Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So much more than scarves
This is a truly inspirational book. The patterns include wraps, capes and sleeved shrugs as well as scarves of all types. It covers all types of knitting, from simple garter/stocking stitch to lace, cables and intarsia as well as some crochet projects. Many of the yarns are not available in the the UK, but can be substituted easily.
The only quibbles I have are...
Published on 17 Nov 2004

versus
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very disappointing
I had hoped that this book would offer novel, interesting takes on the scarf but I was really disappointed. All but one of the scarves featured was dull, dowdy and middle-aged and didn't merit being in a book since if you really wanted to knit a scarf along those lines you could design it very easily yourself. The scarf I did like (Backyard Leaves) looks interesting...
Published on 19 Jan 2006


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So much more than scarves, 17 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Scarf Style: Innovative to Traditional 31 Inspirational Styles to Knit and Crochet (Paperback)
This is a truly inspirational book. The patterns include wraps, capes and sleeved shrugs as well as scarves of all types. It covers all types of knitting, from simple garter/stocking stitch to lace, cables and intarsia as well as some crochet projects. Many of the yarns are not available in the the UK, but can be substituted easily.
The only quibbles I have are that the layout is sometimes a little confusing, with the photo of one project next to the instructions for another. Also, it is a little short in men's scarves.
Other than that, I highly recommend it. Get one now and get your Christmas knitting sorted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new take on scarves, 25 Nov 2008
By 
H. B. Hosegoood (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scarf Style: Innovative to Traditional 31 Inspirational Styles to Knit and Crochet (Paperback)
I bought this book for one reason, and one reason only - the entrelac stole on page 52 which I'd seen on Ravelry created in lovely graded colours. To me the idea of buying a scarf book was silly. After all they are mainly just rectangles and it is a simple matter for your average knitter to design a pattern and knit it - or so I thought. I didn't expect to like any of the other designs in the book. How wrong I was. As an ardent knitter I should have realized that Interweave would come up with something exceptional.
So, this book contains 31 patterns, a few of them for crochet. Yes, there is your basic striped scarf, but there are also a couple of shawls, a collar, a capelet with sleeves and a turtleneck collar with attached sleeves, which I wouldn't wear myself but which was strangely attractive. Although anyone could wear these scarves, there are a few that I would say were specifically designed with men in mind - and really nice they are too - and one specifically for kids. There are lots of styles to try - textures, cables, lace, a fair-isle, two with large designs on them including a Nicki Epstein dragon scarf, a couple of designs for novelty yarns, two beaded scarves and more. There are bright scarves and soft feminine scarves, chunky winter warmers and elegant town scarves. I reckon that if you want to learn to knit, or to widen your skills, you could treat these scarves as lessons. By the end of the book you'll have a load of gifts for your friends and have learnt all sorts of techniques into the bargain.
If you want to see more before you buy, do join Ravelry or Flickr and search for this book title. I'm sure you'll be inspired. Otherwise take a look at the designers in this book - Jo Sharp, Nicki Epstein, Debbie Bliss, Nancy Bush, Kathy Zimmerman, Ann Budd and more. You get the idea - this is top stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great inspiration!, 5 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Scarf Style: Innovative to Traditional 31 Inspirational Styles to Knit and Crochet (Paperback)
I love this book! It's a great mix of styles and also projects - some quick and easy others more lengthy. Also like the fact that mixes knitting and crochet and I've never crocheted before but this has got me hooked. Just be aware that it is a US book and US crochet terms are quite different to UK so although techniques are included if you can crochet already you may just need to double check you are doing the right stitch first. This is a book to have on your bookshelf and will provide ideas and inspiration for years to come
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very disappointing, 19 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Scarf Style: Innovative to Traditional 31 Inspirational Styles to Knit and Crochet (Paperback)
I had hoped that this book would offer novel, interesting takes on the scarf but I was really disappointed. All but one of the scarves featured was dull, dowdy and middle-aged and didn't merit being in a book since if you really wanted to knit a scarf along those lines you could design it very easily yourself. The scarf I did like (Backyard Leaves) looks interesting and challenging, creating bas-relief leaves, but comments by knitbloggers who have completed it suggests that they found the instructions very unsatisfying. This is because the scarf is knit in two parts with a seam at the back but there are no directions on seaming it to avoid a really obvious join and normal techniques don't work with this pattern.
This was a very disappointing buy and I don't recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A winner, 25 Jun 2005
This review is from: Scarf Style: Innovative to Traditional 31 Inspirational Styles to Knit and Crochet (Paperback)
I couldn't wait to get this book and I was not disappointed. It inspired me to knit and crochet a much appreciated present, the loopy-daisy scarf and I am keen to do more.
Most scarves could be adapted to using other yarns if the suggested yarn is not available, as tension/precise size is not so important in a wrap around garment. I used Rowan chenille yarn for the scarf I made and it was fine.
The design-your-own section is fun too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scarftastic, 21 Dec 2010
This review is from: Scarf Style: Innovative to Traditional 31 Inspirational Styles to Knit and Crochet (Paperback)
Excellent book with a really good choice of scarves. The cover photograph does this no justice as it is probably the least attractive of the many scarves available to knit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Volume 1 of intensely interesting ideas, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scarf Style: Innovative to Traditional 31 Inspirational Styles to Knit and Crochet (Paperback)
Yes, yes, we can all do cowls and scarves: but so creatively? In this volume the star of the piece is the Bright Stripes scarf by Kirstin Nicholas, clever, easy and oh so original. The design notebook is helpful and the glossary of terms understandable and clear. What more could anyone want? Well Volume 2 for a start and see my review for that too. Both books should be on every knitters shelf. Scarves and cowls are quick and fun to make. Tension matters less and substituting wools makes not one jot of a problem. And what's more they make great presents.

A thought on wools. Oh why is it so that every country (it seems) has its own wool producers and virtually none shall speak unto each other. Because I knit mostly shawls and lighter things I tend to rely on Italian and South American yarns which are easier to get in Europe than American ones. Come on someone open up an on-line shop for all those stunning American wools!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 14 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scarf Style: Innovative to Traditional 31 Inspirational Styles to Knit and Crochet (Paperback)
I dare anyone not too look at this book with stash and needles handy and not be casting on in minutes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Book, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scarf Style: Innovative to Traditional 31 Inspirational Styles to Knit and Crochet (Paperback)
Brilliant book with some very inspiring and interesting ideas for makes scarves. Plenty of photos to wet the appetite to get you making something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Crochet disappointing, 24 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Scarf Style: Innovative to Traditional 31 Inspirational Styles to Knit and Crochet (Paperback)
Lovely book with great pictures - great if you knit. Not so great if you only crochet - as I do. Hardly anything in there to crochet. Extremely disappointed. Wouldn't recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scarf Style: Innovative to Traditional 31 Inspirational Styles to Knit and Crochet
16.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews