Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


230 of 232 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful low-carb resource!
I have been reading about Dana putting this cookbook together in her Low-Carb E-zine for around 8 months, and after all that work this book is not a disappointment!
Although she has included quite a few of the recipes that she has already published in her lowcarbezine, this does not detract from the value of the book at all, as (at last!) the recipes that I love to...
Published on 3 Jan 2003 by nikolaanne

versus
36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A really good cook book.
The biggest problem with this book is its American, which means not all the receipe ingredients are available in the UK.
The style of writing reminds me a little of Nigella Lawson, that chatty, I'm stood next to you in the kitchen holding a conversation type of prose, but without Nigella's sophistication.
However the book does hold lots of tips on low carb...
Published on 24 Oct 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

230 of 232 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful low-carb resource!, 3 Jan 2003
This review is from: 500 Low Carb Recipes: 500 Recipes from Snacks to Desserts That the Whole Family Will Love (Paperback)
I have been reading about Dana putting this cookbook together in her Low-Carb E-zine for around 8 months, and after all that work this book is not a disappointment!
Although she has included quite a few of the recipes that she has already published in her lowcarbezine, this does not detract from the value of the book at all, as (at last!) the recipes that I love to cook are now in one easy to find place! :-)
She doesn't rely on "funky" ingredients, that you can only obtain in the US, to achieve excellent results (unlike some other US LC cookbooks) and even gives "conversion" notes for her international readers.
I highly recommend the Sunflower Parmesan Crackers, Hazelnut Shortbread, Helen's Chocolate Bread-pudding, Not-so-hard sauce, and for The Tia Maria Lovers out there, Mockahula!
I LOVE Dana's work, her style is friendly and very readable, and she comes over as a genuine and honest person.
10 out of 10! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This will entice me to keep to low carb, 12 Feb 2004
This review is from: 500 Low Carb Recipes: 500 Recipes from Snacks to Desserts That the Whole Family Will Love (Paperback)
I bought this book purely based on the reviews that had been left and I can see why they were so great. The book is written as if its a note to a friend and the recipes are written in a really easy to follow way.
It has a massive range of recipes from quick and easy to those that take longer. The carb count is broken down for each recipe too so you can count your carbs easily.
This has some delicious recipes included and this is definitely one for the shelf if you plan to eat low carb long term.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A really good cook book., 24 Oct 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Low Carb Recipes: 500 Recipes from Snacks to Desserts That the Whole Family Will Love (Paperback)
The biggest problem with this book is its American, which means not all the receipe ingredients are available in the UK.
The style of writing reminds me a little of Nigella Lawson, that chatty, I'm stood next to you in the kitchen holding a conversation type of prose, but without Nigella's sophistication.
However the book does hold lots of tips on low carb eating in general, and most of the receipes I've tried have worked well. I particular enjoyed "Sloppy Jose" and "Glazed Turnips". This is definitely a useful book for any low carber, especially with the present limited resources available in the UK.
Each receipe has a carbohydrate break down, showing total carbs and net carbs (i.e. minus the fibre). And there are useful receipes for party/snacks that can be kept in the fridge for those time you just want to nibble!
A good buy for low carbers/ those avoiding sugar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but VERY american, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Low Carb Recipes: 500 Recipes from Snacks to Desserts That the Whole Family Will Love (Paperback)
Dana Carpender has written several low-carb recipe books, but this was one of her very first ones. She is American, and the book was clearly written with her local audience in mind (rather than an international one). Readers of this book need to be prepared for measurements in ounces and 'cups' and oven temperatures in Fahrenheit. Also, you need to be able to translate items like 'cilantro' (coriander, in the UK) as well as 'zucchini' (courgette) etc. Some ingredients will be unfamiliar, and others simply unavailable in UK-based shops.

Also, there are NO pictures in this book. That's not an issue for me, but it might be for some others. However it is already a *hefty* tome, and adding pictures would probably make it impractically thick! :-)

Despite all the comments I've made above, I still rate this as a four-star book. There is something in here for everybody trying to cook low carb - so even if there might be 100 recipes you couldn't easily make in the UK, there are still hundreds which you can still manage with ingredients easily sourced over here.

I still often refer to this book, but for those that would struggle with the convertions then instead I'd recommend her (internationalised) follow-up book - the imaginatively titled "500 More Low-Carb Recipes". That book includes metric measurements and much more 'international' food... but still no pictures... :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars American bias disappointing, 20 Jan 2013
By 
S. V. Barker "Lancastrian Reader" (Lancaster UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Low Carb Recipes: 500 Recipes from Snacks to Desserts That the Whole Family Will Love (Paperback)
Far too many ingredients we can't access in the UK to be really useful. Also, devoid of pictures, which renders it a rather dull book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Low Carb Recipes: 500 Recipes from Snacks to Desserts That the Whole Family Will Love (Paperback)
Great recipes easy to read & follow. Pleased I purchased this book it will be a great asset for myself Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great recipe book, 18 Aug 2013
This review is from: 500 Low Carb Recipes: 500 Recipes from Snacks to Desserts That the Whole Family Will Love (Paperback)
Am on low carb diet and wanted more recipe to carry on with this way of eating! Have made some great cakes and muffins from this book! Also tried the chicken dishes and all came out delicious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So much choice, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Low Carb Recipes: 500 Recipes from Snacks to Desserts That the Whole Family Will Love (Paperback)
This book is excellent, the recipes are clear and easy to follow, with ingredients I can eat.
It has opened up so many more options and ideas to help me with my low carb choices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Low Carb, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Low Carb Recipes: 500 Recipes from Snacks to Desserts That the Whole Family Will Love (Paperback)
Lots of recipes, but there is no pictures in that book. I like to see how the meal would look like before i cook it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference for LCers and healthy eaters alike, 10 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Low Carb Recipes: 500 Recipes from Snacks to Desserts That the Whole Family Will Love (Paperback)
This is my 5th LC book and quite a handy one at that. There is some crossover with some of the meals, but there are so many of them in this book that you can let it go. So much choice and written in a quick, non fussy style. Through my LC journey, I've found similar recipes with less ingredients or more readily available ingredients in the UK that make some of them in this book seem a little convaluted. Only some mind, but I do feel that someone who is familiar with this way of eating will know what they can substitute if required. Overall, a very handy book to have and I use it regularly for snacks and light meals. Definitely one to add to the cookery book shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x992d0be8)

This product

500 Low Carb Recipes: 500 Recipes from Snacks to Desserts That the Whole Family Will Love
12.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews