Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the style of Robert Heinlein
I enjoyed the book and felt that it was written in a 'Robert Heinlein' style - the characters, reasonably easy going storyline and the setting (The Moon is a Harsh Mistress/Podkayne of Mars/Have Spacesuit Will Travel).
Well worth the read and interesting (even if the idea of an element far heavier than current known elements (114) is a little hard to believe)...
Published on 29 Nov. 2010 by M. Thompson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too sure!!
To be honest, I found the technical jargon a bit to complex for me. Was it really needed? What happened to the illegal Chinese rep on Luna station? How did Alex return if the ship blew up ? Lots of questions .. no answers in Book 1 .
Published 1 month ago by Mrs L. Kirkintilloch.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the style of Robert Heinlein, 29 Nov. 2010
By 
M. Thompson "Mike Thompson" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I enjoyed the book and felt that it was written in a 'Robert Heinlein' style - the characters, reasonably easy going storyline and the setting (The Moon is a Harsh Mistress/Podkayne of Mars/Have Spacesuit Will Travel).
Well worth the read and interesting (even if the idea of an element far heavier than current known elements (114) is a little hard to believe).
For Kindle readers - few if any typos and will allow Text to Voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars All in all a good read and I downloaded for minimal cost the other ..., 27 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I downloaded this as it was either free of very low price and I have run out of books on the "Rivers of London" series. On some of the review sites the pseuds have had a go a go at the science in the book, but I look more at the second word - fiction.

The basic story is well thought out and any possible plot holes and pages of waffle are filled with news report style mini-paragraphs. All in all a good read and I downloaded for minimal cost the other two books in the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inventive, 6 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Personally I liked the book, deep down I wish it was possible to travel to the stars, but that seems pretty unlikely, so I make do with imaginative and fantastical tales of going into the big black.
The tale is thoughtful and I'm no astrophysicist but the concepts about light speed travel are at least plausible. I'm pretty certain I will buy the next book, unless I travel to the stars before then...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not too sure!!, 1 Jun. 2015
To be honest, I found the technical jargon a bit to complex for me. Was it really needed? What happened to the illegal Chinese rep on Luna station? How did Alex return if the ship blew up ? Lots of questions .. no answers in Book 1 .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not too spaced out., 24 Jun. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed the book. Read most of the top sci fi authors so did not know what to expect with Valmore Daniels.
A little bit too techie in places but on the whole a well written sci fi novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good sci fi!, 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I do like this story. Good writing and plot development. Can't wait to see what happens next! Has a good balance between action and technical science fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars worthwhile read, 31 May 2015
Well written and easy reading. A few holes in the science but then it is science fiction. Considering the cist well worth a download.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting story with sufficient twists and pace to keep the story flowing. Only disappointment was the ending which seems rushed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps you in suspense til end, 4 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gets better as you read , Alex is central character, but the others come to life by this well written story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has a most unusual scenario and is well worth a read. This goes for all three books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Forbidden The Stars (The Interstellar Age Book 1)
Forbidden The Stars (The Interstellar Age Book 1) by Valmore Daniels (Paperback - 1 Aug. 2010)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews