Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars17
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 April 2001
This is an excellent book for anyone wanting to recreate the 1940s hair look. As well as providing black and white photographs for the end result pictures, there are diagrams to help you on your way, also the traditional and modern ways of doing the styles. I personally have been looking for a book like this for years. Excellent value for money and no wasted time at the hairdresser when they don't get it quite right.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2010
I bought this book for a hair stylist friend of mine who works in a trendy salon with lots of rockabilly clients. It was the perfect gift for her because while most books just show photographs, Daniela Turudich went the extra mile and included cutting and styling techniques. The diagrams are very thorough and are basically a step-by-step guide to achieving the perfect 1940's hairstyle. Not to say that there aren't great photographs included as well, because there most certainly are.

Needless to say, she loved the book. And I got a sassy new hairstyle out of it too!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2002
Want to recreate genuine forties hairstyles of all lengths (from Ingrid Bergman to Veronica Lake) using period or modern techniques? at home?? then you've found your source. Includes a nice chapter on using accessories, up-do's, and a problem solving section. Easier than rooting round original books on home management!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
This book is aimed at traditionalists who wish to know what the actual styles of the era were and how they were achieved. It provides pin curl patterns and diagrams as well as styles grouped into hair length. Each style is shown with a subtle variation. A great book for a beginner such as myself to learn different basic techniques and work out their own personal style. The only down side is that everything is in black and white, including the pictures.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2003
This book is great!!! It has everything you wish to know in it and also tells you step by step and how to create the finished look. 10/10
The book was delivered to me in two days i was so pleased and i will be buying more books like this in the soon to come future. Thanks again.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2012
Perfect if you are after classic, old hollywood style glamour. Includes lot's of iconic actressess such as Lauren Bacall and Rita Hayworth.
The book provides various ways to style the hair - with and without heat! There are sophisticated, chic and elegant hairstyles and how to recreate them - and it works!!! I practiced all of the styles and.....they worked!!!

An excellent reference book or guide, an essential item if you want to recreate the look of a classy, iconic movie star from the silver screen, or a lady-like war-time look.

Beautiful!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2001
Easy to follow guide. A variety of styles and techniques. Would recommend to anyone searching for a 1940s hairstyle.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
Just wish I was better at fiddling with my hair!!!! :-D
This is a good book with beautiful hair styles.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
very informative and great book to learn how styles were created in 1940s. Would recommend to anyone wanting to learn more on the era.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
good book, although expected book itself to be larger (but that would be my misunderstanding)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)