Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!
I've bought a good many books on cycling over the years, and I consider this to be amongst the best. The instructions are clear and concise, and will appeal to those with all the gadgets (HRM, Power Metres, Cadence monitors etc etc), and those just starting out. The suggested exercises/rides are well laid out and there is little reason why anyone would bore too soon...
Published on 26 Nov 2009 by Dropshort

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
Very goood book, nice new book useful, can be used for fine gain or teaching, good for any athlete novice or semi pro
Published 17 months ago by O


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 26 Nov 2009
This review is from: Workouts in a Binder - for Indoor Cycling (Spiral-bound)
I've bought a good many books on cycling over the years, and I consider this to be amongst the best. The instructions are clear and concise, and will appeal to those with all the gadgets (HRM, Power Metres, Cadence monitors etc etc), and those just starting out. The suggested exercises/rides are well laid out and there is little reason why anyone would bore too soon! The 'sweat proof' pages are a nice touch and also allow you to write notes (such as hrm levels) on the page in non permanet pen, which you can just wipe off after the work out. The one change I might suggest is that it might be more helpful if the workouts were laid out in 'landscape' rather than 'portrait' so the book could use its gatefold cover as a stand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Spinners and Cyclists, 8 April 2010
By 
David A. Evans (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Workouts in a Binder - for Indoor Cycling (Spiral-bound)
Excellent book. Has provided great inspiration for my spinning classes, and the sessions really work well. Very easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must have winter companion, 28 Feb 2010
By 
G. D. Gow "Mc Graeme" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Workouts in a Binder - for Indoor Cycling (Spiral-bound)
I bought this book as an addition to my winter training regime and it has been great. If you can't get out on your bike for one reason or another, look at your training schedule to see what you should have been doing. There is a session in this book for all your needs. If you own rollers, as I do, these sessions are still extremely useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revolutionising my Winter training, 1 Nov 2012
This review is from: Workouts in a Binder - for Indoor Cycling (Spiral-bound)
Great little product.

Plenty of workout variety, so helps avoid boredom on the indoor trainer. Covers main areas well (endurance, force, muscular endurance, speed skills, anaerobic and power), so you need never get on the bike without a decent focus to your workout. Handy tips for each workout and they are easily adaptable. There are also some good base training plans for those who don't want to plan their own training schedule from scratch.

I particularly like to preamble, which explains a number of key training concepts really concisely and enables you to plan your training and evaluate progress with the minimum of fuss.

This binder compliments Joe Friel's "The Cyclist's Training Bible" well; which makes sense, as it's co-written by his son. I mainly use The cyclist's Training Bible to plan my training and use the workout binder for inspiration on the indoor trainer, so can't say the binder is directly responsible for any gains I've made, but certainly helps me with motivation for indoor training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Workouts in a Binder - for Indoor Cycling (Spiral-bound)
Very goood book, nice new book useful, can be used for fine gain or teaching, good for any athlete novice or semi pro
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For competition cyclists only, 14 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Workouts in a Binder - for Indoor Cycling (Spiral-bound)
This book seems to be aimed at competitive cyclists and not those who are using indoor trainers to improve their fitness.

A lot of the technical information is not clearly explained. For instance training zones are either based on perceived effort - for which a chart is provided - or as a percentage of your 'lactic acid threshold heart rate' (or something similar). There then follows a passage explaining how to determine the LATHR, ride a time trial for 30 minutes and whatever your average heart rate is for the last 20 minutes gives you the LATHR etc. No definition of a time trial is given though, so do they mean ride flat out or a paced effort? No where is the scale used in the book related to the more familiar percentage of maximum heart rate zones.

The actual training programs consist mainly of blank page. The trainings are presented as a code similar to '5 min Z2, 3 x 5 min Z4'. The rest of the page is a title and a large black border.

If you are an aspiring professional or very competitive amateur this book might be useful but for any one else it is of limited value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ExCycle workouts, 27 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Workouts in a Binder - for Indoor Cycling (Spiral-bound)
Book well printed and spiral bound which makes it easier to use.
But really for training the sports rider and not much use for the exercise cycler who just wants programmes to give support and encouragement
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Workouts in a Binder - for Indoor Cycling
Workouts in a Binder - for Indoor Cycling by Dirk Friel (Spiral-bound - 10 Nov 2005)
16.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews