Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read
Really enjoyed this. Takes you back to 99, with a view from the modern era. Genuinely loads of laugh out loud bits too. Definitely buy even if you're not a united fan...
Published 11 months ago by balding eagle

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great in parts, endurance reading in others
I gave it three stars because while there are things that I feel stopped it being a great book, I also enjoyed reading significant parts of it and am still glad I read it.

What I disliked most about the book is that there is too much written about match events, sometimes 4 or 5 pages at a time and I found myself glancing ahead to find out when it would end. Too...
Published 8 months ago by Declan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 7 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Promised Land: Manchester United's Historic Treble (Paperback)
Really enjoyed this. Takes you back to 99, with a view from the modern era. Genuinely loads of laugh out loud bits too. Definitely buy even if you're not a united fan...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great in parts, endurance reading in others, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Promised Land: Manchester United's Historic Treble (Paperback)
I gave it three stars because while there are things that I feel stopped it being a great book, I also enjoyed reading significant parts of it and am still glad I read it.

What I disliked most about the book is that there is too much written about match events, sometimes 4 or 5 pages at a time and I found myself glancing ahead to find out when it would end. Too much written about who passed to whom, and in what minute, and what direction they were facing and where they were standing when they received the ball. It just felt like long match reports at times. I understand that sometimes, this detail can be important (Giggs receiving the ball from a stray pass from Vieira), but most of the time, it is just tedious detail.

On the other hand, where the book discusses details such as players' relationships with each other, significant interviews and reasoning behind Ferguson's team selections and impact on the team and the season, I thought these were great. These details became more and more important as the book went on and I found the book a much easier read in the final third as compared to previously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, well written, will appeal to all football fans, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Promised Land: Manchester United's Historic Treble (Paperback)
I bought this for my husband and will now be buying several copies for friends and families...what an easy Christmas this will be! Hubby said this was a great read, very funny and so well researched. he is quite a tough crowd, so trust me when I say that you can feel safe in buying this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A love of language and a love of United. Brilliant,, 29 Oct 2013
By 
T. Pattison (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Promised Land: Manchester United's Historic Treble (Paperback)
Ferguson. Unless you've been living under a rock for the last week it you could be forgiven for feeling like our legendary boss never left us. The media circus has been as depressing as it has been predictable. Coverage has centred on feuds; public and private, settled and unsettled. At the risk of sounding like Roy Maurice, it all feels unseemly and unnecessary. Autobiographies are commonly guilty of falling into the Father Ted Golden Cleric approach - 'you doubted me but look where I am now.' When it works it can be magnificent (Diego Maradona), but often it leaves an unedifying impression of the writer (Andy Cole). I'm hoping Fergie's falls into the former category. Of course I will read it - I'm starting it today - but for those of a red persuasion a potentially more satisfying read may have slipped under your radar.

Daniel Harris will be known to British readers as a writer for the Guardian; most recently drawing acclaim and ire for an honest/treacherous article raiding concerns about Moyes performance thus far. He secured a place in the hearts of United fans with his excellent blog turned book account of 2009/10 season. The Manchester United literary genre is saturated with anodyne musings but Harris made his mark by fusing three elements; love for the club, searing honesty and sardonic wit. I loved it, so news of a new tome focusing on the greatest nine months in the history of sport was cause for celebration.

Regular listeners to the pod (hello to the pair of you) and readers of my spiel (same two again) will be familiar with my Bill Murray tendencies to wallow in the treble campaign like a hog in wet soil. In 'The Promised Land' Harris takes us through that most remarkable of seasons month by month. To dismiss the book as a basic season review would be an injustice but I do think there is a lot to be said for the simple narrative approach. To impose a David Winner style abstract approach would dilute the experience as momentum builds towards the much vaunted climax. Large tracts of the book are essentially match reports where Harris delights in demonstrating his love of language - passes are 'tickled', shots are 'welted' and ankles are 'rapped' (inevitably by Scholes). A sad casualty of the saturation of football coverage has been the match report. Why should you pore over written description when you can witness instant visuals on your smart phone? Pleasingly Harris harks back to a simpler time and the book is all the richer for it. My advice is read the book, then relive the action through the Treble DVD. Shining throughout is the humour inherent in football - and no I don't mean 'banter.' Opportunities are embraced to make not so subtle digs at targets from Martin Tyler to Martin Edwards and everything in between. A healthy contempt for Liverpool football club is ever present.

Arguably the greatest strength of the book is the unashamed love of the club. No attempt is made to appear the impartial football journalist and instead the feeling is of a shared experience with a like mind. The men who redefined what could be achieved in the modern era are rightly held in the highest esteem; yet with the exception of Keane and Scholes such reverence never crosses into hero worship. The vanity and egos of Schmeichel, Sheringham and even Ferguson are addressed. When covering such a well trodden subject matter the small details become increasingly important and seemingly minor references such as Blomqvist's self-doubt become the most memorable the book. A criticism I would make is the failure to elaborate on such matters. An understandable decision to keep momentum I accept, but it left me frustrated that asides such as the complex relationship between Goalkeeper and Captain went unexplored. It certainly isn't a perfect work; the passages pulled from Neville and Keane's own books risked becoming repetitive, and the references to the current era felt clunky and shoe-horned in.

Overall a brilliant work that places the reader in the thick of the action whilst gaining insight into the foibles and motivations of the actors involved. Given my pride in knowing 'everything' about my most treasured season of triumph I was surprised how much I learned without feeling bombarded with trivia. In fact his work is anything but trivial. I would love to hear how younger fans who didn't experience the season first hand feel about the book. How effective the book is as a first encounter with the events of those unrivalled nine months I cannot evaluate, but as a trip down memory lane it made for a hugely enjoyable week. Now where did I put that DVD....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A superb book about the greatest season that Manchester United has ever has great detail about the games that were played

Great quotes by the players and manager involved and also the author's observation about Martin Tyler's reactions .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Football Writing, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Promised Land: Manchester United's Historic Treble (Paperback)
This book manages to be both heavily laden with football insight and information, and at the same time highly readable. Harris provides insights and anecdotes that take you back to the 98-99 season and bring it alive once again. This is a "must have" for any real United fan, and greatly appreciated even by those who are not ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the glory days, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Promised Land: Manchester United's Historic Treble (Paperback)
Reliving the glory days is always fun, especially when someone like Harris does it. He often makes it better than you remember it yourself and his added anecdotes/trivia make sure you are the most knowledgeable United fan in the pub. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top author, 24 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Promised Land: Manchester United's Historic Treble (Paperback)
An excellent book with a completely unique angle on a crucial period in United's history. Daniel Harris grasps the angle of players and fans alike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a season, what a book, 11 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book taking you through all the twists and turns of a truly magnificent season for united.

Harris has a good writing style that brings the memories of some of the great matches back including Liverpool in the fa cup, juventus in champions league, fa cup semi final and last but by no means least the final in the Nou Camp.

A must for all united fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 4 July 2014
This review is from: The Promised Land: Manchester United's Historic Treble (Paperback)
As advertised. Content with purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Promised Land: Manchester United's Historic Treble
The Promised Land: Manchester United's Historic Treble by Daniel Harris (Paperback - 26 Sep 2013)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews