Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best atlas for owners of small to medium-sized telescopes
I wish this atlas had been available when I started out in astronomy. It's small enough to fit in one hand, yet - despite its size - the layout never feels cramped. The constellation lines are a huge advantage too; I can locate most deep-sky objects within a couple of minutes - much faster than I could with Sky Atlas 2000.

The atlas includes 80 main charts,...
Published on 14 Sep 2007 by Mark Kilner

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor kindle edition lets this good book down
Sky & Telescope's Pocket Sky Atlas

I am only giving this 2 stars.

If I had the hardback it would be 5 stars.

Why o why do the kindle editions come out so poorly?

The star charts are hard to read and you cannot expand (at least not on my Samsung tablet) to read them.

So do not download the kindle edition until they...
Published 15 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best atlas for owners of small to medium-sized telescopes, 14 Sep 2007
By 
Mark Kilner (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky & Telescope's Pocket Sky Atlas (Spiral-bound)
I wish this atlas had been available when I started out in astronomy. It's small enough to fit in one hand, yet - despite its size - the layout never feels cramped. The constellation lines are a huge advantage too; I can locate most deep-sky objects within a couple of minutes - much faster than I could with Sky Atlas 2000.

The atlas includes 80 main charts, plus 4 close-up charts covering the following regions of interest: the Pleiades, Orion's Sword, the Virgo Galaxy Cluster (essential!), and the Large Magellanic Cloud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First impressions, 13 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. M. R. Sutton (Chichester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky & Telescope's Pocket Sky Atlas (Spiral-bound)
This atlas is A5 sized and so fits into the pocket quite easily. It is spiral bound and so will stay open at the pages selected, when you place in on a flat surface. This is a great bonus as you can cross-refer from the book to the night sky / telescope / binoculars quickly and without having to find the page again. I covered the outside covers in clear sticky backed film to give extra protection against any dew.

Stars down to maginitude 7.6 are displayed on 80 main charts. The pages are in colour with significant objects easy to find. Arrows indicate the page number of the next page to check on the sky to the north/east/south/west which makes navigating across the sky simple. I am very pleased with this atlas and I am certain it will help improve my knowledge of the constellations. It is not as detailed as some of the more complex atlases but it is more than adequate for most casual users.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An astronomical bargain, 5 Oct 2010
By 
Ivan Proctor (Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sky & Telescope's Pocket Sky Atlas (Spiral-bound)
I can't fault this star atlas. It's a convenient size; the maps are beautifully clear and have a generous overlap with adjacent areas of sky; the spiral binding means the atlas always lies flat and doesn't have to be held open. Double and variable stars are differentiated and star clusters, nebulae and galaxies are all mapped.
Since I got my copy I find I use it all the time and not just to find the objects shown on the maps. It is also hugely useful for locating the fainter planets Uranus and Neptune, and other faint solar system objects moving against the stellar background. I'm just a hobby astronomer using my telescope in the back garden but this is an immensely useful book and I wouldn't want to be without it. At the Amazon price it has to be an astronomical bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sky & Telescope pocket Atlas, 9 Nov 2009
By 
L. J. Guise (Bedford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sky & Telescope's Pocket Sky Atlas (Spiral-bound)
This is a great field atlas to use outside with a telescope. It is small enough to slip into a large coat pocket or in an eyepiece box. The pages seem slightly waxy and are at least partially resistant to the dew, which can ruin paper atlases. The maps are very clear and are great for hunting down NGC objects etc. It takes a few moments to see how each section of the maps join together but you soon get used to the layout. This means you get detailed charts but on a small page size.

If it had a few notes of interest about the best objects on each page it would be even better and gone up to 5 stars in my rating. Even so this atlas now comes with me on every observing session and I have bought a second copy just to make sure! Make certain you have a red torch to go with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HEAVANS ABOVE, 24 Aug 2009
By 
A Happy Chappie (Surrey England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky & Telescope's Pocket Sky Atlas (Spiral-bound)
I can really only echo the other reviewers comments. This atlas is a gem of a find, nice handy size and very easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Pocket Sky Atlas Currently Available, 6 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky & Telescope's Pocket Sky Atlas (Spiral-bound)
I can't really add anything more of note to the informed opinions of the four previous reviewers: It is detailed, clear, concise, and very well printed on high quality card.

Let's hope for clear nights and a reduction in light pollution so that we may put it to good use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor kindle edition lets this good book down, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sky & Telescope's Pocket Sky Atlas

I am only giving this 2 stars.

If I had the hardback it would be 5 stars.

Why o why do the kindle editions come out so poorly?

The star charts are hard to read and you cannot expand (at least not on my Samsung tablet) to read them.

So do not download the kindle edition until they make some changes to make it readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Navigation and Poor Graphics, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The ability to navigate from one page or chart to another is absolutely essential and this kindle edition is, I'm sad to say, a big fail :-(

Combined with the fact that each chart is a non searchable poor quality image just adds to the frustration. When you enlarge a chart it actually becomes less legible and the jpeg artefacts show up making it difficult to work out if there is a line through a star indicating that it's a double.

The 'Look Inside' feature actually shows the poor graphics in fairness but I naturally assumed that when I handed over my cash a lovely clear representation of the printed version would be on view, but alas, no ... just so lodges and blurs.

This is how the navigation goes:
You find an object in the index, it gives you the Chart number, but without coordinates as to where on the chart to find it and not even a direct link to the chart. You are instead expected to battle with a meaningless 'location' at the bottom of the page in the Kindle info and guess which page that location is going to take you ... eh? What's all that about?

When is this actually going to reach the digital age? I am seriously not impressed. This kindle edition is a complete let down with regards to the effort put into the publication itself.

The Kindle edition is way over priced at £6 plus, and because of the lack of coordinate references I suspect I will be saving money on the printed version.

My advice: save your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars maps too small on a Nexus 10., 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cannot zoom in on the maps. They are far too small on the screen. Waste of money.
Will try and get a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great chart for any astronomer., 6 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky & Telescope's Pocket Sky Atlas (Spiral-bound)
I think this must really be the best star map i have ever owned and i would higly reccomend this book to anyone who not only uses a telescope but also for anyone who may like using binoculars or even just looking up at the night sky. It is equipted with around 80 star charts of every constellation known. It also has close up charts of well known objects in the night sky including the orion nebula. It is also very small and can fit into a backpack It has a great key showing thousands of objects that can be seen with any telescopeor binoculars of any size. The charts are of great quality with laminated pages and it also folds out as it is wire bound so it will easily fold. The chart shows objects such as large/small nebula clouds, small/large planetry nebula, small/large clusters and open clusters, stars and double stars, large/small galaxies and galaxy clusters, shows constellations and constellation lines(thousands of objects).

Pros:-
- shows thousands of objects.
- great quality charts.
- chart key repeated on regular intervals.
- easily folds out(wire bound).
- used with any sized telescope.
- charts are very accurate and there are many
of them.
- small can fit into a backpack, glove box.

cons:-
- dont know how the pages hold out to dew.
- Would be better if it maybe had a page or
2 on the location of planets.
- That is all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sky & Telescope's Pocket Sky Atlas
Sky & Telescope's Pocket Sky Atlas by Roger W. Sinnott (Spiral-bound - 30 Mar 2006)
£12.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews