Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia
Writing as a student nurse back in the 1960s I felt much empathy with the characters, and can vouch for the authenticity of the text. I was always a little in awe of doctors but now realise they too had a learning process to. Why is it that distance lends enchantment to the scene? Thank you, Peter Sykes for sharing your memories.
Published 2 months ago by Christine Matthews

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book
A good book , not what I expected but still a good read, it made interesting reading, and one I had to finish once started
Published 1 month ago by ribbon queen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Writing as a student nurse back in the 1960s I felt much empathy with the characters, and can vouch for the authenticity of the text. I was always a little in awe of doctors but now realise they too had a learning process to. Why is it that distance lends enchantment to the scene? Thank you, Peter Sykes for sharing your memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been a male nurse many years ago I found this just like it used to be. Really well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bed pans at the ready, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one book I really enjoyed. The insight in to the visitors for medical treatment was so well written. The way he coped with with some unusual happenings career wise was interesting and pointed to what could happen if you hold off for whatever reason. Brillient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an entertaining read, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked this book because of the way the author explores some of the ethics around events. The events themselves are entertaining enough, but the subtle hint at analysis gives food for thought which gives some added depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good book , not what I expected but still a good read, it made interesting reading, and one I had to finish once started
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin!, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was advertised on our trust intranet as a recomended read for healthcare staff, I have to say that it would be an amusing read for anyone, it has it's highs and lows and is very interesting to see how things have and have not changed in a relatively short period of time. There has to be a story in this book that we can all relate too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting insights, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While you can tell the author isn't a professional writer, this fictionalised account of a doctor's life is interesting and readable. I understand that profits go to charity, so very worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Behind the screens at the City General Hospital, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I know Peter Sykes personally, this is the second book he has written about his life in general surgery and is presently writing a third. He gives a good percentage of the sole to charity. Hope this one does well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY NICE DOCTOR, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind the Screens at the City General Hospital (Paperback)
I worked with this Doctor for a long time, before he retired.
Very nice man and very good read. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read !, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very true to life ! It took me back in time . A very enjoyable read . More like that please .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Behind the Screens at the City General Hospital
Behind the Screens at the City General Hospital by Peter Sykes (Paperback - 8 Nov 2013)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews