Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars George R. R. Martin's First Publication!
It was twenty-years old, and had an ugly cover, so I figured A SONG FOR LYA was out-of-print for a good reason. But since being blown away by A GAME OF THRONES, I have yet to find anything of Martin's less than superb. This short, but fabulous book turned out to be no exception.
Sci-Fi and Horror are blended to excellent result in this collection of 10 short stories,...
Published on 11 Dec 2002 by Dan Dean

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars lya
Difficult to get the scope of a bool within the few pages of a novella, but George R R created an interesting world populated with some strange beings. I would have liked to have more than this snapshot story
Published 19 months ago by Neil


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars George R. R. Martin's First Publication!, 11 Dec 2002
By 
Dan Dean (Myrtle Beach, SC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Song for Lya: And Other Stories (Paperback)
It was twenty-years old, and had an ugly cover, so I figured A SONG FOR LYA was out-of-print for a good reason. But since being blown away by A GAME OF THRONES, I have yet to find anything of Martin's less than superb. This short, but fabulous book turned out to be no exception.
Sci-Fi and Horror are blended to excellent result in this collection of 10 short stories, featuring telepaths, ghosts, strange life forms, and very imaginative worlds. The standouts were "With Morning Comes Mistfall", "Override", and the Hugo Award-Winning title-story, "A Song For Lya", but in truth- there wasn't a bad apple in the bunch.
My personal favorite was, "Dark, Dark Were The Tunnels" where Nuclear Armageddon has destroyed the face of the Earth long ago, and only two groups of people have survived. It took me a few pages to realize just what I was reading, but then it really pulled me in!
Finally, this great collection has been reprinted, and every last one of the stories within are certainly worth your effort. G R R Martin is an amazing short story writer, and I've read a bunch of his out of print collections- They are all excellent! I've been praying for two years now, that he would come out with a giant collection containing ALL of his novellas and short stories, but I guess they are going the route of simply rereleasing the old collections.
Keep an eye out for these stories:
The Hedge Knight
Sandkings
Nightflyers
In the House of the Worm
A Song For Lya
Portraits of His Children
With Morning Comes Mistfall
You'll be glad you did!
-Lysander
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent short story on love and religion, 16 Jun 2012
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Song for Lya (Kindle Edition)
One of the earlier works of George R.R. Martin, 'A Song for Lya' is a pretty intriguing short story. Two 'talents' are sent amongst the Skheen on a mission to understand why they all engage in a sort of ritual suicide. Over a period of days, they explore why an ancient civilization is perfectly happy not developing further and why they all merge with a parasitic being that devours them in the end.

The writing is certainly compelling and one can recognize elements of what later made George R.R. Martin so successful with his A Song of Ice and Fire - Volumes 1-5 Box Set. At the same time the issues of love, religion, etc. are perhaps a bit big to be dealt with in ca. 70 pages. Not saying that the treatment was unsuccessful, only that some readers may find it a bit rushed and if you do not like open endings, you may find it unsatisfying.

Still, an interesting short story and something to read while you are waiting for the new installment of 'A Song of Ice and Fire'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute classic, 21 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Song for Lya (Kindle Edition)
I read this novella many, many years ago and it still remains one of my all time favourite. If you can get hold of a copy of the complete collection of stories - With Morning Comes Mistfall, Dark, Dark Were the Tunnels, etc. then do, you won't be disappointed. Beautifully written and will bear reading over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars By no means his best short work, but highly enjoyable, and re-readable., 6 Oct 2014
By 
F. M. Havicon (Brighton, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Song for Lya (Kindle Edition)
If you've an hour or so to spare you can read this all in one go, rather than having to devote months of your time to one of his more recent "novels". This was written close to the end of his short-story writing phase (the 1970s), and if you've followed his career from the word go as I have, you'll know what a superb short story writer he used to be. Often with little to say, beyond a cliche of an idea and a much-trodden plot, his talent was in how he wrote, not what he wrote, and this is a prime example of what I once called "well written rubbish". You enjoy it for the writing, not the shortcomings of the content. By no mans his best short piece, but this was the one that brought him to the attention of audiences beyond science fiction, by virtue of bagging an award or two. And once that milestone was reached, his career in writing took off, covering TV scriptwriting (Beauty and the Beast), and vast self indulgent fantasy novels (you know the ones I mean), and sadly he rarely wrote any further short works.

You'll find better short stories than this in his two anthologies, Song Of Stars and Shadows, and Sandkings, but neither sadly is yet available in kindle. But if you read for the joy of the written word alone, with no other requirement, this is a must in any collection. You'll want to read it many times over to wring out every last bit of enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars George R R Martin, Sagas and shorter stories., 20 Mar 2012
By 
M. Taplin "mikekoi" (Weston-super-Mare, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Song for Lya (Kindle Edition)
George R R Martin is a natural story teller. Whilst strictly speaking the quality may vary. The creative story lines are still compulsive reading. It is great to read and learn from this man's writings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very different view, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Song for Lya (Kindle Edition)
Wow ... How different from Game of Thrones. This is so far in the future ...or is it? This book is very thought provoking ... And it's all about choices ...
Some know where they are going ... Some don't care ... And others need to be lead ... Which one are you ?
I know who I am :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Song for Lya (Kindle Edition)
Thought the story was good, readable and interesting, but too abrupt a finish. Would have liked to have read more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars emotional.., 24 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Song for Lya (Kindle Edition)
I loved the world George R R Martin manages to create in a small amount of time and the emotions this story inspires of love. Once did started I literally did not stop I was very moved. Definite recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One to think about, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Song for Lya (Kindle Edition)
Strange but compelling read. This book touches on areas other authors steer away from. Had to finish reading so I could settle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A Song for Lya, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Song for Lya (Kindle Edition)
Having read all the published Song of Fire and Ice as well as The Hedge Knight, I was not expecting a completely different genre. From epic fantasy to introspective sci-fi. I now know that this was written long before A Song of Fire and Ice but still the variation is dramatic. A good read nonetheless and I liked the idea put forward for man's search for a divinity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Song for Lya: And Other Stories
A Song for Lya: And Other Stories by George R. R. Martin (Paperback - Dec 2001)
£11.13
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews