Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Entertainment
This review is based on Zombie Fluxx.

Zombie Fluxx is one of the series of Fluxx card games. Of the three Fluxx games that I have played, Zombie, Monty Python and Martian, I have enjoyed Zombie the most. I'm not sure what it is about the combination of the cards and rules, but I have definitely enjoyed Zombie Fluxx much more than the others.

Oh,...
Published on 7 Jan. 2011 by T. Lewcock

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, silly game
In this adaptation of the standard Fluxx game, you also have to contend with a high number of Creeper cards which represent an endless swarm of zombies, and which usually hinder your chance of winning. Keepers are all the kind of weaponry or paraphernalia you find in zombie films, such as shotguns, chainsaws, bits of wood, petrol cans, etc. Goals usually involve you...
Published on 30 July 2010 by Peredur Webb-Davies


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Entertainment, 7 Jan. 2011
By 
T. Lewcock (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zombie Fluxx Card Game (Toy)
This review is based on Zombie Fluxx.

Zombie Fluxx is one of the series of Fluxx card games. Of the three Fluxx games that I have played, Zombie, Monty Python and Martian, I have enjoyed Zombie the most. I'm not sure what it is about the combination of the cards and rules, but I have definitely enjoyed Zombie Fluxx much more than the others.

Oh, you don't know what Fluxx games are? The basic Fluxx rules (these stand for all versions of Fluxx) are simple: each player is dealt three cards, then each turn a player draws another card from the deck and then plays a card down. How do you win? Urm, well, that's less easily answered... There are five types of cards, Creepers (generally bad, but sometimes you need them to win), Goals (these tell how you can win; you have to play one before anyone can win, oh, and there's an Anti-Goal, which means the game wins...), Keepers (these help you to reach a goal), Actions (things that you can do on your turn) and New Rules. The New Rules are the essence of the Fluxx games; as a game progresses players get to place down new rules, or even to remove them. As such the combination of rules in play at any one time can be wildly different from what they were a couple of minutes ago, or in a couple of minutes time. This might sound like it can get confusing, but it is generally quite easy to follow and all of the main rules are written on the cards which are played. Games take anything from a couple of minutes to half an hour or so. Two players can have fun, but the game tends to be more enjoyable with about four players. The Fluxx games are easily transported, taking up little more space than two standard packs of playing cards side by side, but do require a reasonable amount of table space, a 4'(1.2m) square table being ideal for four players. If you own more than one of the Fluxx games you can even mix them together.

Zombie Fluxx focuses on a "Shaun Of The Dead" type environment; Zombies are out there and you have to survive. You can do this by collecting essential items, like the Sandwich, Coffee and a Doughnut, or by escaping in the Car (you might need the Fuel Can). Along the way you might want to get hold of the Chainsaw or Shotgun, to try and get rid of any Zombies that have attached themselves to you. If all else fails and you've got a dozen Zombies that you just can't get rid of, get hold of the Baseball Bat and form a Zombie Baseball Team to win!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zombie Fun, 27 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zombie Fluxx Card Game (Toy)
Zombie Fluxx is a fun, quick game to play casually with a bunch of friends.
Each time you play is different, the rules change constantly, as does the goal of the game, keeeping it fresh.
Awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Game That Just Won't DIE!!!, 10 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zombie Fluxx Card Game (Toy)
You really get two games when you buy this, normal FLUX and then the enhance Zombie FLUX which add new rules and new mayhem to the already chaotic and fun FluXX.

The basic game is really easy to pick up and fun to play. It has some strategy but also feels free flowing and a little random if you do not have a plan. The great thing about Fluxx is that anyone can change the game at any moment and that changes the pace, the stakes and the amount of tension. Normal games of Fluxx last for about 30 minutes on average. I've only played with a maximum of four other people and we usually play three rounds before we move onto a more serious game.

Zombie Fluxx initially feels a few factors more complicated than normal Fluxx and it totally changes the strategy so it may feel a bit daunting for new players. However once you're in the swing of things it is just as fun and sometimes more fun than the vanilla version. Games last a bit longer on average and expect the first game played to take much longer due to the learning curve.

Both versions are great party games or family time wasters. I play with a group of adults (23-32) and we all love it.

If you buy and enjoy this game then i would recommend Evil Baby Nursery too, another great card game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, silly game, 30 July 2010
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Zombie Fluxx Card Game (Toy)
In this adaptation of the standard Fluxx game, you also have to contend with a high number of Creeper cards which represent an endless swarm of zombies, and which usually hinder your chance of winning. Keepers are all the kind of weaponry or paraphernalia you find in zombie films, such as shotguns, chainsaws, bits of wood, petrol cans, etc. Goals usually involve you having combinations of these, although certain goals require you having zombies in play, which means that you might find that those zombies you spent several rounds trying to get rid of are now more useful than you thought. The other Rules and Actions are mostly repeats of the standard game cards.

I liked the theme of Zombie Fluxx, and it makes for more of a cohesive playing experience than normal Fluxx, because, if you squint, you can imagine you're roleplaying a zombie holocaust scenario, which is always a pleasant way to spend an afternoon, naturally. The large number of Creepers add variety and it's fun to move them around between players (different zombies have different rules attached to them), and the use of Action cards to steal Keepers so that you have the right combination of weaponry is great. The usual issue of Fluxx is still there, though, which is that it's so random that it's hard to keep any strategy going for long. But that's surely the point: Fluxx (this or any other variety) isn't a long, involved game, but a brief, silly game that you can play a few rounds of to while away an hour or so without having to tax your brain too much. In this it's ideal as a warm-up or cool-down game for your gaming session, or just something to take on holiday and play in large groups with a few beers.

3.5 stars out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome card game, 3 Feb. 2013
By 
Mr. M. J. Lambert "lambertcheese" (Bounemouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Zombie Fluxx Card Game (Toy)
A very fun addictive card game can be a bit random with the zombie creeper cards but we found it added to the unknown nature of the game play, with some games lasting only minutes to others going for ages, over all a great game, would definitely recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic fun!, 6 Jan. 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Zombie Fluxx Card Game (Toy)
None of us had played Zombie Fluxx before, some of us had played the generic fluxx before and some had never played any fluxx before - but we all agreed after just one game that Zombie Fluxx is fantastic fun. It's fun learning how to play the game and then gets even more fun as you get the hang of it.
My only draw-back is the instructions could be more detailed to cover all eventualities on zombies and how weapons can be used. For example, what if someone has placed the zombie quartet on top of the card pile and then the next person has a repellant card - does the quartet go back on top of the card pile after the person draws another card from underneath it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars game for the family, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zombie Fluxx Card Game (Toy)
Being a lover of its companion game Star fluxx we decided to by this as an alternative to that just to add a bit of a change to our family game sessions. Very easy to pick up as all fluxx games use the same basic rules but we felt that even though it was fun to play it did not offer the same level of interaction as star fluxx. so we probably won't be playing this as much but it defiantly will not be relegated to the bottom draw. It could be if we had got this game first we would have liked this a bit more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely love this game, 20 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zombie Fluxx Card Game (Toy)
So I purchased this at Christmas as a gift for my partner. We both love card games and have previously become addicted to games such as Saboteur and Wizard. This game is fantastic fun, the rules change each time you play and we have found we can spend hours playing. We have gotten the cards out when we have had friends over and I now know 3 other people who have purchased the game as a result of this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Zombie Fluxx, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zombie Fluxx Card Game (Toy)
A great game, perfect for families and for those who just want to have some fun when some mates are round. You can play the basic version of Fluxx with this pack as well as the zombie expansion. It's not the easiest game in the world to pick up but if you begin with the basic rules and add on from there, it's much easier. Everyone I've played this with has loved it and had a great time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great twist to a great game!!, 31 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zombie Fluxx Card Game (Toy)
We have always enjoyed playing Fluxx from the 1st time we tried it, then my husband saw the Zombie one and of course he's into Zombie films so he wanted to see how this differed from the normal Fluxx.
It has some great new rules and loads of Zombies that do different things.
If you enjoy Fluxx and fancy something a little more challenging then you should try Zombie Fluxx.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zombie Fluxx Card Game
Zombie Fluxx Card Game by Looney Labs
£11.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews