Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A crime but no punishment?
The vicious murder on a train of a dedicated nurse, the god-daughter of Florence Nightingale; mysterious suspects; ineffective police investigations; a plot that twists and turns. What more could you want?
But you do get more: this is a superbly researched book by Rosemary Cook, Director of the Queen's Nursing Institute, telling the gripping story of Florence...
Published on 13 Jan 2012 by Ros Lowe

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Editor required!
The other reviews of this book seem to rave about it, but I have some reservations. It is well written and exhaustively researched. The subject of an unsolved murder should be at once fascinating and gripping. here we have a mixture of a history of nursing interlocked with the murder itself. The victim was a member of an estimable profession but I found the book rather...
Published 14 months ago by weltonian


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Editor required!, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nightingale Shore Murder (Paperback)
The other reviews of this book seem to rave about it, but I have some reservations. It is well written and exhaustively researched. The subject of an unsolved murder should be at once fascinating and gripping. here we have a mixture of a history of nursing interlocked with the murder itself. The victim was a member of an estimable profession but I found the book rather like eating dry bread at times. Many distractions and deviations from the main theme. Much frankly boring detail - no doubt a worthy ceffort but, for the reader, there was much that needed the attention of an editor. This book appears to be a self-published work and linked to Amazon for sales - I am suspicious of those other "rave" reviews. Don't get me wrong, this is not a bad book - it is just too well padded. Final score reads:- Nursing History 75% - Murder Story 25%.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A crime but no punishment?, 13 Jan 2012
The vicious murder on a train of a dedicated nurse, the god-daughter of Florence Nightingale; mysterious suspects; ineffective police investigations; a plot that twists and turns. What more could you want?
But you do get more: this is a superbly researched book by Rosemary Cook, Director of the Queen's Nursing Institute, telling the gripping story of Florence Nightingale Shore's life as a young woman and Queen's Nurse in England, South Africa & the Somme, showing astonishing bravery and professionalism caring for appallingly wounded men in dreadful conditions; together with fascinating insights into what nursing in the home was really like during times of depression & high unemployment in the north-east of England.
Decide for yourself which of the several suspects was the guilty party before you get to the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting book, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nightingale Shore Murder (Paperback)
Rosemary Cook has brought to life Florence Nightingale Shore, God-daughter of the great Florence Nightingale. As it says near the end of the book if it wasn't for being murdered Ms Shore would have been just one of a group of nurses. I bought this on the off chance of it being a good read and it was. Am at present researching a family who were cousins of Florence Nightingale I veared off to read this account of one of her God-daughters. The author commenced the book with the murder of Ms Shore then told her life story. Unfortunately there are gaps in the story for which records just do not exist but whether such information would have given more clues as to the murderer is debatable.

Rosemary Cook is an interesting writer. Not sure if her detailed account of people etc. was out of interest or merely to add pages to the book but whatever it held me to the end. I learnt quite a lot about nursing in the Boar War, WWI etc. and all in all it was a good read. I know who I think did the dreadful deed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great read!, 17 Dec 2012
By 
Grandma (Bournemouth, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nightingale Shore Murder (Paperback)
Gripping story, scholarly historical work. I bought several copies for Christmas presents for friends interested int he Queen's Nursing Institute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Social History and a Gripping Tale, 10 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Nightingale Shore Murder (Paperback)
The Nightingale Shore Murder is a true life story which explores the life and work of Florence Nightingale Shore up until the time of her Murder on the London to Hastings Train. The Book is written by Rosemary Cook (the Director of the Queen's Nursing Institute) following extensive research into the life and death of Miss Nightingale Shore. The research was undertaken as part of a RCN History of Nursing Society Monica Baly Scholarship.

The Nightingale Shore Murder presents an informative and skilfully crafted story of a former Queen's Nurse through her work in the North East and London and her contributions as a nurse during conflicts in South Africa and France. A major feature of the book is its blend of social history and the individual story of Miss Nightingale Shore.

The book introduces readers to potential murder suspects in this unsolved crime. The most poignant element of this entire story is that by today's forensic science standards the murderer would probably have been caught very soon after the crime had been committed. As it stands the murder is destined to remain unsolved but at least the life and work of Florence Nightingale Shore lives on in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The fascinating account of the life and murder of Nurse Florence Nightingale Shore, 9 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Nightingale Shore Murder (Paperback)
This book, written by Rosemary Cook (the Director of the Queen's Nursing Institute) is a fascinating account of the life and murder of my first cousin (3 times removed), Miss Florence Nightingale Shore. She was the god-daughter and distant cousin of her namesake, Florence Nightingale, the Lady of The Lamp and founder of the modern nursing profession.

Rosemary Cook has extensively researched historical sources for this book and has carefully re-constructed Florence's family background, her unhappy childhood, her career as a Queen's District Nurse in England and her war service in the 1900 Anglo-Boer War in South Africa as well as her service with the French Red Cross and the Queen Alexandria's Imperial Military Nursing Service in France during the First World War.

Rosemary Cook has also carefully analyzed the remaiing known records pertaining to Florence's brutal murder on a London to Hastings train in England in January 1920. While the case was never solved, several possible suspects were investigated by three police forces of that time and Cook has also considered some interesting theories, which have recently come to light.

Not only is this book a fascinating account of Florence's life and death, it also contains interesting histroical perspectives on the contemporary events during the Victorian and early post-Victorian era. These events not only shaped Florence's life and provided her with opportunities to pursue independently a meaningful and professional career during a period when men dominated British society but which also places this story in accurate context.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone interested in muder mysteries and true-crime stories as well as to those researching the history of nursing. It's a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 8 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Nightingale Shore Murder (Paperback)
Great book, well worth reading. Once I started I could not put it down. There is a twist in the tale but I wont let on what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars READ IT READ IT READ IT!!!!, 12 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Nightingale Shore Murder (Paperback)
This book is so well written. I was completely hooked by the end of page one. I am a true crime enthusiast but knew nothing of nursing - that didn't matter, the story is brilliantly told and the nursing elements very accessible and interesting. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History and intrigue in equal measure, 29 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Nightingale Shore Murder (Paperback)
Railways, hospitals, wars, friendship, family feuds, detectives; this book has the lot, all researched in fascinating detail and woven into a mystery with a twist in the tail. Rosemary Cook combines the history of the Queen's Nursing Institute with the mystery surrounding the death of Florence Nightingale Shore in a gripping tale which kept me guessing until the last page and beyond!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nightingale Shore Murder (Paperback)
too much extraneous detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Nightingale Shore Murder
The Nightingale Shore Murder by Rosemary Cook (Paperback - 21 Nov 2011)
8.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews