Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars23
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£25.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 January 2014
I received "Jewel in the Glen" as a gift but would have purchased it anyway, being a golf enthusiast. A wonderful book to have. The author's report of his interviews and anecdotes gathered from all the greats in the game and from golf administrators really captures the imagination and flavour of the Ryder Cup, culminating in a very informative history of previous encounters. A most enjoyable read and a must-have for every golfer.

T.B. Saunders
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
What an amzing gift this is for any sports fan. With some inspired writing, quotes and pictures this book will provide any sports fan with a great insight into the Ryder Cup and Gleneagles. The author's passion for golf and Gleneagles shines through as the reader is taken on an armchair tour of this wonderful course and histrorical competition. A must for anyone interested in golf, Gleneagles, the Ryder Cup or sport. A gem of a book!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
The Ryder Cup will bring an almost unprecedented year for Scotland to a close in 2014. As one of the great sporting spectacles of our age, "Jewel in the Glen" manages to whet the appetite, were it ever needed, for what will be a very special tournament on a very special golf course. With effortless writing, fascinating photographs and an engaging array of golf and Scottish sporting greats, the author guides us through the history of Gleneagles and the Ryder Cup, and the profound impact both have had on Scotland and beyond. The format is very accessible whether you are looking to read cover-to-cover, dip in and out the countless curious and wonderful photographs and stories, or fact check and reference some great golfing or Gleneagles trivia.

"Jewel in the Glen" is an essential read for 2014 if you have the slightest interest in golf, Gleneagles or the Ryder Cup. If it needs any further endorsement, Scotland's First Minister Alex Salmond recently listed this book as his book of the year! High, and worthy, praise indeed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
After talking to the author, buying a ticket for the first day of the Ryder Cup and reading the book, I am more excited than ever about my visit to Gleneagles in September.

Although English I have a great affiliation with Scotland through a Scottish Mother, going to university in Scotland and working there for a time. My parents lived in nearby Dunblane and my Dad was a member of Gleneagles in the 1970's when annual membership was less than $100!

This beautifully-written book will inspire anyone planning to attend the Ryder Cup or those less fortunate to pay a visit to Gleneagles at another time.

I particularly enjoyed the very local flavour provided by the author from his experience of living close by, the interviews with major golfing personalities, professional and otherwise, and sharing the excitement of what the Ryder Cup will mean both locally and nationally in 2014 and beyond.

Well done Ed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
As someone with more than a passing interest in golf, Gleneagles and the ryder cup, I bought this book with a great sense of anticipation. If anything, the product exceeded my expectations. It provides a fabulous insight into the history of the great tournament which is the ryder cup and sets the scene perfectly for this year's tournament, which just happens to be back at beautiful gleneagles. Filled with interesting anecdotes from the good and great of scottish and world golf along with stunning photography, this is simply a must for any self respecting golf fan! Do yourself or someone else a favour - buy it now!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
It is just like it says on the cover - a jewel of a book. I have read Jewel in the Glen and it is excellently written. Full of interesting facts and photographs. Ed Hodge has a very easy style and has done a huge amount of research for Jewel in the Glen. There are some memorable quotes from a multitude of golf greats and those who just love the game of golf. It is not just a book about Gleneagles, it sets the scene for the whole 2014 Ryder Cup starting with a chapter on the stunning victory at Medinah. I think Jack Nicklaus will have enjoyed it too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
The Ryder Cup at Gleneagles this year will be a special event in the Scottish golfing calendar, I would strongly advise all golfers to purchase the "Jewel in the Glen" book, it gives such a great insight in to a very special venue / competition. Ed presents the information in an easy to read format With a plethora of great photographs. Do yourself a favour and give it a read, I couldn't put it down!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2014
This book offers a bright and fascinating insight into both the Ryder Cup and The fabulous course at Gleneagles. Written by someone who is almost an insider at Gleneagles and drenched with input from Golf's royalty.
A glittering read for anyone with even a slight interest in the game and it's most famous venue.
Size and weight make it an especially good present.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
This book is jam packed with golfing legends past and present. Beautifully written and with gorgeous photographs of the Ryder Cup 2014 venue, PGA Tour stars and notable celebrities. If you're looking for the perfect gift for the golf lover in your life, look no further - it's an essential read for golfers and sports fans alike! [...]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
If you love golf, if you love Gleneagles or if you love the Ryder Cup (or know someone that does), then buy this book! Brilliant insight into the origins of the biennial golfing competiton and also some great memories of pro-celebrity golf and some of the best Scottish Opens ever held. Superb read with some amazing photos.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)