Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly Enchanting Read! - Reviewed for RHFL (Romantic Historical Fiction Lovers)
It is 1430, Scotland, and Ms Robbins gives us a taste of clan loyalty and territorial rivalry in her novel of steamy romance and bitter betrayal. This, the first in a Highlander Series, is a romantic adventure, which leads a reader across the heather clad highlands to castles with hidden secrets, to the royal court of James I (King of Scotland), and to the romanticism of...
Published 13 months ago by Francine Howarth

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I rate this Highland adventure with 3 and 1/2 stars
For me historical fiction comes in all sorts of forms. Some novels are serious, very heavy on detail and very well edited. Others are much lighter on detail and less formal in that they give a gist of the period, just sufficient to give the reader a feel for the era. I've read a lot of `highlander' romances and they have varied tremendously in the amounts of detail and in...
Published 16 months ago by nanjar


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly Enchanting Read! - Reviewed for RHFL (Romantic Historical Fiction Lovers), 9 Jan. 2014
By 
It is 1430, Scotland, and Ms Robbins gives us a taste of clan loyalty and territorial rivalry in her novel of steamy romance and bitter betrayal. This, the first in a Highlander Series, is a romantic adventure, which leads a reader across the heather clad highlands to castles with hidden secrets, to the royal court of James I (King of Scotland), and to the romanticism of times past.

Aileana Chatten (heroine) is facing a double dilemma. For with the death of her uncle (guardian), she presumes his dying wish was for her to wed Gawain Chatten: her cousin. Likewise Gawain believes, that he is to inherit the late departed's house and lands and, that he will wed Aileana. But nothing is quite as it seems, and people are not always as imagined. Unbeknown to Aileana, a marriage between her and a James MacIntosh was agreed upon years beforehand. Subsequently, with their worlds shattered by unbidden news, both Aileana and Gawain react in differing ways.

Although duty bound to honour a written agreement, and despite her betrothed's sexual appeal, Aileana nonetheless implies disinterest to little avail. How is it possible to be set alight by the sheer presence of a man one is supposed to despise? So too, James MacIntosh, is faced with the reality his freedom to bed women - as and when - will seriously be curtailed by a wife. But what can he do? Where good sense says don't marry the girl, the devil within says take her now and be damned, and he's torn with how best to resolve their mutual plight. But intrigue is afoot and just when Aileana and James find their true path, dark days befall them. While their lives may never be the same again, can true love win through?

Bound to the Highlander is a classic historical Scottish romance encapsulating the essence of the beautiful landscape, a rugged hero and that of a tempestuous head-strong young lady. The supporting characters have merit all their own, and will no doubt feature in book 2. To sum up: Ms Robbin's novel is a thoroughly enchanting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I rate this Highland adventure with 3 and 1/2 stars, 19 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For me historical fiction comes in all sorts of forms. Some novels are serious, very heavy on detail and very well edited. Others are much lighter on detail and less formal in that they give a gist of the period, just sufficient to give the reader a feel for the era. I've read a lot of `highlander' romances and they have varied tremendously in the amounts of detail and in the accuracy of the period. I found Bound To The Highlander an interesting mix but it seemed to lack a thorough editing. From the outset, there's a formality to the syntax which is in keeping with the period, yet there was also a contemporary feel in some of the phrases used - mainly during banter that is more light-hearted - which was different. I, personally, tend to like consistency and found the `modernisms' jarring as I came across them.
I thought at first the plotline was going to be quite simple to follow but was glad to find that wasn't the case -there were some unexpected scenes which left me wondering what was coming next; almost as you would expect in a Victorian farce.

Aileana's uncle, having arranged a marriage with the MacIntosh clan, sets James and Aileana on an emotionally rocky road, some of its pitfalls seeming too much for Aileana. Mutual desire isn't expected in such engagements, far less a deep and abiding love. How they work through the ties that bind them is quite a tale of political intrigue and potential disaster!

I was quite partial to James MacIntosh who has everything a highland hero needs, but I was also drawn to his brother, Calum, who counterbalances James' tough, hard edges. Aileana's maid, Gwen, is a forthright character I liked very much- probably more than Aileana herself who was a mix of modern woman and naïve maiden. Aileana's cousin drove the plot forward, proving that you can't always rely on relatives!

If you like Highland Heroes - then Bound to the Highlander will entertain you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highland Chiefs Series, Book One, 11 Oct. 2013
"Bound to the Highlander" is the award-winning debut novel of Newfoundland author Kate Robbins. Earlier this year Robbins won the Tampa Area Romance Authors (TARA) award for this first book in her Highland Chiefs trilogy. This is the kind of book you want to curl up with on a cold, stormy day. Nothing compliments a fuzzy blanket and blazing fire like a historical romance.

The characters are well developed and engaging. James MacIntosh is everything a romance hero should be - strong, virile and sexy. Likewise Aileana Chattan is everything a modern reader wants her heroine to be - strong-willed, beautiful and educated. When I first read "Bound to the Highlander," I feared Robbins would create a female character that was typical of her time, the 15th century. That is, a woman who was taught to be subservient and unable to think for herself. Needless to say, I was thrilled with Aileana. I caught myself cheering her independence and rooting on her efforts to become head of her family home.

As much as I loved these characters, for me, the historical elements of the novel stole the show. Robbins picked a fascinating period of Scottish history in which to set her story. The time of King James I was filled with political intrigue - and the fact that she gives the reader a glimpse of the man himself, was a fun detail. Of course the highland landscape, period clothes and descriptions of the castle and estates all provide a wonderful richness to her story and helps set it apart from other novels in her genre.

I'm looking forward to reading the rest of her Highland Chiefs series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not a book a novel of a read, 29 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read the first book and had to buy all of them a real escape Into history . You won't want to put down....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good story, 13 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed bound to the highlander it was a good story hope you enjoy this book to I am just starting book two
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not yet read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bound to the Highlander: 1 (The Highland Chiefs)
Bound to the Highlander: 1 (The Highland Chiefs) by Kate Robbins (Paperback - 26 Feb. 2014)
£7.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews