references many of the principles in the earlier work - you would be surprised if it didn't - but introduces new insights and skills to challenge your thinking. It is well written in a structured and easy to follow way and the examples from work and personal life are very recognisable. I would highly recommend both books - even better if you read these with people you work and live with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Packed with Knowledge!, 25 April 2005
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Although confrontation is difficult for many people, it is often necessary. Failure to confront someone over bad behavior may be misinterpreted as approval. Confrontations can help bring people back to a better, more productive course. However, confrontations also can go off track and become shouting matches (or worse). Authors Kerry Patterson, Joseph Grenny, Ron McMillan and Al Switzler outline a method for approaching confrontations when the stakes are particularly high; those are the crucial confrontations. Boiled down to its essentials, the methodology consists of focusing on facts, remaining calm, listening to the other person with respect and working to motivate the other person and to enable a change in behavior. The book is light, anecdotal and easy to read. Yet, we find that it offers so much sound advice that any manager, parent or spouse could find something useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peril or Opportunity?, 23 Sept. 2005
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
As I read this exceptionally informative book, I was again reminded of the fact that the Chinese word for "crisis" has two meanings: peril and opportunity. As those who have been or are now involved in process simplification initiatives already know, every problem encountered offers a valuable learning opportunity. The same is also true when encountering "broken promises, violated expectations, and bad behavior" either within or beyond the workplace. The authors of this volume address questions such as these:
What's a "crucial confrontation"?
What to do before one occurs?
How to know when -- and when NOT -- to initiate one?
How to "get your head right before opening your mouth"?
How to begin a crucial confrontation?
How to involve and engage others to take appropriate action?
How to make keeping commitments (almost) painless?
What to do when others "get sidetracked, scream, or sulk"?
What to do after a crucial confrontation?
How to gain commitment and move to action?
How to solve "big, sticky, complicated problems"?
How to deal with the truly tough? (i.e. the twelve "yeh buts")
The authors also provide four appendices: A self-assessment for measuring confrontation skills, "The Six-Source Model," "When Things Go Right," and discussion questions for reading groups. Although any one of the appendices is worth far more than the cost of this book, their greatest value will be derived when the information and counsel are correlated with the material which the authors share in the nine chapters.
My own rather extensive experience in the business world suggests that "broken promises, violated expectations, and bad behavior" really do offer both perils and opportunities. A careful reading of this book and then an equally careful application of the advice which the authors offer will, in my opinion, reduce (if not eliminate) the former while helping to achieve effective fulfillment of the latter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-structured and easy-to-read manual for understanding and dealing with confrontations, 21 Dec. 2010
By 
E. Smakman (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First of all, when I say 'Manual', it is not the 5 easy steps to deal with all difficult discussions (either fights or people withdrawing from constructive dialogue). The topic is too broad and too complex to cover this. But the book is a 'how to' book as it provides plenty of concepts to frame discussions and also practical examples to use and experiment with yourself. For me as a consultant in - at that moment - a merger process between two companies, the concepts of mutual respect and mutual trust were very enlightening in understanding the different behavior the participants from both companies were displaying. I better understood and thus could better act upon this. Better, but definitely not perfect. Therefore, you need to practice the concepts of the book many times.

This book has made me better aware of what is at stake and what needs to be done to address the key issues within difficult discussions. I would recommend it to anyone who wishes to take a step back and resolve difficult issues with other people in a constructive way but doesn't know how. Useful in a professional and a personal context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 14 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'd read Crucial Conversations and been totally wowed by it and this follow up is just as good. I think sometimes it's about timing and I read the first book at a time when I was dealing with a number of issues so was able to apply many of the techniques immediately. This hasn't been the case with this book but I can see how I could use it in different situations. There is a degree of repitition from the first book but this serves as a reminder and I certainly think both books are well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars clear, well written, useful, 5 Dec. 2011
This book delivers exactly what it says it will on the cover.
It's a precise, well-written and very practical manual for managing confrontations,
when people havent met the expectations you had or broken your agreements.

I found it very useful.

But keep in mind that this is not a book about general conflict-resolution but
the specific confrontations described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful management tool, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an esssential tool for any person who has top deal with issues at work or at home. It gives a real insight in to methods of communication that work and dont work. Its helping me to manage more effectively
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 24 Jan. 2013
By 
DMB "DMB" (Woking, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic book for business leaders, HR professionals and line manager great for reflection on life and management styles. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange tone?, 10 Nov. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not bad at all.

But something about the tone (blaming?) puts me off ever so slightly. Maybe it's just because it's written in an American corporate style. Or maybe there is a deeper problem?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crucial Confrontations: Tools for Resolving Broken Promises, Violated Expectations, and Bad Behavior
Used & New from: £19.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews