Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It wasn't the lighthouse!
I'd heard about the RF incident - dubbed Britain's Roswell - some time ago, and recall finding it fascinating at the time. I was, and still am fascinated by UFOs, and always interested to hear about knew sightings and facts. I was only 15 years old when this story broke, but do recall the headline in the News of the World. But, like with most UFO stories, as time passes,...
Published 3 months ago by Simon Rosser

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I expected better from this prominent UFO researcher
How can anyone possibly give this book 5 stars????? At a detailed level, it is page after page after page of badly written repetition. There are typing errors galore that should have been corrected, and a preoccupation with procedure that dominates much of many of the chapters. I get the feeling that Nick is trying to explain errors that lay at his door, where the US...
Published 4 months ago by liloldmanhoo


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It wasn't the lighthouse!, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'd heard about the RF incident - dubbed Britain's Roswell - some time ago, and recall finding it fascinating at the time. I was, and still am fascinated by UFOs, and always interested to hear about knew sightings and facts. I was only 15 years old when this story broke, but do recall the headline in the News of the World. But, like with most UFO stories, as time passes, and no more information comes out, you sub consciously file the story away, and it loses its importance and significance.

Nick Pope's new book, co-written with Jim Penniston and John Burroughs, two of the primary witnesses, breathes new life into the events that occurred that December night in 1980. The two airmen were the first to out that night to investigate the strange lights seen over Rendlesham Forest, which lies between the then twin USAF bases, Bentwaters and Woodbridge, in Suffolk, England. Upon reading Mr Pope's new book, my interest in the event has now been more than re-kindled, excuse the pun!

This book is well written, and sets out the timeline of the events in digestible bits of information, together with additional facts and testimony that has come out since the event. The book is written with the help of the two primary witnesses, Jim Penniston and John Borroughs.

The important thing about this case has got to be the sheer number of trained military personnel who witnessed the events over the 3 nights, together with some photographic evidence, radar evidence, and radiation readings taken at the alleged landing site, after the initial event. The now famous Halt memo, released by the USAF, under the Freedom of Information Act in 1983, led to the story being broken by the News of the World back in the same year. This memo, written by Colonel Charles Halt, the deputy base commander, together with a recording he made, which can be listened to on YouTube, and which are transcribed in Pope's book, provide clear evidence that Halt, and his men, who went out into the forest on the third night, witnessed something very unusual - more lights in the forest, and the sky, which appeared to be craft, under intelligent control, performing incredible high-speed maneuvers, and which shone laser-like beams of light to the ground, and into the weapons storage areas. (Probably housing nuclear weapons.)

Pope can't comment on whether there were nuclear weapons stored at the base, as it would be a breach of The Official Secrets Act if he did, but some brief research quickly reveals that the bases were storing a large quantity of the US's battlefield nuclear warheads, an interesting and worrying fact in and of itself.

Although the story seems to have become embellished over the years, with contradicting accounts as to what happened, the original witness testimonies taken as part of the initial investigation, are perhaps the most interesting aspect. They leave no room for doubt that the witnesses experienced something other than just the flashing light of the Ofordness Lighthouse during the 3 nights of the event. Simply too many individuals saw something they could not explain.

Having devoured Mr Pope's book in a few days, I needed to find more information on the event, and I located a load of information and interviews on YouTube, and even better, downloaded the late Georgina Bruni's book, entitled `You Can't Tell The People.' This book, unlike Mr Pope's, was written back in 2000, and the author carried out meticulous research, and tracked down dozens of witnesses, both military and civilian who all verify different aspects of the sightings. Anyone interested in this story, and who has read Pope's book, will be doing themselves a favour if they also read Bruni's book.

The fact is, 34 years on, the witnesses still maintain that they said they saw back in 1980. To me, it seems incredible if the accounts of these trained military men, who had to remain silent until they left the USAF, were not genuine. Why put yourself through the hassle and ridicule of saying you witnessed such `outlandish' events, if they weren't true? It doesn't make sense.

I'd be astounded if more information doesn't eventually come out on this case, but unless it comes from Colonel Halt, or as yet, some unknown, but verifiable witness, or higher ranking officer who was present at the bases in 1980, then it will be difficult to accept.

So, did an alien craft land in the forest? Or was it a top secret military craft belonging to the good old USA? The secret TR-3B, would be a good contender. Especially as some of the witnesses described seeing what appeared to be something dripping off the craft.. perhaps a problem with the mercury-based plasma drive engine?? Or has a cover-up been orchestrated to hide a sinister accident of some kind? Whatever happened, the case is fascinating, and won't be going away any time soon. I suppose the only comforting fact is that if it was indeed an alien craft, no one was harmed by said aliens - at least not intentionally. If the men were harmed, the harm was more likely caused by fellow humans from the MOD or the USAF!

Another interesting point, mentioned in Georgina Bruni's book, are the strange, ghost-like sightings that have been reported in and around the forest. This article provides more information, and is... very odd - [...]

The truth is out there! Watch this space!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deals only with the facts., 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Encounter in Rendlesham Forest (Paperback)
This book makes no assumptions and is not biased. Thankfully, it identifies and gives no credence to the very suspect binary code message that Sgt Penniston suddenly came out with after 30 years. Penniston has damaged the credibility of his account and as a result what he says about the whole affair including touching the craft must now be discounted. The man has lied and this book indirectly says as much. However, even with the Penniston embellishments and lies removed the story still stands on Halts tape recording of a craft beaming down laser type lights at the airmen s feet and into the nuclear bunkers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very interesting read., 13 May 2014
A very interesting story, as told from the viewpoint of the witnesses to the Rendlesham ufo incident.
The only thing that spoilt it for me was the obvious lack of proofreading of the book before it went to print. There are numerous grammatical errors which detract from what is otherwise, a fascinating story.
I would not let this put you off buying it, and I would assume that it is an absolute 'must read' for anyone wishing to gain 'eye witness' insights into the Rendlesham Forest incident as told by the personnel that came closest to events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I expected better from this prominent UFO researcher, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How can anyone possibly give this book 5 stars????? At a detailed level, it is page after page after page of badly written repetition. There are typing errors galore that should have been corrected, and a preoccupation with procedure that dominates much of many of the chapters. I get the feeling that Nick is trying to explain errors that lay at his door, where the US military withheld relevant information from him. He is also preoccupied with debunking the claims made by "UFOlogists", both believers and non-believers, at great length. I am finding as I progress through this awful mire of a loose compendium that the guts of the encounters could have been condensed into a few paragraphs. In summary, I feel robbed by this purchase. Nick is an inarticulate writer, as this book proves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am up to date on this story and any more facts and details would be welcome. Another book perhaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping!, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good read for anybody interested in UFO's or the tricks the authorities use to conceal the truth from the public. It explores all the possible explanations for the events in Suffolk in 1980 in a reasoned way, but has made me more convinced than ever that it was an alien encounter that the American and British governments tried desperately to hush up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and informative, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Encounter in Rendlesham Forest (Paperback)
Would highly recommend to anyone interested in the subject .Good detailed explanations giving a greater insight from a knowledge individual
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars POPE, PENNISTON & PROBLEMS, 25 April 2014
By 
Richard Masloski (New Windsor, New York USA) - See all my reviews
On the face of it, the entire story of the encounter in Rendlesham Forest, as told in Nick Pope's latest book, is a seemingly strong and sincere case. Yes, the story has been told countless times before, but the story keeps growing new legs - some of which are revealed in the closing chapters wherein we learn considerably more of what Jim Penniston, USAF (Ret.) allegedly experienced in his up close and personal contact with the mysterious craft he says he saw and touched. It is herein revealed that Penniston had undergone hypnosis with a therapist whose name we never learn - and whilst under, Penniston reveals that the mysterious ship isn't from another planet, but from our own good Earth! But not from any black-ops from Area 51, no! The craft Penniston saw and touched came from...the future! "They are time travelers - they are us," Penniston states. And speaking of the "future", Penniston and fellow USAF John Burroughs (who was with Penniston in the forest that night in 1980) leave us readers with a teaser: "Is this really the story of the witnesses and has everything from the witnesses been addressed? Is there more to come? Yes, there is more to come." So then, the saga will continue! More books, maybe a movie, a TV show - in this case, the sky is the literal limit!

Here are some of the problems with this book. A straight reading will leave one slack-jawed, in awe, amazed. It seems like the real deal! Heck, on page 11 Pope writes something truly astounding: "A later entry in the Suffolk Police log provides the first known documentary evidence showing that a landing HAD taken place (in Rendlesham Forest). This intriguing log entry reads as follows: 'We have had a call from the L.E. at Bentwaters in reference to the U.F.O. reported last night. We have found a place where a craft of some sort seems to have landed." Wow! Confirmation from the local British police! Something did, indeed, land! But Pope drops it there, leaving his readers slack-jawed in awe - which is, after all, how he wants to leave us. Trouble is, with a little more digging I learned that there is actually a follow-up report in the Suffolk Police log from a P.C. Brian Cresswell that states: "There were three marks in the area which did not follow a set pattern. The impression made by these marks were of no depth and could have been made by an animal." If that ain't a spot of rain on Pope's parade! Of course, there is no Cresswell in this book's index, either.

Another potential problem: when Penniston is looking at the mysterious craft he writes in his notebook that there are no landing gear visible - yet hours later, unable to sleep, he goes back the site of his encounter and takes plaster casts of the three marks made from the craft's landing gear! Talk about growing new legs! We never find out what happened to those casts, by-the-way. And when he went back to the site and took more than an hour to take the castings, why was there no one else at the scene of the purported landing? If it was that security sensitive you'd think the place would be crawling with investigators! Anyway, back at the initial forest encounter, Penniston takes photos (which don't come out)and also draws in his notebook. On page 7 we are shown drawings of the craft and of the strange markings on the craft that resemble "Egyptian hieroglyphs" - shades of the Roswell wreckage! We are not told if the drawings shown are the actual ones made on the spot or not. But it struck me curious that Penniston would draw the craft even though he had just photographed it. And if these are the on-site drawings, they are done in a remarkably steady and sure hand, which is kind of curious if someone is having an encounter with something of such high strangeness. Here is something else: Penniston and Burroughs were off in the woods for at least 45 minutes investigating strange lights - this near a high security US Air Force base - and keep in mind that their radios had malfunctioned so they were not in contact with the eight other members of the security force waiting closer to the base - anyway, the thing is this: 45 minutes, no radio contact, and no backup! Yes, Pope writes that "A search party had been on the point of going out to look for them" - but...when you think about it, none of this adds up very realistically!

Pope offers SELECTED DOCUMENTS AND IMAGES at the end of the book. There is a transcript of Lt. Col. Halt's tape recording made during his own encounter in the woods two nights after the initial incident. The trouble is, the tape is controversial, yet Pope doesn't deal with the possibility of hoax or editing of this key piece of evidence. Pope also shows us the actual pages from Penniston's "original police notebook", images of the "Binary Code Message" that was downloaded into his mind upon touching one of the symbols on the craft's surface. Pennington had this code translated by various experts and the Pyramids at Giza are mentioned in the translation, as well as the Nazca Lines in Peru. Pope, however, weakly comments on this additional chapter to the Rendlesham story: "Is there a more complex message hidden deeper within the obvious one? Is this all just wishful thinking? Or is the message more subtle? I have no answers here, which is why I provide the raw data in Appendix B. Maybe other experts will come up with an alternative translation." Why doesn't he have his own answers here? Wasn't that one reason he wrote this book? And this: "While I worked on the MoD's UFO project, I am not aware of any UK government research into time travel..." I guess these enigmas may be more fully addressed in the next book or books??? It says on the back cover that "This is the only UFO book ever to have required security clearance from both the American and British governments" - yet why then is 98 % of it stuff that has been out there for years? And why doesn't our intrepid author chase down his own translations of the "binary code message from the craft" that he advertizes on the back jacket as one of the things his book "uncovers." Why didn't he take Penniston up on the offer to test the age of the notebook entries? Why don't we learn more of who the hypnotist was and an analysis of her findings from someone other than Penniston? Why are there absolutely no photographs in this book - none of the main players nor the forest site where all of this happened nor the plaster casts nor the notorious lighthouse? Heck, there ain't even a map showing where Rendlesham forest is!

Bottom line is, if you don't know the basics of this story, the book isn't all that bad. But it is biased, even though it tries not to be. Truth be told, though, the Wikipedia entry ends up being more informative and well-rounded and with some photos to boot! And a map! I expected more in a book that has been heralded with much hype for some time now.

As to what really and truly happened over those three nights in Rendlesham Forest, the new Roswell? Sadly, I wasn't there. However, something happened! But is this truly the case of a mountain out of a molehill? Or - despite my skepticism - more likely, a mountain being turned into a molehill by the Powers-that-Be?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There's nothing to see here, move along!, 29 April 2014
By 
This review is from: Encounter in Rendlesham Forest (Paperback)
Having seen Nick Pope give a talk on UFOs at a UFO conference, my expectations weren't high with this book. Nick pretends that he can't tell you anything about UFOs because of the official secrets act - so he tells you nothing over and over again - which all comes across as someone who knows nothing but pretends that they do!

So, what happened at Rendlesham? Something certainly did. Having been following the case since the story broke I have read all books on the case. Jenny Randles books on the subject are 100% better than this. This book is, as other reviewers have pointed out, lots and lots of padding with not much info. There are even researchers who don't even get a mention! Where is the sceptic Ian Ridpath in the index? Oh dear!

So, what is the conclusion of the book? SPOILER ALERT - no aliens (by the way, where were the aliens mentioned in earlier accounts?) - the whole incident was a time travel experiment! Well, its certainly more entertaining than the lighthouse theory!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The account we have been waiting for., 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At last an accurate non sensational account. It doesn't clear up every mystery but it sheds light on a lot of what happened. Full marks to Nick Pope for all his accurate and painstaking research
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Encounter in Rendlesham Forest
Encounter in Rendlesham Forest by Nick Pope (Paperback - 19 April 2014)
8.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews