Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great quality but not a lot of content
A must have for a Dark Souls fanatic, like myself, but be wary of the cost to content ratio.

I have bought UDON books before and this cover art is probably up there with the likes of the Okami book. It even comes with a reflective sleeve that you can take off and still get a nice cover, which is black and red, rather than black and white. The art inside is...
Published 5 months ago by Shoozle

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing
Dark Souls: Design Works is slightly underwhelming, for a game as big as Dark Souls I would have expected this book to be thicker. There are many video game art books in the same price range that have a considerable amount more content. The biggest issue I have how ever, is that the book lacks some key elements from the game, namely concept art for a very popular boss...
Published 4 months ago by Hmm


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great quality but not a lot of content, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Souls: Design Works (Hardcover)
A must have for a Dark Souls fanatic, like myself, but be wary of the cost to content ratio.

I have bought UDON books before and this cover art is probably up there with the likes of the Okami book. It even comes with a reflective sleeve that you can take off and still get a nice cover, which is black and red, rather than black and white. The art inside is great with both big and small images, but not a lot of text. You only get the names of what it represents, so it might say the name of the enemy in the drawing, or the area for example. Funnily enough, there was an error. I am not sure if it's due to the translation or the original write up of the Japanese book. The error was getting the labels for 2 enemies mixed up, it's nothing major to me, but a perfectionist might want to take note.

I primarily buy these books for the text so to only have information about the art in an interview, a very lengthy one at that (about 9 full A4 pages) was a bit disappointing. But the interview is really good and gives quite a lot of information on the design of Dark Souls throughout the development of the game, and it taught me that Miyazaki has a great sense of humour and learns from the mistakes he made producing this game. Sadly, the book ends after the interview at only 128 pages long. At 30 pounds, really consider how much you want it. After 1500 hours poured into the game, I saw it as a no-brainer.

Some of the art you may have seen already, but it's still nice to have it in a physical format. So thank you very much UDON for translating this, and many others.

Highly recommend, but just consider the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Souls: Design Works (Hardcover)
Dark Souls: Design Works is slightly underwhelming, for a game as big as Dark Souls I would have expected this book to be thicker. There are many video game art books in the same price range that have a considerable amount more content. The biggest issue I have how ever, is that the book lacks some key elements from the game, namely concept art for a very popular boss. How ever, from a design point of view the book is beautiful. The sleeve as well as the hardcover are both a treat to look at and the quality of the pages and the printing is top notch. As far as art direction is concerned, very few games in my opinion even hold a candle to Dark Souls. For that reason this book, if you're a fan of the game is worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful art book at a premium price, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Souls: Design Works (Hardcover)
I received my copy of the Dark Souls Design Works today and I am very impressed. Having been very tempted to import the original version when it was released in Japan but never did end up getting it, I was thrilled to see that it was being translated into English. It was certainly worth the wait because this book is absolutely gorgeous, I was actually quite reluctant to remove it from the plastic packaging because of how nice the cover looks. Content-wise, there's 128 pages of artwork with a nice interview with the game's designers at the end. It's fascinating to see the concept art and how it evolved into the finished product we got in the game. The artwork is stunning and varied from environmental sketches, to equipment and everything in between. The interview at the end is a nice flourish and gives a good insight into the vision that the creators had for Dark Souls.

My one gripe with this art book is the price, you don't get a great deal of content in relation to the price tag, but I can assure that anyone that is a big fan of the Souls games will find value in the Dark Souls Design Works despite this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but could have more art, 21 Jan 2014
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dark Souls: Design Works (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:28 Mins

The English translated edition of the Dark Souls artbook ダークソウルデザインワークズ is finally out. It's another good job at translating by publisher Udon.

The book's still hardcover, 128 pages. The cover is nicer. I like the sandy texture and the cover design is somehow printed over it in high gloss.

Since I've already reviewed the Japanese artbook. The review that follows is roughly similar with minor changes.

This artbook collects the concept art for characters, enemies, background, weapons and items.

There are two chapters, one on concept art and the other on early designs. The chapters are not necessary because they are all concept art. In fact, the organization of content is a bit chaotic. Take the weapons section for example. They are not strictly grouped by type. There are axes together with broad swords, spears with shields, etc. Same thing with the characters and enemies.

The concept art featured are nice but with a slightly rough art style. I would have preferred a more finished look especially for the environment art. They are printed quite small because they don't have enough detail to go big, or too unfinished. The designs are great but somehow they don't have the same forbidding feeling you get when playing the game. The Dark Souls world is quite big and I'm surprised they didn't include more environment art.

I love the character designs for this game. The enemies are incredibly scary. There are lots of enemies featured. It's good that some have included many design variations, but many also come with just one design by itself. There aren't any 3D renders.

The weapon designs are interesting, but I felt that not all weapons are included. I've the game guide and there are a lot of weapons not included here.

The last few pages are interviews with the designers of the game. The book makes more sense to me now that I can understand the captions. One of the highlights would of course be the interviews with the creators Hidetaka Miyazaki, Daisuke Satake, Hiroshi Nakamura, Masanori Waragai and Mai Hastuyama.

This book is a bit underwhelming for me. Maybe it's because of the rough style of art (but hey, it's concept art), or because there aren't as much environment art which I was really looking forward to.

Anyway, it's still a very fine video game art book, especially if you're into the mythical-knight-armor-castles-monsters fantasy art.

(See more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book contains some beautiful artwork and arrived very quickly, 13 July 2014
By 
C. Bennett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Souls: Design Works (Hardcover)
Bought as a birthday present fro my partner who is a fan of Dark souls. This book contains some beautiful artwork and arrived very quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great !!!, 2 July 2014
By 
Mr. W. Uddin "waz" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Souls: Design Works (Hardcover)
awesome !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Souls: Design Works (Hardcover)
If you enjoyed dark souls and/ or concept art, you'll enjoy this book and all its little extra design notes on the side.

Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful item, amazing delivery. good show, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Souls: Design Works (Hardcover)
So you know the art books you get with preorder games? This is like that apart from not a piece of half developed plastic crap from taiwan. Expect full design drawings and work in progresses for every area, enemy, boss and equippable item in the game. The ultimate dark souls aesthetic product. 6/5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If your a fan you will love it., 20 Mar 2014
By 
Lloyd Alexander "Lidderz" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Souls: Design Works (Hardcover)
I love Dark Souls and this is full of amazing art on high quality paper. The interviews are a pretty sweet bonus. =]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice but too short, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Souls: Design Works (Hardcover)
The book contains beautiful pictures but the pictures are too few. Additionally had more pictures could be in higher resolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Souls: Design Works
Dark Souls: Design Works by From Software (Hardcover - 21 Jan 2014)
£20.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews