Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping story of a great boxing era
Well worth a read. I love boxing and also the history of London and the East End, so this was a particularly interesting set of stories. Some well known names, notably Sammy McCarthy, Albert Carroll, and Sid Nathan, plus several others that I hadn't been familiar with, but all with a story to tell. The stories give a great insight into a bygone era, tougher times,...
Published 10 months ago by John Gray

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boxing readers must get this book.
A great book,individual stories of each boxer is certainly good with life in that era, tough times for all of them,got to be read by boxing fans. J H J
Published 7 months ago by J H J


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping story of a great boxing era, 17 Jun. 2014
By 
John Gray (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well worth a read. I love boxing and also the history of London and the East End, so this was a particularly interesting set of stories. Some well known names, notably Sammy McCarthy, Albert Carroll, and Sid Nathan, plus several others that I hadn't been familiar with, but all with a story to tell. The stories give a great insight into a bygone era, tougher times, different attitudes. I could hardly put the book down, and finished it all too quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have item for anyone with an interest in British boxing history., 24 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighting Men of London: Voices from Inside the Ropes (Hardcover)
This is one of the great books written on classic-era British boxing (the book covers from 1930s to 1960s).
Although it advertises itself as a book of "seven very different tales" (each based around a different boxer) it kind of sells itself short a little in that description as there are many mini-bio's of other boxers within those seven stories. We are given the brief background history on names like Frank Johnson, Spider Kelly, Tommy Molloy, Albert Finch...all common household names on the British boxing scene of the day...even Roy Ankrah from the Gold Coast (who fought Sammy McCarthy).
The Book really sets the scene and captures the feel of the era, in descriptions of venues and the boxers lives outside of the ring. A good portion of this book is narrated by the seven main subjects themselves, making it almost a mini-autobiography of each, their lives before their boxing careers and also their lives after it are covered, an amazing amount of information is crammed in here.
The author of this book has done a wonderful job, it is a book which can stand beside any other book on British boxing of that era. There also is a facebook page which is a great compliment to readers of the book as it has photo's, newspaper articles, and even video interviews with the surviving subjects of the book.
In my own library of classic boxing literature, it is definitely one of the standouts, which i find myself going back to as reference time and again.
Highly recommended. One for any classic boxing fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Authentic, Well-Written, Delightful, 18 Dec. 2014
By 
Jennifer Pittam "Maythorn" (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book because, as the descendant of an East End boxer I wanted to understand more about the life and times my own ancestor would have competed in. Alex Daley sets out, he says, to capture the memories of real London boxers, in this case the ones who fought during that golden time of 1930-1960, before that generation are lost to us and it's too late. Given that the men who were youngsters in 1930 had, in many cases, fathers or grandfathers alive as early as the mid-19th century, their stories are, potentially, fascinating.

I think he succeeded admirably. The book has a nice clear introduction and explains about the very different culture that existed in those days, when the British public was boxing-mad and young fighters flocked to London to try and get a break. There are specific chapters on fighters from Bethnal Green, Sidcup, Dagenham and Stepney to name but a few, as well as a lovely collection of authentic photographs.

I like this book because it oozes British boxing from every sentence, whereas so many boxing histories are written primarily by and for the USA market. The book itself is a real quality item, nicely printed and bound, and would make a great present.

Suitable for those interested in the history of London boxing and the history of London itself. Boxing fanatics, writers and students might also find this book of use. It is well written and clean in its language, so very suitable for school or college projects also. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fighting Men of London, by Alex Daley, 24 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr. R. Howard (Stockport, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighting Men of London: Voices from Inside the Ropes (Hardcover)
I've just read this recently published book, and found it riveting. As a Mancunian I must admit that I know precious little about most of the London boxers of yesteryear so it was mostly all new to me, and an education. The stories of these fighting men, each told through interviews, give a fascinating insight into how professional boxing operated in the pre and post war years, when times were hard, and boxing was a very competitive game indeed. Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed reading this book, 28 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighting Men of London: Voices from Inside the Ropes (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed reading this book. As a child, I knew an ex-professionnal boxer, Young Stanley from Battersea, who was both punch drunk and unemployed at the time.

He gave me a pair of boxing gloves and taught me some basic moves; he was one of my childhood heroes.

Many thanks to Alex Daley for his work and good luck to his book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... just finished this book and it is one the best boxing books that I have read in a long ..., 29 July 2014
By 
I have just finished this book and it is one the best boxing books that I have read in a long time,it covers the life's and boxing tinmes of 7 of Londons boxers from back when times were tough in and out of the ring,it is a book I would recommend at all with an interest in boxing from a young boxer just starting out to trainers there really is something for everyone,It not only tells of them bouts but also a social history of the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can really recommend this book, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighting Men of London: Voices from Inside the Ropes (Hardcover)
I can really recommend this book. Not only gives it a lot of information on boxers who was not in the very top of the ratings, but also gives insight to the very hard times in London's Eastend during and shortly after the war. Very well written!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic journey into London's boxing social History - It captures ..., 11 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Fighting Men of London: Voices from Inside the Ropes (Hardcover)
A fantastic journey into London's boxing social History - It captures the spirt of Boxing between 30-60 in London - when fights were off-air and crowds at frequent small hall shows were numerous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I believe the author did a good job in presenting a book about virtual unknowns in ..., 9 April 2015
By 
J. S. McDougall (Cronulla, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighting Men of London: Voices from Inside the Ropes (Hardcover)
Interesting book, from which I learned of some of London's Fighting Men from the past that I knew very little about and in fact one or two I only knew of them from their names on records of some of the greats. Each story is from interviews with the boxer concerned and their recollections of their fighting days with summary of how life has found them today. I believe the author did a good job in presenting a book about virtual unknowns in the main and making it a good read and increase our knowledge of London's boxing's past. A good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars would recommend this book to any boxing fan particularly if you ..., 11 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighting Men of London: Voices from Inside the Ropes (Hardcover)
would recommend this book to any boxing fan particularly if you have any London connections or memories a really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fighting Men of London: Voices from Inside the Ropes
Fighting Men of London: Voices from Inside the Ropes by Alex Daley (Hardcover - 1 Jun. 2014)
£16.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews