Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 13 Jun. 2014
This review is from: The SPECIAL PARENT'S Handbook: 1 (Paperback)
I was keen to read this as soon as I heard about it as I myself have 2 sons of 15 and 12 with various disabilities. Yvonne's book is a refreshingly honest account of the highs and lows of the "system" you need to navigate in order to get the right help for your special children. It is written in a way that is easy to read for both parents and professionals alike. For parents who have had difficulties getting help from professionals they will relate to so much of Yvonne's story. At times the book is painfully sad but there are many funny sections too that I completely related to. Yvonne Newbold is a hugely gifted writer who has the ability to make you feel as though you have known her for ever. Her love for her children shines through on every page and I was in tears for all sorts of different reasons as I read her book. Parents in a similar position will find the book comforting and informative. Professionals should definitely read it too - they will learn an awful lot about how best to talk to special children and their parents and how important it is to listen as well as to talk. Well done Yvonne. I am already waiting for part 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for all parents of disabled children and the professionals who work with and for them!, 15 Jun. 2014
This review is from: The SPECIAL PARENT'S Handbook: 1 (Paperback)
A very enjoyable read. Its as though Yvonne is having a chat with you over a cuppa about her personal journey as the mother of three disabled children, but all the while imparting loads of useful information. Its witty in part and made me laugh but its also very sad and it makes you wonder how Yvonne coped, especially in the early years. There are also some hard hitting messages for professionals along with appreciative messages for those professionals who have supported Yvonne and her children over the years. As a parent myself of a disabled adult, many of the issues raised by Yvonne reminded me of my own journey with my disabled son - but nothing like as challenging as that which has confronted Yvonne. The Special Parent's Handbook is packed with practical advice, tips and strategies that will empower special parents, make them feel less isolated, and help them to overcome the challenges faced by them and their families - I have no hesitation in recommending it to all special parents and those who work with and for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... as a SENCo a timely reminder of what our wonderful parents are coping with, 25 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The SPECIAL PARENT'S Handbook: 1 (Paperback)
Yvonne's book is very readable and as a SENCo a timely reminder of what our wonderful parents are coping with. it made me laugh and cry, it made despair for the times I have not been as helpful or understanding as I could have been but hopeful for the times when I have been able to help in some small way Most of all this book can give professionals a small window into the world of the families we have contact with. Thank you Yvonne. I am all ready recommending this books to other SENCos when I meet them .But mostly it is just a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that befriends, guides and inspires., 28 July 2014
This review is from: The SPECIAL PARENT'S Handbook: 1 (Paperback)
This book is superb. It's packed with useful information and tips, gleaned at first-hand by the writer as she has tackled the challenges of parenting children with additional needs. Yvonne Newbold has the courage to share her feelings as well as practical guidelines and I feel that those two elements of the book are equally important. Many writers distance themselves from the subject matter so that they can sound more objective - but this writer's wisdom is born directly from mothering her special children, with all the conflicting emotions that can bring. Her pain, her determination and her hope have brought the rest of us this beautiful book, gift-wrapped in honesty and sincerity. She is also intelligent, clear-thinking and perceptive, offering an unparalleled analysis of the true dynamics of those stressful meetings with various professionals. It's as if reporting restrictions have suddenly been lifted and Yvonne Newbold has been allowed to tell the unvarnished truth about 'the system'. Her journey has been an exceptionally challenging one but it has many landmarks that others can recognise. I don't know Yvonne but this brave, funny, clever lady is an inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sinmply amazing and a MUST read, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The SPECIAL PARENT'S Handbook: 1 (Paperback)
Sinmply amazing and a MUST read!
As a dentist caring for children and adults with Special Needs for the past 14 years, I was very eager to get a copy and I truely could not put it down until it was read cover to cover in a day!
The book is very easy read and packed with hints, messages and very practical advise for all parents/ cares and health care professions caring for children with Special Needs.
I agree with the other reviewers that it was sad to see what dificulties Yvonne had to face on a day to day basis, but it equally is funny and make you laugh.
I have strogly recommended and will continue to recommend this book to all my colleagues and parents and carers that I come across on a day to day basis.
Reading this book will without a doubt help us as health care professionals to have a some insight into lives of our Special Parents/ patients.
A long waited for book, thank you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was so easy to read and so practical but also with so ..., 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've now finished reading Yvonne Newbold's book 'The Special Parent's Handbook'. I couldn't put it down! It was so easy to read and so practical but also with so much humour.

Having worked with children (at a school), older people (Age UK) and being a part-time carer for my mother who became severely disabled at the end of her life, I have seen how people cope with disabilities. It's easy to put disabilities out of your mind if you are not living with them. Yvonne teaches the reader to experience everyday living with these issues and how to respect the sufferers and their carers and how they cope. Her tips at the end of each chapter provide a perfect reminder of the main 'do's and don'ts' on each topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most fantastic book ever!!!, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a parent to two children with additional needs i can only say i wish i'd found this book sooner. I contains all the practical advice and emotional support you need when you start walking along a different path. A path of realizing your child may be extra-ordinary not just ordinary, maybe diagnosis' following along the way and endless appointments with professionals that go hand in hand. I love how it is written straight from the heart of someone who knows first hand what it's like to care for extraordinary children and who does so with such love and compassion, Yvonne is a truly inspirational woman and i would whole heart idly recommend this book to anybody who comes into contact with extraordinary children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book EVER!!!, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The SPECIAL PARENT'S Handbook: 1 (Paperback)
I am extremely lucky to know the writer, as I use to work with Toby and his family.

She is absolutely amazing- an amazing parent and this book is fantastic. If it wasn't for my hectic life with my own daughter I would have finished it by now. As when I'm reading it I can't put it down! From what I ve read it "makes sense". It's the best book I have read regarding special needs. I will update my review once I have the time to finish reading!
I have talked to many professionals (through work and my own daughter's needs) and feel everyone should read it!!

Well done- it truly is amazing xxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You will laugh, You will cry, more importantly - You will relate, 18 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The SPECIAL PARENT'S Handbook: 1 (Paperback)
There really is nothing out there that can quite prepare you for the rollercoaster ride that is special needs parenting. This book however is full of useful tips, stories, and almost normalises what we are going through.

I bought this book on a recommendation from other parents on a forum I go on and WOW I am glad.

It had me in crying, it had me laughing, it made me angry at the system, it made me proud of the system. After reading the book I almost felt like I knew Yvonne and her family personally and was really grateful that she gave such an insight into her journey with her children.

Thank you Yvonne for writing this fantastic book - A book you wish had been there for you at the start of your journey. You are inspiring people like me everywhere and uniting us all and this is fantastic.

I have now lent the book to my dad who is enjoying reading it too.

(For context - My daughter went into shock when I was in labour and her heart stopped for 8 minutes unexpectedly and she suffered a very severe brain injury. She has cerebral palsy qp, is 100% gtube fed and there are many challenges in the future) After reading the book I felt empowered to battle on with this journey and actually enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yvonne deals with the many situations that arise for carers with a practical caring and often humorous view giving useful advise, 3 Nov. 2014
By 
Ronald (Wolverhampton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is invaluable to any carer to help them cope with problems that can arise when dealing with social services etc., Yvonne deals with the many situations that arise for carers with a practical caring and often humorous view giving useful advise. A must read for carers and their families to see how Yvonne dealt with her own situation and the advise she is able to give having had to deal with it herself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The SPECIAL PARENT'S Handbook: 1
The SPECIAL PARENT'S Handbook: 1 by Yvonne Newbold (Paperback - 2 Jun. 2014)
£12.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews