Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent technical manual on BJJ
This is the book that I have been waiting for, and it did not disappoint. If only all martial art books were up to this standard. It is a well conceived, well executed treatise on the basics of Brazilian Jiu-Jutsu, one of the most effective fighting systems ever designed.
The level of detail on technique is excellent, never too much, always concise and to the point...
Published on 20 Jun 2002

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Of limited value for a serious BJJ practitioner
I've been training BJJ for almost a decade and own numerous DVD and Video instructionals, along with a couple of books. This book is well laid out, but the moves are very basic and very limited in number, and the self defence stuff is space filling garbage IMHO. Roylers other book on submission wrestling is far better than this for someone looking to learn techniques,...
Published on 14 Jun 2004 by D. Harrop


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent technical manual on BJJ, 20 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu: Theory and Practice: Theory and Technique (Paperback)
This is the book that I have been waiting for, and it did not disappoint. If only all martial art books were up to this standard. It is a well conceived, well executed treatise on the basics of Brazilian Jiu-Jutsu, one of the most effective fighting systems ever designed.
The level of detail on technique is excellent, never too much, always concise and to the point. One of my main gripes with most martial arts manuals are the poor or non-existent photos/illustrations. This is not the case here however, the photos form the perfect counterpart to the excellent descriptions, with zoom in detail shots of the more subtle intricacies of the technique an inspired touch.
The book is well indexed and finding your chosen technique is never a chore. As the book suggests pick a technique, practice, practice, practice and you have added yet another extremely effective technique to your defensive/offensive arsenal.
The selection of techniques is very comprehensive considering the huge variation of BJJ techniques around. You should be able to find a technique for any situation or readily adapt any of the techniques chosen within. If I had to recommend any one source for self-defence, it would have to be this book (most people in this country at least don't have access to a good BJJ school).
The book also contains advice on the basic theories on which BJJ is based, such as position, when to attack, how to adapt to different fighting styles e.t.c. These are not covered in a great amount of detail and perhaps could have benefited from a more thorough treatment.
Obviously nothing comes close to actual training, but whilst training in Vale Tudo I have found this book indispensable as a training aid and I've developed a new found respect for the Gi! Highly recommended to anyone interested in Self-defence, submission fighting or martial arts in general. If you are a gracie fan then you shouldn't even need to read this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring book, 4 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu: Theory and Practice: Theory and Technique (Paperback)
As a single source of inspiration, this book was it for me. I bought it out of curiosity, and it fired me up enough to join my local BJJ gym and now I train there regularly.
Renzo and Royler offer a wonderful insight into this powerful combat art and Kid Peligro's writing is a joy (I've seen too many poorly written martial art books).
The authors are clear to point out that the techniques on offer are not there as museum pieces, to be followed to the letter, rather, they offer techniques which are simply one of a possible many for a given situation. Practitioners should learn to move from one technique to another, always looking for the best position.
The 'chapters' are divided into belts, but they stress that the BJJ system of awarding belts is not like other martial arts where superior technical knowledge does not necessarily make a superior fighter.
I would say that this book is the closest one can get to learning BJJ without actually going to a class. Having said that, my experience has shown that nothing beats live training.
Buy it, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bjj, 8 Aug 2002
This review is from: Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu: Theory and Practice: Theory and Technique (Paperback)
Receivieved this book last week and was amazed with the finishing techniquies.I've done ju jitsu but this book amazed me.Well recommended.Its a big book and lots of easy to understand photo's.If you fight on the floor,this book is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best True Martial Arts book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 7 Feb 2002
By 
Andy Bogard (Milton Keynes, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu: Theory and Practice: Theory and Technique (Paperback)
This book is one of the most best and complete Martial Arts book ever on one of the most effective fighting style ever!
Unless you have been asleep for the past decade, then you must know what Gracie Ju jitsu is.
Since the first Ultimate Fighting Championships where Gracie/ Brazilian ju jitsu made its mark, the style has proven again and again that it is one of THE Most effective Martial Art.
The theory is, most fights end up on the ground, this makes striking less effective( unless you are on a mount position) and if you don't know how to grapple and you were in an unfavorable position, you will definately lose the fight.
The book has over one hundred techniques from what are expected of a blue belt (1st belt) to a black belt(4 th belt). (The grading system in Brazilian Ju jitsu is done by experience/ how well you can fight.) All techniques are clearly represented by COLOUR photos and IS THIS BOOK HEAVY!!
Brazilian / Gracie Ju jitsu came from real combat experiece not pre range fighting forms or katas. It is a result of the countless hours of practice reserch and experience ( Starting with randori
sessions from the Gracie family) of the techniques that really work from ju jitsu and judo.
A big thank you to the Gracies for developing one of the greatest fighting/ Grappling style and their spirit for fighting (check out alot of the Mived Martial Arts tournaments, you will find a Gracie)( very often against a much larger opponents) is truely admirable.
Long live the Gracie Lagacy!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Of limited value for a serious BJJ practitioner, 14 Jun 2004
By 
D. Harrop (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu: Theory and Practice: Theory and Technique (Paperback)
I've been training BJJ for almost a decade and own numerous DVD and Video instructionals, along with a couple of books. This book is well laid out, but the moves are very basic and very limited in number, and the self defence stuff is space filling garbage IMHO. Roylers other book on submission wrestling is far better than this for someone looking to learn techniques, although this might give a total beginner an insight to the sport, the book is more of a souvenir purchase than a real training aid. For somebody looking to learn BJJ i would advise you buy instructional video's or DVD's from someone like Mario Sperry, or Leo Viera.
I will probably put my copy up for sale very soon, as it has no reference value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for BJJ practitioners and ground fighters alike, 10 April 2014
This review is from: Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu: Theory and Practice: Theory and Technique (Paperback)
Previous reviews of this book have been glowing so I was excited to get started. I thought as a non practitioner of BJJ I would not be able to appreciate it as much as much as someone who trains. However, I have to say I agree the other reviews I read. This book is well thought out and guides the reader through techniques for fighting on the ground.

Most martial arts books scrimp on the photographs and rely on descriptions to explain techniques and points of view. Not so in this, the graphics are clear and easy to understand.

This is a must have book for BJJ practitioners and anyone wanting to enhance their ground fighting skills.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for beginners, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu: Theory and Practice: Theory and Technique (Paperback)
easy to follow, well written. You cannot get a better beginners book on brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, the techniques are fundamentals that give you a really good base to go on and work out a game for yourself. Really, really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 20 Jan 2011
This review is from: Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu: Theory and Practice: Theory and Technique (Paperback)
This is a very good instructional book for BJJ beginners.
It provides the reader with the history of BJJ and the Gracie family's involvement in the development of the sport.
The techniques are well explained and the accompanying photographs are easy to follow.
My only criticism however is lack of information on how to avoid counters whilst performing the techniques they are demonstrating,
I personally found this out during randori (sparring) and had to look for alternative sources as a result of this.
I would recommend this book to any one looking to take up BJJ and anyone who is early on in their development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A pretty good book, 28 Jun 2010
This review is from: Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu: Theory and Practice: Theory and Technique (Paperback)
This book is quite good for novices because it explains the most important techniques of BJJ. The introduction is great. After the introduction, the authors directly explain the moves one by one. So you have submissions, sweeps, escapes, takedowns, self-defense techniques...This book has been critized for being too basic and for showing bad techniques, such as the escape from the guard that can put you into a triangle. I disagree. I have re-read this book many times and I will still re-read it again: it has a wealth of information that is very useful.

Also, the photos are very clear and big.

All in all, if you are an advanced or maybe even intermediate BJJ practitioner, this book may be too basic for you, but for any beginner this is a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good basic technigues, 6 Mar 2010
By 
T. Seppo (Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu: Theory and Practice: Theory and Technique (Paperback)
Good basics. Book is divided to different sections for all belt colors(blue, purple, brown, black), but sections does not match any belt requirements. I recommend to read trough all sections for finding good technics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu: Theory and Practice: Theory and Technique
Used & New from: 30.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews