Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TDF = Top Dog Froome
In reviewing this book I have to separate my 5* admiration for this classy man from a book about him. It's a decent, timely bio but lacks involvement from Chris as all his quotes seem to be lifted from the press, twitter and blogs hence I cant quite give the book 5 stars.

It's a very good story though. It's remarkable that Chris made it to pro given the...
Published 16 months ago by Sydneysider

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed!
Great to read a bit of background into where he came from!
Needs a bit of an update now that he won the 2013 Tour - but guess that's already underway?
Published 15 months ago by steve farrington


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TDF = Top Dog Froome, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In reviewing this book I have to separate my 5* admiration for this classy man from a book about him. It's a decent, timely bio but lacks involvement from Chris as all his quotes seem to be lifted from the press, twitter and blogs hence I cant quite give the book 5 stars.

It's a very good story though. It's remarkable that Chris made it to pro given the anti-help of the Kenyan authorities. Bizarre. So it's no surprise Chris chose to go with his British ancestry. Lucky britain and no wonder they said "hands off he's ours". After reading this bio I think Chris might be THE modern british cycling hero.

There is of course some narrative about what happened with Wiggins in the 2012 tdf but without Chris' own uncensored explanation we still don't quite know for sure but I am left thinking that Chris might have been stronger but that his inconsistency (due to a nasty parasitic infection) made him - at that time - an understandably tough choice over Wiggo.

On that note Chris has such a different story to Wiggins who benefited from massive guidance and support. There is no doubting who wins the "eee, it were tough when I were a lad" competition. In fact the more I think about it since reading this book the more astonishing and wonderful it is that Chris made it. He must just be a ton of talent and strength - mentally and physically.

After reading this book I understand where Chris' independence, free thinking and ability to fight solo comes from. I think the book paints a clear picture of the sort of person he is. Christopher Froome doesn't seem like a complicated character but he is a very special one - a gentleman with a killer instinct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating story, very well told, 22 July 2013
By 
catherine (Hartlepool, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book for the first time just before the Tour de France 2013 began, and the second time during the later stages and the finale of the race, which as we all know Chris Froome won. I had never heard of Froome before he came second in the Vuelta in 2011, but he looked a very exciting prospect who was being held back by Team Sky in order that Bradley Wiggins should be the first British winner of a Grand Tour. He learned a lot from watching Wiggins win the Tour de France in 2012 but you could see he was itching to be let loose as team leader himself.

Froome has just won the most exciting Tour de France for quite some time, and it is the fascinating juxtaposition of his very mild mannered, easy going public persona, with his inner aggression and determination to win, which contributed to the quality of the race, and which is brought out in this book. He was unfailingly polite during his press conferences during the Tour, even when the Press were only interested in accusing him of doping, yet when some unruly spectators threatened to knock him off his bike with their ill-timed enthusiasm, he had no hesitation in knocking them out of his way.

I loved this book, it was easy to read and very informative about a man who is still an enigma to most of us. His early life, formative influences and the amazing chain of events which brought Froome onto the European cycling scene, and eventually to the attention of Team Sky are fascinatingly told. I really enjoyed reading the book as a counterpoint to watching the Tour, and felt like I got even more out of watching Froome win because I now know his story. Naturally, the book does not include this year's Tour, but I hope it will be updated to do so, and to properly celebrate a thrilling rider who has the courage to stand up to his critics in the Press and among the public, and who will hopefully lead cycling into a new era of clean performance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Eye opening, especially in light of his condition - what else could he have acheived by now?, 22 Oct 2014
This review is from: Va Va Froome: The Remarkable Rise of Chris Froome (Tour de France Edition) (Paperback)
Interesting read, particularly Froome's early life and riding experiences. Its clear he's massively talented, but also how he's had to play catch up with his european counterparts who for his first few seasons found him a bit of a naive liability!
His first few seasons were incredibily frustrating with bursts of form followed by poor results. however when back in Africa he was diagnosed with bilharzia - a form of parasitic tapeworm that feeds on human blood!
Essentially Froome had been riding as an anaemic! It's incredible he managed to ride as well as he did, now treated (although it occasionally comes back) we're seeing the real Froome with his spectacular results from 2011 onwards.
The book covers some aspects of the 'falling out' with Wiggins on the 2012 tour, but it doesn't dwell on it and concentrates on the 2013 tour victory for the last chapters. If he keeps healthy then the chances are Sky will build teams around Froome for the foreseeable. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An industry insight, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This gives a view of professional riding world and of the rise of Chris rise in that sport. Worthy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great story, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought the book was a bit slow to start but after that I couldn't put it down. Froome is a remarkable and likeable character. This book is a must for any cycling fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exposing, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Va Va Froome: The Remarkable Rise of Chris Froome (Tour de France Edition) (Paperback)
It is good to read about his formative years in Africa. We have little knowledge of african cycling here. But are not all champions from hard backgrounds i.e not spoonfed?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good read for a cycling fan, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really interesting and an insight to the team tactics and hard work put in by one of our favourite cyclists
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We'll written, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book easy to read for one of its genre. Tells you a lot about the man can't convince myself we should be calling him British. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed!, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great to read a bit of background into where he came from!
Needs a bit of an update now that he won the 2013 Tour - but guess that's already underway?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understanding Chris Froome and his meteoric rise to TDF winner, 29 July 2013
By 
I bought this book just before the TDF and read it during the race because I knew so little about the man, yet I was certain he had a very good chance of winning. It is a very good read which gives a real insight into how he nearly did not make it to the top. In fact Sky were about to not renew his contract because although he'd shown flashes of brilliance he was not at all consistent. Bilharzia plagued his life and until it was discovered and treated his results were very ordinary. He then needed a huge amount of help from Sky just to learn to race properly as he was hopeless at pacing himself and was not very organised. He helped Wiggins win the TDF in 2012 but I believe he would not have been ready to carry the burden of the yellow jersey himself. He would have learnt so much and that is why along with his tremendous talent he won the centenary TDF. Froome will go on and win so much more now and I really hope he stays with Sky and proves to the British public that he really is a true Brit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Va Va Froome: The Remarkable Rise of Chris Froome (Tour de France Edition)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews