Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The inside story of one of England's greatest sporting triumphs
This is a very impressive account of the unique approach to management that Woodward brought to the England job. The style is vigorous and pacy and a welter of interesting background detail is unobtrusively woven into the narrative. It is something of a challenge to pull off a hybrid between a straight account of a sporting campaign and a study of management and...
Published 7 months ago by T. D. Johnstone

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A unique event relived
Largely consisted of extracts from other books instead of original thinking though the topic was enthralling. Came across as disjointed
Published 5 months ago by John C


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The inside story of one of England's greatest sporting triumphs, 22 Nov 2013
By 
T. D. Johnstone (Roslin, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a very impressive account of the unique approach to management that Woodward brought to the England job. The style is vigorous and pacy and a welter of interesting background detail is unobtrusively woven into the narrative. It is something of a challenge to pull off a hybrid between a straight account of a sporting campaign and a study of management and organisational techniques, but the author achieves this triumphantly and it turns out to be a thrilling read. All the background detail about Woodward's previous career and personality breathes life into aspects of management that would otherwise be dry and technical. The analysis of how Woodward works and gets his players to respond is absolutely fascinating.

Though, as other reviewers have said,the style is at times almost novelistic like other books in this genre like The Damned United, this makes for great readability, while in the author in fact sticks closely and accurately to what is actually on the record.

Bringing it out to coincide with the tenth anniversary of the World Cup win is an excellent move, as it makes available to fans, players and coaches the inside story of the planning, the dedicated professionalism and the personalities that lie behind one of England's greatest sporting triumphs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, sweet memories!, 30 Jan 2014
Peter Burns has re-awoken memories and feelings from an all too distant past with a fantastically written account of the Clive Woodward years. Factual but very readable, this book will take you back to a period of rugby when English fans looked forward to each international with ever increasing excitement and anticipation and a feeling of not 'will we win' as that became (almost) a given, but by how much will we win and how stylish will the win be? The backroom insights and analysis so skilfully woven into a fast paced and emotional text tell the tale of England’s most successful and dominant period in the game and leave you wondering how did it all go wrong so quickly after 2003? This book should be compulsory reading for all employees of the RFU. Let's hope that England Rugby provides Peter with some decent material for a follow up in the not to distant future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good England rugby book, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an interesting book. It pulls together a variety of sources and explains the England journey to the rugby world cup 2003
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for all sports fans, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a phenomenal book with great attention to detail. I cannot recommend it highly enough to anyone who is a true sports fan. The story highlights the environment created for England Rugby to become one of the most elite sports team on the planet and the rollercoaster ride to the summit. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 23 Nov 2013
This review is from: White Gold: England's Journey to Rugby World Cup Glory (Hardcover)
Written with energy and enthusiasm, White Gold brings to life the England team's journey in the years leading up to the 2003 World Cup. When Clive Woodward was appointed as England manager he introduced a new way of coaching and a new style of playing to the team - a move that was difficult but ultimately worth it. This book explores his influences and inspirations, and includes scientific analysis of coaching techniques as well as players' potential genetic and biological advantages. But this is not a dry sports book - the dedication and work all involved with the England squad put in is staggering, and we go through each emotional success and failure with them in the lead-up to the World Cup. The game descriptions are vivid and and the rundown of the final between England and Australia is dramatic and, even though we know how it ends, somehow full of suspense! I really loved this and highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings it all back, 22 Nov 2013
This review is from: White Gold: England's Journey to Rugby World Cup Glory (Hardcover)
Memories of England's World Cup triumph came flooding back when I read this fascinating account. It wasn't just the dramatic final that gripped my attention but the way Woodward plotted his campaign in the years preceding was utterly engrossing. The writing style adopts techniques more commonly used in fiction to good effect giving the narrative drama and immediacy.
A great read and I'd thoroughly recommend any England supporter and indeed any fan of sport to buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing back golden memories, 22 Nov 2013
This review is from: White Gold: England's Journey to Rugby World Cup Glory (Hardcover)
Can't believe it's been a decade since we saw those boys in white make our dreams come true! Just finished White Gold, and it's simply one of the best sports books I've ever read, never mind rugby books.
Without getting too technical and wordy, it's a great in-depth analysis of how Woodward's dream team triumphed against the Ozzies, and it brings back memories of those incredibly tense matches in breath-taking detail - will we ever see the likes again? I hope so!
Buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignites the memories., 21 Nov 2013
This review is from: White Gold: England's Journey to Rugby World Cup Glory (Hardcover)
Up there with the best sports books I've read (and I've read the lot!). A real achievement. Really tugs on the heart strings and brings the memories of that wonderful day flooding back.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely outstanding, 5 Nov 2013
This review is from: White Gold: England's Journey to Rugby World Cup Glory (Hardcover)
Reading this constantly sent shivers down my spine - it is one of the best sports books I've ever read. It looks at a very well-known story in a way that it's never been told before and the style of the writing is utterly compelling - there is a mix of interview material, traditional sports history and biography mixed in with novelised scenes which bring an incredible immediacy to the story and makes it a page-turner all the way through. I can't recommend this highly enough. Magnificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good read. Highly recommended to any sports or rugby fan. If you want to know the background to the 2003 World Cup win then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White Gold: England's Journey to Rugby World Cup Glory
White Gold: England's Journey to Rugby World Cup Glory by Peter Burns (Hardcover - 22 Nov 2013)
£11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews