Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real page-turner!
I rarely write reviews but one of the other reviews really irked me...

The author sets his stall out early on that this is a 'pop-psych' book with his reluctance to use technical jargon. What he has written is an excellent, comprehensive yet accessible critique of modern consumerist society and it's impact upon all of us. It reads like a furious, impassioned...
Published 7 months ago by craig

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some insights but incomplete
This is an ambitious book. It weaves its way through social theory in a kind of haphazard way although it is not without insight. How complete a review of social theory can we ever hope to make anyway. Worth reading but not as a tome in exclusion to others.
Published 1 month ago by geiger c0unter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real page-turner!, 4 Sept. 2014
By 
craig (Manchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What About Me? (Paperback)
I rarely write reviews but one of the other reviews really irked me...

The author sets his stall out early on that this is a 'pop-psych' book with his reluctance to use technical jargon. What he has written is an excellent, comprehensive yet accessible critique of modern consumerist society and it's impact upon all of us. It reads like a furious, impassioned rant while maintaining it's credibility with it's allusions to the author's extensive research background.

I have been researching and critiquing the medical/biopsychosocial model of health and illness for some years, but never have I heard the old ADHD debate torn to pieces so effectively.

If you want an informative, exciting psychologist's critique on modern society which you can then pass on to ANY of your right-leaning buddies to make them think, buy this. Otherwise, stroke your ego with the many unreadable 'intellectual pissing contest' books out there...

Paul Verhaeghe, you have a new fan! Get on twitter...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant analysis of current social issues, 19 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the author's broad and sweeping brush paints an alarming picture of Western societies where neo liberalism has reduced humans to self centred consumers lacking in empathy. This is a must read for anyone looking for an explanation of increased depression, loneliness and stress in our times. Backed by references, the author suggests a way forward from this mess.

Perhaps some analysis on how some people have tapped into their spiritual lives to redress the imbalance would have been welcome. Nonetheless this book is hugely important in our times and deserves to be read by people from all walks of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant,clear explanation and exploration of the current ills of western society., 10 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a book that should be read by everybody who wonders how come they are so unhappy when we have obviously "never had it so good'. Although Paul Verhaege may not have the answers to how society should be organised it clearly spells out what is so very wrong with allowing market forces to dictate how we organise education, healthcare etc etc. If you have ever wondered about what is so very wrong in your workplace? how come your performance is analysed,criticised and measured to death by people who appear to be unaccountable to anyone? this book will give you the answers. I personally found it utterly riveting and very well written,it deserves the plaudits Capital is getting as it sits alongside it very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An eye-opening portrait of the society in which we live in, 10 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What About Me? (Paperback)
Paul Verhaege is a psychotherapist. He denounces the neo-liberal meritocracy as the cause for the increasing inequality for the rise in depression and and anxiety disorders among adults. In 2009, 1 in every 10 Belgians was taking anti-depressants and I suspect this number is higher in my home country, Portugal. Maybe we don't understand that our current society is the cause because it is much easier to see a society in retrospective. Also, this may be because we think we currently live in the best of all times. But, as the author says 'never in the West have we had it so good and never have we felt so bad'. "Our presumed freedom is tied to one central condition: we must be successful - that is, make something of ourselves." And , of course, in this meritocratic system, quality is determined by measurability: anything that can't be measured doesn't count. Our society teaches people to pursue their own advantage irrespective of and, if needs be, at the expense of the other. This leads to universal egotism.
I'm just going to quote a part of his criticism of global consumer society: "What life would be like in a society whose chief motto was that everything can be had. Imagine a society which taught that pain is exceptional and avoidable, and pleasure the normal state of being - that everything can be monitored and predicted, and that if, very occasionally, something goes wrong, it must always be someone's fault. In this society, to forbid a child something is almost tantamount to abusing him or her because children are perfect beings who are entitled to everything that money can buy. (...) Of course, there's no need to set up this experiment because it is already in full swing. Every flat screen, every billboard is constantly sendding us the following messages: all your wants can be met, there's a product for everything, and you don't need to wait until the afterlife for eternal bliss. Life is one big party, although there is one very important condition: you must make it." Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trully great!, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
More depth than the title would suggest, as it's not just about identity, but the financialisation of everything, including the way we think. Masterfully written and extremely accessible. Required reading for anyone who wants to understand how the current order operates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The 'Measure It' Society, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very fine and much needed critique of our 'everything is or should be measurable' society.

It should, for example, resonate with anyone working in education where batteries of tests have replaced any trust in teachers or pupils or even bureaucrats. The result is not a better education but a vicious circle whereby people become even less trustworthy as any means possible, honest or not, are used to get through the testing hoops. The lesson is presumably not lost on the children either who see the adults' stratagems and shenanigans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great view of ourselves and the way we live., 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Seldom have I been so in tune with a book. The author builds an excellent case for how we have ended up in the world we live in and the dangers of Neo-Liberalism. He makes some worrying predictions on the dis-utopia we are zombie-ing towards.

A good read for anyone wondering where society may be heading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some insights but incomplete, 21 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an ambitious book. It weaves its way through social theory in a kind of haphazard way although it is not without insight. How complete a review of social theory can we ever hope to make anyway. Worth reading but not as a tome in exclusion to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment. I bought this book because it was mentioned ..., 23 Aug. 2014
By 
J. Lamede "jlamede" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A disappointment. I bought this book because it was mentioned in an article by George Monbiot. The analysis of 'where we are now' is occasionally insightful -- for instance in the author's suggestion that the moral paralysis affecting so many of us is because of the annihilation of the father figure as a supreme authority. But that example in itself points to one of the flaws in the book: Verhaeghe is apparently an orthodox Freudian, and I doubt whether many would now agree that Freud had the answers to our present dilemmas. Much of the rest of the of the ideas here are unremarkable, in fact verging on the bleedin' obvious, and don't go far enough. Another example: he blames us, citizens at large, for thinking of, say, bankers as supreme authorities. But, ask yourself, do we, really? Isn't the point rather that the powers that be, governments and the establishment, very much want us to swallow this belief for their own ends. Sorry. This is a well-meaning piece of work that needs a more imaginative and far-reaching vision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Something's gotta change!!!, 8 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is, undoubtedly, a great book to be written on this subject. Unfortunately, this is not it. Quite a good read, but whereas Freud, who is frequently quoted, was a deep, profound thinker who tried, with limited success, to explain his ideas to the general reader, Verhaeghe comes across as more the journalist than the philosopher. 'There is no effective government anymore', claims Verhaeghe. Yes there is. One that perfectly serves to protect the economic and social status quo.

Perhaps I was looking for too much, for a profundity of analysis and insight that was capable of effecting change on a personal and political level. A modern psychological/economic Communist Manifesto.

Because, unsayable though it is, what has been going on for the last thirty years is the perfect Marxian storm, the quintessential example of Capitalism eating itself, and screwing the masses while it is doing so. And until books such as this can leave the vacuity of 'postmodern' claptrap and engage with the realities of power, what's going to change?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What About Me?
What About Me? by Paul Verhaeghe (Paperback - 14 Aug. 2014)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews