Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars40
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 September 2013
Loved this book though daunted at reviewing it in case my recent immersion in Journalese causes the odd word to slip in to my review. But review it I must because I want everyone to read it as it adds such a lot to your daily newspaper read. Unbelievable how many of these words/phrases appear everyday once you start to look for them. Difficult book to read in company e.g. my commute, as I constantly wanted to read whole sections to my fellow commuters! Partly to explain my laughing aloud!

A great read, a great Christmas present (anyone being given this book for Christmas would be flattered that you were letting them in on the secret)and great for the imaginative Scrabble player!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
A purchased this because of a recommendation from a friend, my friend was very right in the fact that I would enjoy it. I have always been fascinated by some of the odd language we encounter during our day to day lives. Journalists manage to hide some very odd and interesting language in plain sight, this book highlights exactly what they are trying to say.

You will read this book and smirk to yourself (if you have a sense of humour) when you come across much of the language when reading the papers the next day. Well written and a pleasure to read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
An excellent insight into why journalists use the language the way they do and what they really mean. A great way to while away a wet afternoon
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
Very funny book for anyone who takes more than a passing interest in the art of journalism. I would have thought this would be particularly well devoured by working journos thanks to the sprinkling of inside jokes.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
Very amusing and enlightening eplanation of newspaper speak. The little hardback is so well laid out, itis easy to pick up and dip into. Great, liked it a lot.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 25 August 2015
Fritz Spiegel did this over thirty years ago in "Keep Taking the Tabloids" (second hand copies still available on Amazon).

It is amazing how much that he noted in 1983 is still true - in the red top tabloids (and nowhere else) people still "quaff" alcoholic drinks and "munch" food; police still "swoop" (or "pounce" if they were there already).

This is a handy and entertaining update on the theme, but it isn't original.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
Very funny, but possibly a little entre nous. Romps Tots and Boffins also has the merit of being true - and the little observations are quite clever. As Robert says, foreign Correspondents, for example don't ever just drop in where they've been on their travels, they mention it in the context of saying something entirely different. Well spotted Robert, I can see you've been to those parties where foreign corrs. relentless expound their 'when I' stories to one another. rb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
A really interesting commentary on the language used by journalists. Well worth reading. The chapters are themed, e.g. Politics, Sex, Death etc. and after a little introductory bit there are then a set of definitions for each of the terms. As well as being informative there is also a sense of humour to it and several of the entries made me chuckle out loud as I read them.

Definitely worth a read if you have an interest in language.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
Very worthy of my 5 sta rating.Absolutely fascinating A good insight into the working world of the journalist word usage
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
Nifty, brief and powerful writing that isn't meant to be anything other than a succinct digest. Helpful for media students and teachers without personal experience of the paper news world and its view: maybe the acerbic humour born of the media warfare state of mind may not be understood at first glance but I can sadly assure you it's genuine.
Kindle format works best in portrait setting and index is handy and functional.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)