Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2013
Loved this book & found it very informative as a handy guide. No, it doesn't cover absolutely everything, & some people will quibble over what was included vs what was left out, but it's not supposed to be an exhaustive guide - more a beginner's primer to impart the basic & inspire further investigation.

One small annoyance though is that there were occasional links to a special section of the Classic FM website set up associated with the book, with download links & more info, & this no longer exists. I understand that eventually webpages will be considered outdated & no longer necessary, but it's only been a year since the book was first published - surely a little soon to retire resources?
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2012
Having dabbled, bought Cds, gone to concerts and listened to Classical FM as quite a novice to classical music but throughly captivated by it this book was a really good way to get a bit deeper and gain further background and understanding. Even for me some parts were more basic than I expected but overall I found it a good read and well worth the outlay.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2012
To the question:'Should any novice interested in classical music purchase this book?' the answer would be a definite 'Yes'. A great deal of concise information is included in this quick reference book even if a lot more is missing. We are not talking about digesting an encyclopedia here: reading this book is like using a road map i.e. spotting landmarks at a glance without wasting time on the tourist sites to visit. This type of information can be gleaned later at a leisurely pace and as the mood takes you. Overall, a great enjoyable acquisition, which will undoubtedly lead me to many more relating to the diving realm of classical music.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2012
Brilliant book bought for my son-in-law. He now listens to classic fm and understands more about the words and information that is spoken about.

Easy to read, good reference book and lots of very intesting facts about the composers.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
A well written book entirely suitable for someone like me who enjoys a limited range of classical music but knew little of its history and less about terms used in discussing it. I particularly liked the recommended listening under each composer listed and will certainly try to listen to many of these recommendations. Ideally, I would have liked a little more on technical terms and a little less on suggested venues - a section I did not find so useful.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
This is a book that is what it says it is but in my opinion not a book for people who play or have studied music. A good informative book for the uninformed.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
It does what it says in the title and advertising material. It explains the ABC of classical music concisely but in an interesting style. I enjoyed it as well as finding it interesting and helpful.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
I am a recent convert to Classical FM radio. The book is just what I needed to help understand classical music rather than just listen to it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
My mother in law has absolutely loved this book. It was a request of hers for her birthday pressie and she is really enjoying it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2012
Title says it all. Very informative for newcomers to classical music and self confessed buffs as well.Easy to read with well laid out format.Understandable terminology.Some excellent reference charts .
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)