Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic., 26 Feb 2003
By 
Mrs L Hover (Tonbridge, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
One Blue Moon is the second in a series of eight books following the fortunes of a small community in Pontypridd in Wales. They are set from before the second world war to just after it. Each book focuses on the same characters but from a a slightly different aspect although still entwining the story around all the characters. Through the books you follow the characters while they grow and suffer the hardships and the ups and downs of life in the mining town. Throughout the story the author makes the reader laugh and cry and feel a number of differing emotions. The series can be read individually but I think that they are well worth reading from start to finish. I read all eight books over a period of two months and found that each one was even more enthralling than the last. Now I've finished the series I feel totally lost as the books are so well written that the characters seemed so real I feel that I've lost my friends. The books were passed to me by my mother and she felt exactly the same about them. The series is Hearts of Gold, One Blue Moon, A Silver Lining, All That Glitters, Such Sweet Sorrow, Past Remembering, Broken Rainbows and finally Spoils of War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!, 31 Jan 2002
By A Customer
the first Catrin Collier book i ever read, and i've been hooked ever since.
Set in my home town of Pontypridd, this book focuses on characters struggling to maintain relationships under the threat of the oncoming ww2 I laughed, i cried, i finished it in two days!
My favourite character's are the Powell's, a mining family each having to contend with thier own problems; Haydyn the actor, Bethan the nurse, Eddie the boxer, Maud the youngest traniee nurse.
The characters will become like old friends, i have read the entire series from beginning to end now and i still can't get enough.
This woman should be made a dame!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great follow up to Hearts of Gold, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Catrin Collier's writing and will continue to purchase the rest of the Hearts of Gold series. A real insight into life at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Whay a great read :-), 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have never read a Catrin Collier book before but decided to download the whole series in one go, the plan was to read one of the Hearts of Gold books go to something different and then back to the next in the series. WRONG, I was hooked from the beginning and have read them one after the other (I am now on book five). The characters are so believable and you can relate to the good and bad times they share. Would definitely recommend this series. Well done Catrin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good read, 6 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed and an looking forward to reading all books in this series. A really good family saga. Well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Family saga, 4 Mar 2014
By 
Ms. L. Stuart-martin (cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoying all the books in this true to life family tale. The characters are so real, at times heartbreaking but well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Series, 17 Feb 2014
By 
Dr. I. M. Morris "Iwan M." (Machen, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As Mrs Ponty writes do classically, vey much enjoyed! Series very nostalgic, and the author identifies well with her background
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one blue moon, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
second in the series of Hearts of Gold, and just as good as the first one - am now waiting for number three to arrive,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOCAL INTEREST, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely books with a local interest. The story is based around one family and their friends and all the social problems from that era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another great read, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
again a fascinating story which weaves through the war years in Wales. A super read as all the others - great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2b71c30)

This product

One Blue Moon (Hearts of Gold Series)
One Blue Moon (Hearts of Gold Series) by Catrin Collier (Paperback - 18 July 2013)
14.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews