Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful
As a fan of EFB I thoroughly enjoyed this third offering from GFS.

I am just extremely happy that someone has taken the time to study the original writing style and characters and enabled me to return to Tilling again for more adventures.

I particularly like the way that actual circumstances like Bridge tournaments, Fetes, and nights at the Opera...
Published 4 months ago by Havoc

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A curate's egg.
More adventures in Tilling. It's clever and witty with some good comic moments and the characters are satisfactorily brought to life but surely, in the original E.F. Benson novels, things never became quite so vindictive. Riseholme and Tilling were extremely civilised little societies - this is the point - and the many rivalries were conducted with mutual enjoyment and...
Published 5 months ago by Processor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It can't end like this, 16 July 2014
By 
Gary Gallagher (Portrush, Antrim United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Au Reservoir: A new Mapp and Lucia novel (Paperback)
Guy, if you read this review then let me just say to you, that this was your best and got the closest to the original residents of Tilling, I loved every minute of it until the end. I could see it coming and I cried, I am a grown man, 40 odd in years and have never in my life cried over a book before and I feel devastated, the pace of the book was perfect and I think that is what made the end so hard to take. I do not think even in fiction, that anyone even your good self Sir, who has done a lot for Mapp & Lucia fans has the right to end like that and what makes it harder, was to deprive Lucia of the honour she wanted so much. Mapp, Lucia and the residents of Tilling are our friends and should be timeless and live for ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dull, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Au Reservoir (Kindle Edition)
Found this hard going and pretty boring.Didn't like any of the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Au Reservoir: A new Mapp and Lucia novel (Paperback)
LOVE ORIGINAL NOVELS THIS IS THE BEST OF THE 3 NEW NOVEL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars But it made me cry, 4 Jun 2014
By 
Avril (Cinderford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Au Reservoir (Kindle Edition)
Guy Fraser-Sampson has been very well able to echo Mr Benson's style, and all the characters retain their personalities, nothing jars. But oh dear the end.............. I suppose inevitable, but so sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Luciaphiles beware!, 11 July 2014
This review is from: Au Reservoir: A new Mapp and Lucia novel (Paperback)
As a great fan of the original books and Tom Holt`s follow-ups, I was so looking forward to reading this book when I found it but what a disappointment. The author spent much of his time going on about happenings in Tilling long before the war (perhaps just to show he had read the originals). The characters lacked spark and humour and dare I mention that he actually kills off Lucia - so no-one can write any more books. And why do the ladies on the front cover wear 1930s fashions when the book is set post war? Even Tilling must have had their version of the New Look!

Sorry - this is one for the charity shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Au Reservoir (Kindle Edition)
Sad to see lucia go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Au Reservoir (Kindle Edition)
Very good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Au Reservoir: A new Mapp and Lucia novel
Au Reservoir: A new Mapp and Lucia novel by Guy Fraser-Sampson (Paperback - 27 Mar 2014)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews