Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Challenges all existing common beliefs about healthy low-fat diets, 14 May 2014
By 
Denis Vukosav - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
‘The Big Fat Surprise’ extensively researched and written by Nina Teicholz is one of the books on which there will be a lot of writing and talking in a days to come with regard to its subject of a highly controversial research that turned on the head all that we were taught about unhealthy saturated fat.

In her book, Nina Teicholz made an extensive research in order to present new and startling discoveries that saturated fat is not only not bad, but actually good for our body and essential to our good health.

The author challenged all existing common beliefs about healthy low-fat diets and shows how in recent years a totally wrong practice of avoiding fats was advocated that our bodies need to be healthy. Teicholz who is obviously educated in the field, manages to explain things she discusses in easy to understand manner, so even the organic chemistry that sounds difficult to understand becomes easily readable, understandable and interesting reading.

It is difficult to say how long it will take to change habits that people were taught practically from a birth and will reader immediately accept what the author on the pages of her book presented, but certainly those who had for long time been abstaining from fatty steak will finally be able to become more hedonistic not having guilty conscience.

If only for one meal, then this well-researched and comprehensive book by Nina Teicholz will be worth your time spent reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your good health requires that you read this book!, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant book. So well researched and rationally argued. The Author clearly accounts for why we currently believe what we do about eating healthily and how wrong we are. I learned so much in this book, including the need to question what we are told by so-called experts in the field of nutrition before we accept their advice. I have listened to the 'Eat low-fat' advice for much of my life and the consequences have not been good for me and my health. I now know that this advice was based upon nothing but an unproven hypothesis. I must admit I did think that qualified people would base their advice upon sound science. Now I've learned to question everything and find out the truth for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic..., 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Finally the truth is out, thanks Nina Teicholtz for exposing how badly if not existing the science is behind the diet-heart theory and base for almost all countries nutritional recommendations. Based on this the whole world is experiencing an explosion in not only obesity/overweight but also diabetes and other metabolic caused diseases. The review is so well done and no stone left unturned. If you should read ANY book this year, THIS should be it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and informative, 16 Jun 2014
This book pulls together many sources providing an objective view of the importance of fat in our diets - and presents the information in a compelling and absorbing way. So much nutritional advice provided by journalists (and medics) is not based on empirical truth and reason, but on superstition - in particular, on a sort of mediaeval-style doctrine of signatures that saturated fat must "clog up the arteries" because it is solid at room temperature, and it therefore follows that it must be solid inside the bloodstream. Perhaps because of its initial plausibility, its apparent truthiness, this idea has swept the board in Western countries, even among educated people, regardless of the dearth of evidence in its support. The Big Fat Surprise sets out the evidence and allows one to decide for oneself. Personally, I started eating a higher fat, lower carbohydrate diet a few years ago, and it has improved my health and taken years off me. It's not rocket science - just eating the way (well-off) people did, perhaps 100 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great reference, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been eating high fat for 7 months now and found this book very informative, great for those with a fair idea as well as new comers to this way of eating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fats for Health and Wellness- The Fact, 16 May 2014
The matter of fact is that the old age concept of evilness of fats was not evidence-based. On the contrary, fats are now considered as important to the health and wellness of the body as oxygen is for breathing. Fats are healthy for the body and essential fats are necessary for wellness and health. The diet consumed which contains fats provides the body fat and fats are made of atoms of Hydrogen, Oxygen and Carbon in varying numbers and are arranged in different orders. The fatty acids are composed of one carbon atom bonded to two other carbon atoms. Longer fatty acids means there are more carbon atoms bonded. Saturated fat consists of one carbon atom bonded to two hydrogen atoms. Monounsaturated fat has one carbon atom which is bonded to one hydrogen atom and double bonded to another carbon atom.

This book debunks the truth about Fat and why Eating Saturated Fats wouldn't Get You FAT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Big Fat Surprise
Big Fat Surprise by Nina Teicholz (Paperback - 21 Aug 2014)
14.99
Available for pre-order
Pre order Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews