Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars9
3.3 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 December 2007
Working through this now and finding it quite straightforward. The style is fine and easy to follow, the exercises are fun. Could do with a little more explanation on some of the structures and rules but the layout is very good. The practice of putting common Norwegian words into the basic English text is surprisingly effective and the stickers to apply on household objects may seem a bit odd - but it works !
As good a starter language book as I've seen.
0Comment11 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2010
I got two copy's of this book one for myself, because I was going to work in Norway & one for my mum who likes to learn European languages (forth one). This book is Nynorsk (literally "new Norwegian"), not Bokmål (literally "book language"). at no point on Amazon does it state which language this book is written in. See quote from Norwegian web site***.

***About 86.2% of the pupils in secondary schools in Norway receive education in Bokmål, while about 13.8% receive education in Nynorsk. Of 4,549 state publications in 2006 8% were in Nynorsk, and 92% in Bokmål. The large national newspapers (Aftenposten, Dagbladet and VG) are published in Bokmål.***

I like the format, shame its not bokmål.

Regards
Marcus
22 comments22 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2007
I like to learn some words of the native language of any country we visit, the people seem to appreciate your effort and it does make sightseeing easier if only you can speak a few words. I have only had this book about 10 days but I have learnt a lot of words easily and without a lot of apparent effort. Each section provides exercises to practise your newly learnt vocabulary as well as teaching you new words which are similar to their English counterparts,and not being too 'childish' for adult learners. Hope more languages are added to the series. Happy learning
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is an introduction for total beginners to Norwegian, and it's designed to be as painless as possible. It uses a really effective technique of mixing English and Norwegian in the text for each section, gradually replacing more and more English words with Norwegian ones as you progress through the book. That way you pick up Norwegian words by using the context of the English passage around them, and they really stick.

There are of course the usual language exercises with translation / matching quizzes and so on, but they are presented in full colour and illustrated throughout, making for an engaging, fun course.

As with all the 10 minutes a day courses, one of the big strengths is the wealth of support material you get - sticky labels so you can label the objects in your home and be reminded of the word every time you see it; cut-out flash cards with Norwegian on one side and English on the other, so you can test yourself (or better, get a friend to test you!); and now a CD-ROM with some simple games on it for a bit of extra practice.

You won't be fluent at the end of a course like this, but you will have gained a good foundation of Norwegian vocabulary and simple grammar, which will serve as enough to get by on a trip to Norway, or the basis for further study with a more in-depth course like Colloquial Norwegian: A Complete Language Course (Colloquial Series). Don't be scared of languages - it can be quite a painless process to get into it with a course like this!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2008
I would say this book is suitable for people who just want to use some words in their travel (touristic) to Norway. Not really enough to learn the language, not even the basics, and definitely not enough for any kind of fine pronounciation (the CDRom is a joke). If you wanna order your meal and do some shoppings in Norsk, go ahead and buy it. But if you are interested in really learning the language, move on to something else.
11 comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
THIS BOOK IS WELL SET OUT AND EASY TO FOLLOW WITH LOTS OF IDEAS TO HELP WITH LEARNING.I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED TO FIND THE CD ROM IS FOR A MAC CD .NOWHERE IN THE DESCRIPTION IS THIS SHOWN.AS I ORDERED USING A KINDLE IT WAS IMPOSSIBLE TO SEE THE PRINTING ON THE FRONT OF THE BOOK WHICH IS THE ONLY PLACE THAT SHOWS THAT IT IS FOR A MAC PC.
I ORDERED THIS BOOK ONLY BECAUSE IT INCLUDED THE CD ROM AS I THINK IT IS NECESSARY TO HEAR A LANGUAGE IN ORDER TO LEARN IT.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2009
The book itself is brilliant. The approach to teaching is original and exciting. Great for teaching my student . The downside is that the CD which came with it was blank. Got a new book and the CD in that one was also blank. Very disappointing. Hence only 3 stars instead of 5.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
4 books received with pages out of order, no structure and want to return but unable to due to been over 30 days returns policy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
this I would recommend
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.