Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars18
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 March 2010
a superb book - a bargain at [currently] just over a tenner [£10.35] ...... !! { btw ... I've no connection with either amazon or the pardeys }

essentially a presentation of 'what to do' - both in preparation for & during a storm situation ; or, at the very least, a very useful 'what you could try'.
whilst it is based largely upon [the pardey's] personal experience, it incorporates experiences related by others and includes consideration of lessons learned following the '79 fastnet race, the "queen's birthday storm", sidney - hobart, etc.
it is full of [what seem to me to be] simply sensible suggestions & practical plans-of-action that [one day] might just 'make the difference'.

fascinating & thought-provoking [surely essential reading for anyone even considering going offshore in a small-ish sailboat], this would also serve well as thoughtfully laid-out 'dip-into' reference.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2011
Quite useful if you're preparing for that challenging offshore passage. Many great ideas, and much useful info from years of cruising. A good read. Only one gripe: it does perhaps push heaving-to as a(subjective?) solution to every problem(Cant get the toaster to work?..heave-to; can't get the varnish to shine.... heave-to)...you get my drift (excuse the pun!). Other solutions (such as running)are invariably poo-poo'd. However, allowing for that, its still packed with very good stuff and I would still recommend buying it. I hope if ever I am put to the test I will be able to put some of what they preach into practice!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2011
Leafing through books on sailing in an Atlanta book store I was attracted by the title. Certainly, "what to do when you're caught in a storm" is something that every sailor, and maybe many non-sailing people, are deeply interested in. I've never before heard of Lin and Larry Pardey, so I bought the volume "just so". Native German, I feel quite comfortable with English, and the style the Pardeys are writing really can be understood by everyone with even mediocre English knowledge. What I found was - to put into one word - revealing. I cannot understand that the topic of heaving-to is practically compeletely neglected in Germany's education of future yachties. Maybe one reason is lying in the fact that this wonderful work is not yet available in German!? Whenever I raised the topic of heaving-to to German skippers of different sailing schools I was practically turned down with remarks as "fin-keelers cannot heave-to nor would they produce the breakers breaking slick". Heaving-to doesn't play any role in the German educations for different stages of sailing licences; if mentioned at all, then in a way that is far off from the method as promoted by the Pardeys. No wonder that you don't practice it at all while being prepared for practical exams. Para-anchor? Probably the concept doesn't exist at all in the German sailing community. I could only wish that one day this invaluable handbook will be translated into German and find the acceptance that it would deserve - and find its way into the education of future German sailors.
No question, in the meantime the other Pardey publications found their way into my book shelf, my heart and admiration, and they were repeatedly read.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2009
Really good reading; practical and evidence backed. If you are a serious cruiser, you must read this. Running in front of a storm is all very well if you have a fast boat and fit large crew. If it is two of you, your options become limited and then if you have not read the book, you are in for a rough time. Read it, buy the kit, practice it and go out with confidence.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2013
How fashions do change! A million years ago, armchair sailors were recommending canoe sterns "because they part the waves", ahaha. Then 'running before' was the answer, and at least this was proposed by people who had done it, in hurricanes, no less. The Pardeys appeal to me because their recommendations accord with my own more limited experience; and in any case everyone should know and understand more about heaving to in their own boat, if only to avoid a night-time landfall or just to have some peaceful lunch!

Book arrived in stated condition within stated time-frame.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
I bought this for my son in law who is an avid sailor. His comment was " Everyone who sails should have it... and hope to God they never have to use it , but if they do it's one of the best instruction books around" This from someone who is planning the do the Fastnet run next year.

D.Ashcroft-Nowicki
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2012
I bought this book at the beginning to understand better how heaving to works, and was a very good surprise to read not only good technical explanations but also stories of real life on the sea and how to handle rough weather. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2016
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Storm-Tactics-Handbook-Heaving-To-Conditions/dp/1929214472?ie=UTF8&ref_=cm_cr_ryp_prd_ttl_sol_0Storm Tactics Handbook: Modern Methods of Heaving-To for Survival in Extreme Conditions
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2012
Well researched and argued system for coping with storms and above. Has modified my views. I will be trying out the recommended tactics ASAP. Reassuring to know survival is possible in extreme situations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
brilliant book for adventurous sailors - or sailors who want to understand more about the art of storm sailing. A wonderful mix of deep, almost forgotten technical insights and breathtaking examples.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)