Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome yet simple recipes from an awesome author who knows her stuff
5:2 Vegetarian by Celia Brooks is a handy sized recipe book which clearly states the number of calories per recipe which helps immensely when catering for many who are concerned about the food they eat. I particularly love the neat and short section on looking after vegetables, pulses and fruits. If you're wondering what to do with the courgette lying in the fridge, you...
Published 9 months ago by M. Malhi

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of lovely recipes but no pictures
For the price was expecting a book with colour pictures so a bit surprised not to have them. The recipes sound nice although as yet i have not tried them and I am looking forward to that. But my main gripe with the book is the printing. It looks faded in places . but i think it is the style as it is consistent throughout the book with some type in a less bold font which...
Published 9 months ago by Jacdotbee


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome yet simple recipes from an awesome author who knows her stuff, 26 Feb 2014
By 
M. Malhi (Uxbridge) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 5:2 Vegetarian: Over 100 Fuss-free & Flavourful Recipes for the Fasting Diet (Paperback)
5:2 Vegetarian by Celia Brooks is a handy sized recipe book which clearly states the number of calories per recipe which helps immensely when catering for many who are concerned about the food they eat. I particularly love the neat and short section on looking after vegetables, pulses and fruits. If you're wondering what to do with the courgette lying in the fridge, you can just return to the book to discover different and unusual ideas.
My favourites are the Thai Salad Wraps with Chargrilled Tofu, Vegetable and Chickpea Tagine and Creamy Mushroom Caps. I've got my menu sorted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book. Delicious recipes., 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5:2 Vegetarian: Over 100 Fuss-free & Flavourful Recipes for the Fasting Diet (Paperback)
I am delighted with this book. It is full of really tasty and easy recipes. Just what I was looking for to help me to attempt dieting. I am generally useless at diets but feel two days a week maybe just possible for me. Can't wait to get stuck in. 2014 will see me slimmer I fan feel it in my bones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb - tasty recipes and you WILL lose weight, 7 Jan 2014
This review is from: 5:2 Vegetarian: Over 100 Fuss-free & Flavourful Recipes for the Fasting Diet (Paperback)
I've been following Celia Brooks' 5:2 adventures on her blog and am happy to say I've lost over a stone already using her delicious recipe ideas. I'm thrilled her book is finally out. It's quite hard to find really good veggie recipes for the diet (not sure why? as Celia points out, the diet is really made for veggies) but here there are loads. More than anything I've found it quite simple to do and felt healthier and not at all deprived. It's really changed my mindset. Although there are no pictures in the book, it's easy to get a sense of the recipes as Celia describes them really well. And they all seem to be super simple to cook too. Buy this book, you certainly won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for fast and non fast days, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5:2 Vegetarian: Over 100 Fuss-free & Flavourful Recipes for the Fasting Diet (Paperback)
I have been a vegetarian for over 25 years. This has a good selection of recipes and those I have tried so far are quick, tasty and satisfying. Would recommend if you are doing the 5:2 but also if you just fancy including a few homemade vegetarian meals into your week. There are hints and tips how to use the recipes for non fasters. Don't be put off by lack of photos in the book, the food tastes great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, simple recipes, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5:2 Vegetarian: Over 100 Fuss-free & Flavourful Recipes for the Fasting Diet (Paperback)
Easy to follow but would be better if the recipes were grouped. Nice book, tasty food, lots of variety. My b/f nor I go hungry on diet days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of lovely recipes but no pictures, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5:2 Vegetarian: Over 100 Fuss-free & Flavourful Recipes for the Fasting Diet (Paperback)
For the price was expecting a book with colour pictures so a bit surprised not to have them. The recipes sound nice although as yet i have not tried them and I am looking forward to that. But my main gripe with the book is the printing. It looks faded in places . but i think it is the style as it is consistent throughout the book with some type in a less bold font which is quite small anyway but the overall effect makes it look like the ink is running out and it makes it hard to read and follow. Sorry but for a cookery book i want goot size print that I dont have to hold close to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Practical, easy to follow and healthy, 30 Jan 2014
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 5:2 Vegetarian: Over 100 Fuss-free & Flavourful Recipes for the Fasting Diet (Paperback)
I’m not trying to lose weight or a vegetarian, but I am always keen to find quick, easy, fuss-free and healthy recipes – and this book is good for that.

On the slightly negative side, there are no pictures of any of the dishes: ok this isn’t essential, but does act as an inspiration for me. There’s also a bit of padding at the start e.g. a chapter telling us that ‘essential equipment’ includes things like scales, different sized saucepans, measuring cups/spoons and even ‘other equipment’ like scissors and paper towels! I’m not a cheffy type but how basic would your kitchen and knowledge have to be for this ‘advice’ to be useful?

That niggle aside, the recipes are often interesting and definitely quick and easy to prepare. I especially like that they have notes on what is gluten-free and dairy-free so that you can see this at a glance, and the index is by ingredient, always handy if you have something in the fridge and are looking for an idea of what to do with it.

If you were following the 5:2 diet, this has calorie and other nutritional counts but for ‘normal’ eaters, we can just increase the portion sizes or add rice/potatoes/bread etc.

So if the thought of broad bean and basil purée, hot & sour tofu bowl, or minted chickpea soup make you salivate, this would be a practical, healthy and easy-to-follow recipe book.

(This review is from an ARC courtesy of the publisher)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a shame, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5:2 Vegetarian: Over 100 Fuss-free & Flavourful Recipes for the Fasting Diet (Paperback)
I have rated 2 stars only due to the poor printing and layout of the book only - the content is great
but some of the print is so faint it is really annoying to try and read it, at first I thought it was a printing error then I realised
it had a structure to it. Also do not like the way 2 different recipes share the same page, makes it a bit confusing.
Saying all that the recipes look very tempting and well thought out just a shame about the presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Diet book, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5:2 Vegetarian: Over 100 Fuss-free & Flavourful Recipes for the Fasting Diet (Paperback)
I have already lost half a stone on this diet. I don't feel hungry at all. Remember to not eat too much on the other days that you don't diet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I use this all the time, 26 Feb 2014
By 
floyd (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5:2 Vegetarian: Over 100 Fuss-free & Flavourful Recipes for the Fasting Diet (Paperback)
This is the best 5:2 book I've used (out of six). The recipes are interesting and tasty. This is a book for people who can cook, usually, but just need a bit of inspiration. I love it. And I lost a stone in 5 weeks ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

5:2 Vegetarian: Over 100 Fuss-free & Flavourful Recipes for the Fasting Diet
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews