Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most comprehensive interiors book there is
I'm a huge fan of interior design and have stacks of interiors books but this one is the best i've come across. As well as the case studies from the TV show, the scope covered is extremely broad and the research that has gone into each section is extensive. Despite decorating my home quite recently, I was having real problems with the space as I have a multifunctional...
Published 6 months ago by Olive Jones

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interior Design Challenge
Did not find it terribly clear - it is a good memo to remind me of the series which I thoroughly enjoyed. Would have liked to see something about the contestants.
Published 5 months ago by Mrs Pamela Wright


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most comprehensive interiors book there is, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Interior Design Challenge - Decorate your home with style (Hardcover)
I'm a huge fan of interior design and have stacks of interiors books but this one is the best i've come across. As well as the case studies from the TV show, the scope covered is extremely broad and the research that has gone into each section is extensive. Despite decorating my home quite recently, I was having real problems with the space as I have a multifunctional kitchen-dining area. This book had innovative ideas for zoning and flow to configure the space so that it suits your family perfectly. I really recommend this book, to novices and more accomplished designers alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Interior Design Challenge - Decorate your home with style (Hardcover)
Got this after seeing it in a magazine last weekend and I wanted some inspiration as I'm about to redecorate my flat. It arrived yesterday and looks fab. As well as decorating ideas it also has lots of practical advice which I wasn't expecting so that is a real bonus. Have now got another one as a house-warming pressie for a friend whose new place is in need of some TLC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of Inspiration, 21 Jan 2014
By 
J. White - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Interior Design Challenge - Decorate your home with style (Hardcover)
This is a terrific book to accompany the new BBC TV series. Full of ideas and design tips. This is a beautifully illustrated book which gives you practical help to achieve the design makeovers featured in the TV series. A really useful book for anyone inspired to do some redecorating or a home makeover. It also gives background about the houses and flats featured in the series. Lots of colourful ideas and inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great ideas and tips, 16 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Interior Design Challenge - Decorate your home with style (Hardcover)
I read a feature on a interior design/make-over in my weekend magazine for a big paper last week and really liked the information and detail that was given so ordered the book. Apparently there is a TV series on BBC2 that starts soon and this is the official accompanying book. I'm planning a major home makeover next month and was interested to see whether the book would be helpful. it did not disappoint. although the projects(case studies)featured in the book are based on the television series, the information and tips given in the book are completely independent of this. there is so much detail - from setting up a home office to tiling a wall, creating storage space, choosing worktops, upcycling furniture and accessories and even putting together a new kitchen on a budget. i really like that the case studies featured focus on houses from different periods of history - from the 1700s right through to the the 1960s. i've already started creating my own mood boards from some of the designers's tips in the book so that i can start planning my own makeover.
I'm intrigued to see what the television series will be like - it's a competition to see which contestant will design the best house makeover so will no doubt update my review after watching. But, as a standalone book on interior design advice, design and ideas, this book is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the TV Tie-in book for the BBC TWO Series, 2 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Great Interior Design Challenge - Decorate your home with style (Hardcover)
All of which is outlined in the book is intended to inspire the reader to work creatively with what they have. It is also attempting to create imaginings, for those undergoing any kind of redesigning project themselves, by using choices made by the amateur designers competing in the competition on TV, twinned with thought sharing and tips offered up by the field working experts. The aim is to do the best job of linking and recreating architectural styles from different time periods and geographical positioning, and helping readers to generate their own briefs in a way, using the book as a point of referencing. Much is conveyed in this well presented, well thought out book. Read a full independent review at tssreviews
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just the tv series., 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Interior Design Challenge - Decorate your home with style (Hardcover)
Although if you did see the recent series on BBC2 then you will recognise all the challenges but there is more to this book than just that. It takes you through simple DIY tasks and gives advice on layouts, colours etc and basic stuff like how to paint your walls. Now whilst it's a great book (and I wouldn't be without it) it would be of limited interest to those who make a habit of doing their own decorating/design - those people would probably have come across most of the contents before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interior Design Challenge, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Interior Design Challenge - Decorate your home with style (Hardcover)
Did not find it terribly clear - it is a good memo to remind me of the series which I thoroughly enjoyed. Would have liked to see something about the contestants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Interior Design Challenge - Decorate your home with style (Hardcover)
Great book to go with the series. Lots of useful tips. Good clear pictures too of rooms shown in the TV show and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Interior Design Challenge - Decorate your home with style (Hardcover)
Great book. Gives lots of ideas for interior designs. Great price and very quick delivery. Highly recommended. 5 star rated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars love the book despite the faults, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Interior Design Challenge - Decorate your home with style (Hardcover)
there's a lot of enjoyment and knowledge to be gleaned from this book. it's certainly a stylish and well presented affair. unlike other readers I'm not bothered by the lack of info on the designers that appeared in the show. for me that makes the reading better. the faults I think are it's snobbery, totally reflected in the brief overview of brutalism as a style, and I had hoped to have a bit more in depth cover of things like the actual colours, weaves, styles chosen by designers, not just blue, green, yellow, white, wood floor, ethnic, etc. and apart from the brief index at the back the shops to buy from are quite limited and show less imagination than I would expect from designers. maybe I give them to much credit. in the next series I'd like to see a bit more grit and realism, more normal housing that can be flipped to designer chic with more upcycling and scouring for cheap solutions to styling dilemmas. but it has to be said again I do like this book, a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Interior Design Challenge - Decorate your home with style
The Great Interior Design Challenge - Decorate your home with style by Katherine Sorrell (Hardcover - 20 Jan 2014)
13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews