Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Part biography, part guide to getting more from your money
This book starts with a biography of parts of Mark's life focussing on his father's obsession with saving money and how it coloured his attitudes. It gives a great insight into how we can learn even from imperfect teachers. There's a painfully funny section on his old boss Chris and his warped sense of making cash and this then leads into lessons learned and how they can...
Published 8 months ago by Kevin Tansley

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars as another review suggests, 1 or 2 useful tips but certainly no 'secrets'
The most interesting concept is the idea of lease purchasing a car using passive income, that's about the best tip / idea I felt was in the book, but this really isn't a great book, and does not come close to matching the marketing hype, there are far many more engaging books than this out there and which through reading would propel you anyway into circles that apply...
Published 7 months ago by Daniel Sweeting


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Part biography, part guide to getting more from your money, 30 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Low Cost High Life: Live an Affordable Life of Luxury (Paperback)
This book starts with a biography of parts of Mark's life focussing on his father's obsession with saving money and how it coloured his attitudes. It gives a great insight into how we can learn even from imperfect teachers. There's a painfully funny section on his old boss Chris and his warped sense of making cash and this then leads into lessons learned and how they can be applied. It's this third section that has the most value in terms of living a low cost high life and there are some great ideas in here that we can all apply. It's a really enjoyable and informative read written in very natural and personable style and sits very well alongside the other books from progressive property. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone wanting to get more out of their income (and more income out of life) and to anyone who's had a bad boss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow - just amazing!, 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thank you Mark for sharing this amazing concept! A must read for any would-be or budding property investors (even experienced investors could probably learn a thing or two!). Your no-nonsense, honest approach is inspirational. I wish you and Rob many more years of success and please continue sharing your tips :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up to Mark Homer nomal Standard, 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Low Cost High Life: Live an Affordable Life of Luxury (Paperback)
Well written book
Just starting to use the tip's
On how to leverage the use of cards and diffirent wasys of buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book., 26 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Low Cost High Life: Live an Affordable Life of Luxury (Paperback)
It was a great book for many reasons. It was clearly an honest and brave book written by someone who has walked the walk and not afraid to say so. It was very encouraging because it sat out there for all to see just how much Mark had gone through in order to get where he is and put up ideas that could be put into action by anyone today. Thanks Mark (and I know Rob was involved too) in writing this one. I enjoyed reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The guide for everyone in the present economic climate to make money grow, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Low Cost High Life: Live an Affordable Life of Luxury (Paperback)
An extremely honest, enlightening and motivating book. He is a genius with facts and figures and the sort of person you wish you had to hand all the time to check those accounts. I loved this book and missed reading it once I had finished so will have to read it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it in a day and enjoyed it thoroughly!, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read it in a day and enjoyed it thoroughly - a great reminder of many of the lessons I have learnt from Mark over the years. Great to have all his tips and advice down on paper for all to benefit from! I have already sent a handful of friends the link to buy it for themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A guide to Stacking the odds in your favour to help you build a property business ..., 9 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Low Cost High Life: Live an Affordable Life of Luxury (Paperback)
An amazing story (biography) about a couple of everyday guys who learned from the failures of people before them and developed strategies for building assets that produce wealth.

I have been to several of their events and known these guys for about 9-10 years, through the highs and lows of the economy over that time I have seen them adapt, take advantage and grow. Thriving not just surviving! If I lived anywhere near peter-borough I would have been in there offices every single week asking them for a job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low cost, highly revealing, 28 May 2014
By 
Stephen Green (Uttoxeter, Staffs. UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To get the most out of this book you will ideally have to have attended a training or two with Progressive Property and know who Mark is. That way you will appreciate how surprising and revealing this book is. Mark is a very private person who has been the butt of a long running series of jokes from Rob since I attended their first ever Masterclass. At that time Rob would occasionally allow Mark to speak only to interrupt and takeover every time he perceived that Mark was getting boring which was every second sentence. However, Mark is actually a very good speaker and has a sense of humour about himself and his contrarian views of the world and Rob does acknowledge him as being the sensible backbone of the organisation. They have a great business which is fascinating to observe from the outside, watching how they have grown as a business and as talented and knowledgeable people. However, they actually haven’t changed much in that they are as approachable and open as they have ever been.
My wife and I have always liked Mark who is polite, sincere and very modest but this book has been surprisingly revealing. The early part of the book devotes a lot of time to Mark’s upbringing with a father who was tight to an ultimately destructive extent. Undoubtedly his meanness cost him relationships and reputation and yet he didn’t seem to get any worthwhile benefit from all the extreme penny pinching. Mark demonstrates an advance on these techniques. He has overcome a great deal of powerful conditioning and some just go the other way and rebel but he has demonstrated that cost savings can be used to good effect. He has managed to rationalise when to save money and when to recognise false economies and what being cheap costs in terms of relationship and reputation. I have a number of Mark tendencies myself, having had to live with delayed gratification and scarce resources in the past and so I identified with the thought processes of weighing up when and how to spend. I have also discovered like Mark, the pleasure of giving but give as much consideration of how and to whom as I do with any spending, so for me the book has been an obsessional read.
For the first time to my knowledge, the identity of their former employer has been openly revealed and “Chris” becomes the other extreme to demonstrate the wisdom of careful and planned testing and analysis over reckless and impulsive and destructive actions. Chris is an extreme form of the dishonest and destructive major off plan property promoter that ruined many lives through selling dreams of wealth and lifestyle from your armchair. Mark will tell you how to make it easier to make it but is distinctive from scammers in accepting that property requires delayed gratification. I get that the majority of people will still think that Mark and Rob are in the same category and will only act when the opportunity in property has peaked. So this is a book for people who think a bit differently.
The title suggests living a pretend high life for bargain prices and if you are waiting for this part of the book it comes very late and perhaps is not as dominant a part of the book as some would like. However, by the time you get to this part you will have learned a perspective and appreciation. Maybe if you thought you just wanted to be flash like Chris you will have learned another way during the course of the book. If you thought it would be cool to hang out with successful people you will have learned how you have to grow to make this happen. The book is, as I have said previously, so surprising that surely drink, torture, blackmail or captivity must have been involved in its production.

I bought the book as my first ever Kindle product, as physical books are now taking over my house. The book because it contains a personal story will remain very memorable as I apply the strategies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars essential reading for wealth creation mindset, 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been aware of the progressive brand prior to discovering this book, I had always been far more engaged with the analytical, grounded nature of communications that Mark produces rather than the glitzy, hyped style of Rob, so I decided to buy the book to gain further insight into Mark's journey to success and the factors that underpin it. It does not disappoint, detailing Mark's history and how his behaviours have unwittingly been trained towards the creation of wealth from a young age, with a near religious approach to cost saving and capital preservation. This book is a must read for anyone interested in wealth creation, not just for property entrepreneurs, and provides a number of references for further reading and advancement in this topic. I would have personally liked to have seen a little more insight into the finder details of his property endeavours, but nevertheless this is still a valuable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Financial planning at its best, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well done Mark Homer, you have wrapped up the art of financial planning extremely well in your book. A fantastic way to managed your money and your future.

Thoroughly recommend people read this book.

All the best

Dan Hulbert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Low Cost High Life: Live an Affordable Life of Luxury
Low Cost High Life: Live an Affordable Life of Luxury by Mark Homer (Paperback - 1 May 2014)
Used & New from: £7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews