Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars57
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 30 May 2014
This book starts with a biography of parts of Mark's life focussing on his father's obsession with saving money and how it coloured his attitudes. It gives a great insight into how we can learn even from imperfect teachers. There's a painfully funny section on his old boss Chris and his warped sense of making cash and this then leads into lessons learned and how they can be applied. It's this third section that has the most value in terms of living a low cost high life and there are some great ideas in here that we can all apply. It's a really enjoyable and informative read written in very natural and personable style and sits very well alongside the other books from progressive property. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone wanting to get more out of their income (and more income out of life) and to anyone who's had a bad boss.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 7 June 2014
Thank you Mark for sharing this amazing concept! A must read for any would-be or budding property investors (even experienced investors could probably learn a thing or two!). Your no-nonsense, honest approach is inspirational. I wish you and Rob many more years of success and please continue sharing your tips :-)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 1 June 2014
Well written book
Just starting to use the tip's
On how to leverage the use of cards and diffirent wasys of buying.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 11 July 2014
An extremely honest, enlightening and motivating book. He is a genius with facts and figures and the sort of person you wish you had to hand all the time to check those accounts. I loved this book and missed reading it once I had finished so will have to read it again and again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 7 July 2014
Read it in a day and enjoyed it thoroughly - a great reminder of many of the lessons I have learnt from Mark over the years. Great to have all his tips and advice down on paper for all to benefit from! I have already sent a handful of friends the link to buy it for themselves.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 9 September 2014
An amazing story (biography) about a couple of everyday guys who learned from the failures of people before them and developed strategies for building assets that produce wealth.

I have been to several of their events and known these guys for about 9-10 years, through the highs and lows of the economy over that time I have seen them adapt, take advantage and grow. Thriving not just surviving! If I lived anywhere near peter-borough I would have been in there offices every single week asking them for a job!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 3 August 2014
Well done Mark Homer, you have wrapped up the art of financial planning extremely well in your book. A fantastic way to managed your money and your future.

Thoroughly recommend people read this book.

All the best

Dan Hulbert
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
To get the most out of this book you will ideally have to have attended a training or two with Progressive Property and know who Mark is. That way you will appreciate how surprising and revealing this book is. Mark is a very private person who has been the butt of a long running series of jokes from Rob since I attended their first ever Masterclass. At that time Rob would occasionally allow Mark to speak only to interrupt and takeover every time he perceived that Mark was getting boring which was every second sentence. However, Mark is actually a very good speaker and has a sense of humour about himself and his contrarian views of the world and Rob does acknowledge him as being the sensible backbone of the organisation. They have a great business which is fascinating to observe from the outside, watching how they have grown as a business and as talented and knowledgeable people. However, they actually haven’t changed much in that they are as approachable and open as they have ever been.
My wife and I have always liked Mark who is polite, sincere and very modest but this book has been surprisingly revealing. The early part of the book devotes a lot of time to Mark’s upbringing with a father who was tight to an ultimately destructive extent. Undoubtedly his meanness cost him relationships and reputation and yet he didn’t seem to get any worthwhile benefit from all the extreme penny pinching. Mark demonstrates an advance on these techniques. He has overcome a great deal of powerful conditioning and some just go the other way and rebel but he has demonstrated that cost savings can be used to good effect. He has managed to rationalise when to save money and when to recognise false economies and what being cheap costs in terms of relationship and reputation. I have a number of Mark tendencies myself, having had to live with delayed gratification and scarce resources in the past and so I identified with the thought processes of weighing up when and how to spend. I have also discovered like Mark, the pleasure of giving but give as much consideration of how and to whom as I do with any spending, so for me the book has been an obsessional read.
For the first time to my knowledge, the identity of their former employer has been openly revealed and “Chris” becomes the other extreme to demonstrate the wisdom of careful and planned testing and analysis over reckless and impulsive and destructive actions. Chris is an extreme form of the dishonest and destructive major off plan property promoter that ruined many lives through selling dreams of wealth and lifestyle from your armchair. Mark will tell you how to make it easier to make it but is distinctive from scammers in accepting that property requires delayed gratification. I get that the majority of people will still think that Mark and Rob are in the same category and will only act when the opportunity in property has peaked. So this is a book for people who think a bit differently.
The title suggests living a pretend high life for bargain prices and if you are waiting for this part of the book it comes very late and perhaps is not as dominant a part of the book as some would like. However, by the time you get to this part you will have learned a perspective and appreciation. Maybe if you thought you just wanted to be flash like Chris you will have learned another way during the course of the book. If you thought it would be cool to hang out with successful people you will have learned how you have to grow to make this happen. The book is, as I have said previously, so surprising that surely drink, torture, blackmail or captivity must have been involved in its production.

I bought the book as my first ever Kindle product, as physical books are now taking over my house. The book because it contains a personal story will remain very memorable as I apply the strategies.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
Having been aware of the progressive brand prior to discovering this book, I had always been far more engaged with the analytical, grounded nature of communications that Mark produces rather than the glitzy, hyped style of Rob, so I decided to buy the book to gain further insight into Mark's journey to success and the factors that underpin it. It does not disappoint, detailing Mark's history and how his behaviours have unwittingly been trained towards the creation of wealth from a young age, with a near religious approach to cost saving and capital preservation. This book is a must read for anyone interested in wealth creation, not just for property entrepreneurs, and provides a number of references for further reading and advancement in this topic. I would have personally liked to have seen a little more insight into the finder details of his property endeavours, but nevertheless this is still a valuable read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 20 June 2014
A an interesting and amusing read full of very practical advice of benefit to anyone interested in business, investing in general and property in particular. I have met Mark and his business partner Rob two very likeable and fully committed guys.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Multiple Streams of Property Income
Multiple Streams of Property Income by Rob Moore (Paperback - 1 May 2013)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
Get Covered for Less than $1 a Day Request Your Free Quote Today!
Life Insurance From £5 Per Month. Simple Form, Fast Quote, Apply Now.