Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More for adults than children- but great fun!
Just recently found this game at a demonstration event: it is fast to play, funny, and ever-changing- hence the name Fluxx! The basic rule for this card game is draw one-play one- but after the first card is played the rules and the win conditions are at the mercy of the players. The rules can change with every play, and you can go from having a winning hand to a losing...
Published on 6 July 2004 by B. Siviter

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Got boring very quickly
I bought this game after watching a Tabletop episode (over on the Geek & Sundry youtube account) where they play the StarFluxx version. It looked great fun and thought I'd purchase the original. Unfortunately, after the first game we struggled to find it interesting. It just seemed a bit pointless to be honest. It just seems to be a matter of time before someone wins and...
Published 7 months ago by S. Gordon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More for adults than children- but great fun!, 6 July 2004
By 
B. Siviter (Black Country, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fluxx (Toy)
Just recently found this game at a demonstration event: it is fast to play, funny, and ever-changing- hence the name Fluxx! The basic rule for this card game is draw one-play one- but after the first card is played the rules and the win conditions are at the mercy of the players. The rules can change with every play, and you can go from having a winning hand to a losing hand with a single card. It requires luck with a bit of strategy, and as you know the game it gets a little easier to plan ahead to win. Because it is so fluid and chaotic, it is never the same game twice. It is quite addictive. The cards are funny and very simple.
In order to play, a child must be able to read. They might miss the subtle humour of the game, but that doesn't detract from the play.
This game is perfect for a pair or group of people looking for a fast, fun card game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it buy it buy it play it, 2 Jan 2009
By 
R. Emmins "kuchy" (england, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fluxx (Toy)
Buy it buy it buy it; this game is so much fun.
I introduced my friend to this game last night and he wouldn't let me stop playing. It's compelling, it's entertaining, it's different and it's addictive.
Suddenly you realise that the game (as long as you concentrate) is really simple (just follow the rules!) and that makes it really easy to play. You can rely on luck but in reality you'll end up planning your moves pretty carefully.
I think it's great, and you will too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun game that stretches your brain!, 31 Aug 2009
By 
C. Randell "Caro's Lines" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fluxx (Toy)
We've owned a copy of Fluxx for over 6 years - we have enjoyed it so much that we've bought it for friends and family. We've also tried some of the other variations: Eco-Fluxx, Family Fluxx, Stoner Fuxx and Monty Python Fluxx

Fluxx itself is the best - Eco-Fluxx the only other version we've kept.

We've mostly played it as a couple - its one of the few card games that is fun for two - but also with other adults and occasionally nephews (age 10+) - the nephews liked it so much they got copies for themselves soon after.

Each game starts with everyone having three cards - but after that every game is different because some of the cards are rule cards and change what one can do, or how to win, as they are played.

The game length is very variable; some rounds are over in a trifle, but generally it lasts around 10 minutes, and occasionally rather longer. Usually longer games happen when someone hasn't noticed that they could win... but then maybe they are enjoying playing so much that they do't want to stop the round by winning it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fluxx, 27 Feb 2006
By A Customer
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fluxx (Toy)
This is an extremely playable card game. The different types of card and the ever-changing rules make it as fun as it is. Added to the ability for players to start and stop playing when they like and the general pointlessness and randomness of it, it is a great all round game, which you can play in any time slot available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I've often got a copy in my pocket, 6 Nov 2011
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fluxx (Toy)
I'm going to level with you; this is not a game that I'd suggest for a game night. Having said that, it's a great game for playing down the pub, or while waiting for people to turn up for your game session.

There are various other versions, but while things such as Monty Python Fluxx are just as much fun, I'd say the themes get 'old' quicker than this 'generic' version. Though, the Python version is hilarious the first few times.

You might also want to invest in some Blanxx for adding your own cards, but be warned: one of my friends has a 200 card deck now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good fun with the right crowd, 17 Sep 2010
By 
J Root - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fluxx (Toy)
The rules in Fluxx are constant in ... flux. This is where the fun comes in as you can sometimes end up playing improbably silly and long combinations of cards in a single turn. The skill is in identifying the possibility to play such a turn and yes theres a lot of luck involved in getting the right cards too.

The constantly changing nature of the game and the fact that sometimes you might not be "in the spotlight" for a while as someone else plays out a complicated sequence seems to annoy some people but for me it can be half the fun. I've been known to play a card that actually reduces my chances of winning the game in order to help set up some plan that I suspect another player is hatching, purely because I think the result will be amusing.

Overall this is a game that is good fun and truely more about the taking part than the winning. If you're a "win at all costs" type of person then maybe its not for you but in my group of gaming friends it's an old favourite that comes out time after time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love Fluxx!, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fluxx (Toy)
This game is a little bit of genius. Lots of fun to play with friends (we're all late 20s) and with the ever changing rules, it never gets boring. Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fluxx (Toy)
Just Perfect :) very very good.
very fun and very simple to play. I spend hours with my brother playing it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great family game, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fluxx (Toy)
Great family/group game to while away the time especially when traveling or stuck waiting a long time for something. I am not sure that I would like a themed one better.

The great aspect of the game is that the rules and objective are dynamic, they are defined on some of the cards themselves so when one of these is played the rules/objectives are changed. Sometimes the changes are small and sometimes the whole game changes direction and this is part of the fun. Some combinations of rules can take some thinking to get your head around them, but I find that is another fun aspect.

This game can finish quickly, within an hour say, but on rare occassions it can get bogged down and go on for too long (IMHO).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, excellent game!, 9 Feb 2014
By 
D. J. Rodgers "Dansgalaxy" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fluxx (Toy)
A friend introduced me to Fluxx, and love it! Fantastic card game and a lot of fun. Totally worth it for a bit of fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fluxx
Fluxx by Looney Labs
11.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews