Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring
Got this after seeing it in a magazine last weekend and I wanted some inspiration as I'm about to redecorate my flat. It arrived yesterday and looks fab. As well as decorating ideas it also has lots of practical advice which I wasn't expecting so that is a real bonus. Have now got another one as a house-warming pressie for a friend whose new place is in need of some TLC.
Published 14 months ago by Charlie Bennett

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Loved the show, but the book is only OK - recommend watching recordings again instead!
Just felt the book is 'OK' whereas I was completely addicted to the show, and certain stuff they did on the show which I loved, isn't necessarily in the book. Basically I wanted an episode by episode breakdown of how they did things and where they bought stuff from - so I was disappointed. I bought it online obvs - but with this book I would recommend you have a leaf...
Published 11 months ago by nblafab


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 21 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Interior Design Challenge - Decorate your home with style (Hardcover)
Got this after seeing it in a magazine last weekend and I wanted some inspiration as I'm about to redecorate my flat. It arrived yesterday and looks fab. As well as decorating ideas it also has lots of practical advice which I wasn't expecting so that is a real bonus. Have now got another one as a house-warming pressie for a friend whose new place is in need of some TLC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of Inspiration, 21 Jan. 2014
By 
J. White - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Interior Design Challenge - Decorate your home with style (Hardcover)
This is a terrific book to accompany the new BBC TV series. Full of ideas and design tips. This is a beautifully illustrated book which gives you practical help to achieve the design makeovers featured in the TV series. A really useful book for anyone inspired to do some redecorating or a home makeover. It also gives background about the houses and flats featured in the series. Lots of colourful ideas and inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great ideas and tips, 16 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Interior Design Challenge - Decorate your home with style (Hardcover)
I read a feature on a interior design/make-over in my weekend magazine for a big paper last week and really liked the information and detail that was given so ordered the book. Apparently there is a TV series on BBC2 that starts soon and this is the official accompanying book. I'm planning a major home makeover next month and was interested to see whether the book would be helpful. it did not disappoint. although the projects(case studies)featured in the book are based on the television series, the information and tips given in the book are completely independent of this. there is so much detail - from setting up a home office to tiling a wall, creating storage space, choosing worktops, upcycling furniture and accessories and even putting together a new kitchen on a budget. i really like that the case studies featured focus on houses from different periods of history - from the 1700s right through to the the 1960s. i've already started creating my own mood boards from some of the designers's tips in the book so that i can start planning my own makeover.
I'm intrigued to see what the television series will be like - it's a competition to see which contestant will design the best house makeover so will no doubt update my review after watching. But, as a standalone book on interior design advice, design and ideas, this book is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most comprehensive interiors book there is, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Interior Design Challenge - Decorate your home with style (Hardcover)
I'm a huge fan of interior design and have stacks of interiors books but this one is the best i've come across. As well as the case studies from the TV show, the scope covered is extremely broad and the research that has gone into each section is extensive. Despite decorating my home quite recently, I was having real problems with the space as I have a multifunctional kitchen-dining area. This book had innovative ideas for zoning and flow to configure the space so that it suits your family perfectly. I really recommend this book, to novices and more accomplished designers alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the TV Tie-in book for the BBC TWO Series, 2 Feb. 2014
This review is from: The Great Interior Design Challenge - Decorate your home with style (Hardcover)
All of which is outlined in the book is intended to inspire the reader to work creatively with what they have. It is also attempting to create imaginings, for those undergoing any kind of redesigning project themselves, by using choices made by the amateur designers competing in the competition on TV, twinned with thought sharing and tips offered up by the field working experts. The aim is to do the best job of linking and recreating architectural styles from different time periods and geographical positioning, and helping readers to generate their own briefs in a way, using the book as a point of referencing. Much is conveyed in this well presented, well thought out book. Read a full independent review at tssreviews
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just the tv series., 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Interior Design Challenge - Decorate your home with style (Hardcover)
Although if you did see the recent series on BBC2 then you will recognise all the challenges but there is more to this book than just that. It takes you through simple DIY tasks and gives advice on layouts, colours etc and basic stuff like how to paint your walls. Now whilst it's a great book (and I wouldn't be without it) it would be of limited interest to those who make a habit of doing their own decorating/design - those people would probably have come across most of the contents before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Loved the show, but the book is only OK - recommend watching recordings again instead!, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Interior Design Challenge - Decorate your home with style (Hardcover)
Just felt the book is 'OK' whereas I was completely addicted to the show, and certain stuff they did on the show which I loved, isn't necessarily in the book. Basically I wanted an episode by episode breakdown of how they did things and where they bought stuff from - so I was disappointed. I bought it online obvs - but with this book I would recommend you have a leaf through in the shop to make sure it's got what you want in it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interior Design Challenge, 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Interior Design Challenge - Decorate your home with style (Hardcover)
Did not find it terribly clear - it is a good memo to remind me of the series which I thoroughly enjoyed. Would have liked to see something about the contestants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great interior design book of the tv series, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Interior Design Challenge - Decorate your home with style (Hardcover)
Great and informative book, lots of useful ideas and not just a replica of the show. Very much enjoying it and the suggestions and help with various projects. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Interior Design Challenge - Decorate your home with style (Hardcover)
The diy instructions are good, but why are the names of the contestants not mentioned in the articles about their own creative transformations of the rooms? I would have liked to have been reminded of who did each of the rooms - and some of my favourite rooms are not there, even though they were featured near the end of the challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Interior Design Challenge - Decorate your home with style
The Great Interior Design Challenge - Decorate your home with style by Katherine Sorrell (Hardcover - 20 Jan. 2014)
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews