Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Incisive and an entertaining read
"'Coffers' – where organisations of which we disapprove keep their money"

Hutton has cleverly identified the way that newspapers use language (often language never found outside of newspapers) to suit their agenda, and provides an entertaining guide to decoding it. A great book to dive into occasionally, especially when irritated with the media...
Published 14 months ago by Chalfont

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Liked it, but...
...it was very short. I had imagined more about each word, but after an initial discussion it lapsed into lists.
Published 7 months ago by Jill


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Incisive and an entertaining read, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"'Coffers' – where organisations of which we disapprove keep their money"

Hutton has cleverly identified the way that newspapers use language (often language never found outside of newspapers) to suit their agenda, and provides an entertaining guide to decoding it. A great book to dive into occasionally, especially when irritated with the media! So always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The journey of journalese, 28 Sep 2013
This review is from: Romps, Tots and Boffins: The Strange Language of News (Hardcover)
I rarely take time out of my day to write a review on amazon but I must say this book is well worth picking up, if not for yourself then as a great stocking filler!

I never really gave much thought into the origin of phrases such as 'mad cow disease' or the fact that the scientific term may be something different.

Also love the fact that the language of journalese is never complete. I constantly find myself coming up with new phrases which I will be sure to pass onto Robert Hutton for volume II.

Get buying people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, educational and very funny, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romps, Tots and Boffins: The Strange Language of News (Hardcover)
Any follower of news is going to instantly resonate with Rob Hutton's brilliant explanation of the language of newspapers.

This is an affectionate book, written by an insider who clearly loves journalism while being highly attuned to its oddities and idiosyncrasies. The result is both illuminating and extremely funny. I laughed out loud on nearly every page.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly funny, 10 Oct 2013
By 
R. Symes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I cried with laughter at Rob Hutton's best definitions of journalists' words. Romps, Tots and Boffins is very clever and very funny. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romps, Tots and Boffins, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely fantastic. So so accurate, been waiting ages for a book like this covering something that's irritated me for years.
Brilliant

I certainly wont be jamming any hotlines or launching a foul mouthed tirade!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every journalist should read this, 29 Oct 2013
This review is from: Romps, Tots and Boffins: The Strange Language of News (Hardcover)
This is simply the funniest book on journalism I've ever read and every journalist should read it.

If you are a journalist or a media studies student, buy it. If you love a journalist, buy it for them. If neither apply, I think it'll still make you laugh - and probably horrify you in places too.

Hutton has a brilliant ear for the language of news and an insider's knowledge of how newspapers work. So this is not just an exhaustive list of journalists' jargon: every definition is funny because it exposes, in our own words, the arcane or hyperbolic vocab we use to turn something into a story.

The book is divided into lots of short sections covering every part of a paper - from crime to the Royals to sport. This makes it very dippable, although I read it straight through in two sittings, thrilled to recognise my tribal language.

Can't recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 26 Jan 2014
By 
Claretta (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a great little book - if you are a regular reader of any British newspaper (not just the tabloids) you'll find yourself hooting with laughter at the accuracy of its observations. Well done Rob Hutton; a clever and original idea, beautifully executed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and spot-on accurate, 16 Nov 2013
By 
Annik Lamotte (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romps, Tots and Boffins: The Strange Language of News (Hardcover)
This is a very well-written and interesting book. I'm an ex-journalist and so it had a very special significance for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars never read a headline without a snort of derision again., 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romps, Tots and Boffins: The Strange Language of News (Hardcover)
Loved this witty,revealing little book. Wish it was longer. This book is not for reading in one go, it would be over and done with in no time. Dip in and out, go back to it, read that bit again. A perfect bog book.

Clever Mr Hutton, lets have another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining romps, 25 Nov 2013
An excellent insight into why journalists use the language the way they do and what they really mean. A great way to while away a wet afternoon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Romps, Tots and Boffins: The Strange Language of News
Romps, Tots and Boffins: The Strange Language of News by Robert Hutton (Hardcover - 19 Sep 2013)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews