Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - Useful, Practical, Compelling and no padding!, 2 Nov 2003
This review is from: Game Coding Complete (Paperback)
At last a book on the real experience of Game development. How much money have I wasted on 'learn game programming in C++ DirectX for dummies in 3 weeks'? Well none, because I leafed through them and left them on the shelf.
This book will not teach you to program. Good. This is a book, like Code Complete, for people who know how to program and want to know how to program well. Even if you've been a game programmer for years there will be something new and worthwhile here. It covers the stuff you really need to know but nobody ever tells you, like event handling, caching and memory management, initialisation, source control, testing and scheduling, all without unnecessary padding.
The only possible gripe I might have (and this is very minor) is that a few areas aren't covered due to space restrictions. on top of the author's noted omissions I'd have liked to see more coverage of after-sales support, demos & OEM versioning, outsourcing, cross-platform development and console development, and perhaps more guidance on team sizes (particularly testing).
Overall this book is pretty much all meat, I can't recommend it highly enough and I've praised it to my entire team. Its probably the most useful game development text I've read.
CdrJ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best games programming book yet, 4 Aug 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game Coding Complete (Paperback)
I must own 30+ games programming books and this is the best of the lot. It is very easy to read and is full of funny and interesting anecdotes about the authors experiences writing games. It is rare to find a book that covers all areas of games programming and not just graphics or AI. I am an experienced games programmer and yet each chapter I have learned something new. So highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just to make sure this book gets a lot of stars!!, 18 Nov 2006
By 
A. Greiffenberg (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Game Coding Complete (Paperback)
I agree with all the other reviewers: THIS IS THE BEST BOOK ON THE SUBJECT PERIOD(S)...

Rather difficult subjects are made easy to read (even fun with the "tales from the pixelmine" anecdotes).

You'll learn how to USE the programming skills you've learned from all the other books you've bought :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best one out there!, 20 May 2006
By 
Mr. Greg Udall (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Game Coding Complete (Paperback)
I've read a lot of books lately on the topic of game programming and programming with graphics API's and I have to say this one is by far the easiest and most informative to read. Some of the best bits are actual industry stories whcih explain humorous anicdotes about actual events and things to watch out for. This is a must read and for less than 30 quid your getting your moneys worth.

Well done McShaffrey, let me know when the 3rd edition is out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best games development book there is, 22 May 2007
By 
Mr. Andrew C. Patrick "andypatrick" (Loughborough, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Game Coding Complete (Paperback)
In all my life, I have only ever once bought the second edition of book I already own as a first edition, and that's for Game Coding Complete. The first edition was just brilliant, and the second edition surpasses it in every way imaginable.

The author's writing style is easy to follow and his explanations are clear and simple to understand. The "war stories" he gives from his experience over many years making games lend the book an air of immediacy and relevance. The book is written with a sense of honesty and a genuine willingness to encourage the reader to do well.

If you are hoping to get a career in games development, or want to do it as a hobby, or maybe you already do it as a job and just want some good ideas to get better at it: you must own this book. It really is that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best intermediate - advanced game programming book I've read, 26 Jun 2003
This review is from: Game Coding Complete (Paperback)
An excellent and incredibly informative book, this covers a lot of the things that other texts refer to but never go into detail about such as scene graphs, effective debugging, resource loading and caching, and initialization technique amongst many others. It's a must for those who want to make large professional games, whether looking to enter the industry or as an enthusiastic hobbyist.
You can trust that the author knows what he is talking about, given his extensive experience at Origin (makers of the Wing Commander and Ultima series) and Microsoft. There isn't an inch of wasted space, with every page packed with information and stories of the authors experience with topics in the real world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 580 pages of experience, 11 July 2004
This review is from: Game Coding Complete (Paperback)
This is probably the most relevant coding book I have ever read. It doesn't set out to teach you how to make a game or how to code, but rather is a collection of solutions to problems you didn't even know existed. Buy this book and tell everyone you've been coding for 20 years, and get away with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun to read, good next step in learning game programming, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game Coding Complete (Paperback)
It's a very well written book, easy to follow and quite complete. Some prior knownledge of programming is ofcourse necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Game Coding Complete
Game Coding Complete by Mike McShaffry (Paperback - 15 Jun 2003)
Used & New from: £0.73
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews