Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly engrossing and very moving stories set in wartime Pontypridd., 30 Mar 2012
By 
S (Keswick, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Such Sweet Sorrow is the fifth book in the Hearts of Gold series (and like the other books in the series it could easily be enjoyed on its own).
It is set in 1939, and vividly describes life in wartime Pontypridd. The characters are colourful and genuine (many will seem like old friends if you have been reading the series), and you quickly become engrossed in their stories.
Many of the young men in Pontypridd volunteer for the Welsh Guards, and leave for France - including William and Eddie Powell and the Ronconi boys.
Their loved ones are left to cope with their worries, and some of the young women have to take on additional responsibilities - such as the Ronconi girls, who have to take over running the family's cafés and restaurant.
A couple of new characters are introduced, as several `conchies' (conscientious objectors) arrive in Pontypridd, conscripted to work in the coal mines.
Tensions build in the community and as war fever sets in the persecution of `enemy aliens' begins, and soon many of the Italians living in Pontypridd face internment.
Such Sweet Sorrow is well researched and very moving. The stories of the characters are gripping - and there is a balance of highs and lows. As well as the tragedies, injustices and sorrows of war; there are stories of deep friendship, romance, and the ability of people and communities to find the strength needed to both cope with, and overcome, great adversities.

The previous books in the series are:
Hearts of Gold
ONE BLUE MOON (HEARTS OF GOLD (PONTYPRIDD SERIES))
A SILVER LINING (HEARTS OF GOLD)
ALL THAT GLITTERS (HEARTS OF GOLD)

The next book in the series is:
PAST REMEMBERING (HEARTS OF GOLD)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC OCTOLOGY, 26 Oct 2013
I'M SO SAD THAT I'M NOW ON BOOK 7 OF 8. THIS IS, WITHOUT DOUBT, THE BEST SERIES OF HAVE EVER READ. SIMPLY BRILLIANT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Continuation of Saga, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again, various families intertwined in a Welsh mining village, the saga is now progressing through the 1930's and towards World War II. Looking forward to the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting I couldn't put it down, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As usual Catrin Collier i couldn't put it down, very good story line and leaves you wondering what more is there when you have finished the book! Can't wait for the next one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book by Catrin Collier, the series has been very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good books, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always enjoy catrin colliers book, she takes you there into the years she is writing about. If anyone wants to know how people had to survive in sometimes terrible circumstances then read her books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant series., 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again Ms Collier has brought her characters alive, although fiction , she brings in so much fact it becomes real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a read couldn't put it down. Get all the Hearts of gold series I enjoyed it that much thank you. I'm from wales and had been told story's by my grandpa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i started reading this series because the first in the series was a free read and since have read then all.
It's not my preferred genre but Catrin had me hooked. Ive read the lot and loved them all. Very easy to buy into the characters. Looking forward to reading more from Catrin in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Welsh family, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I cannot put my kindle down. I go from the first Hearts of Gold the the next one and the next one. Brilliant writing. You are gripped in this welsh saga. A Must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Such Sweet Sorrow: 5 (Hearts of Gold Series)
Such Sweet Sorrow: 5 (Hearts of Gold Series) by Catrin Collier (Paperback - 8 Aug 2013)
£8.13
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews