Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars19
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 October 2013
This is a much needed book. For the uninitiated, divorce is potentially a frightening maze. This book provides a clear, helpful, practical and comprehensive guide to tackling the financial aspects of divorce from the stand point of a very experienced financial adviser. This book will give you a thorough understanding of what to expect if and when you have to deal with a divorce yourself and will provide you with the knowledge and confidence to raise issues of concern with your spouse, a mediator or your lawyer. It is aimed squarely at relatively financially unsophisticated wives who find themselves having to deal with the financial complexities arising upon divorce and provides a non-patronising and easy-to-read guide to everything from pensions to budgeting. I have not come across another book like it and can recommend it wholeheartedly to anyone who finds themselves in this situation.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
With this book, Hannah has written a go-to guide for divorcing women who may have little or no experience of financial matters and find themselves needing to make important and indeed life-changing decisions which will have drastic long-term impacts. Having said that however, there is much in there for anyone who wants a concise and refreshingly jargon-free guide to various financial products. The book is divided into 'stages' and chapters loosely related to the divorce process itself, so there are sections on organising finances and obtaining information before a separation takes place, moving on to creating a budget and filling in Form E in any financial proceedings. The book then includes specific chapters on items which may be relevant in the division of assets during a divorce such as pensions, investment products and insurance products to protect income or provide benefits in the event of critical illness. This latter point is an important one and is a cause close to Hannah's heart as she is an understandably strong advocate of such products having had to work through the period when she was being treated for breast cancer.

This was one of the things I liked most about this book as it provided just the right amount of 'personal information' about Hannah to liven up what could frankly, be a fairly 'dry' subject. It also makes her advice on certain aspects more powerful as she fully explains the pitfalls of not taking her advice (freely expressing it as a "do what I say, not what I did" type scenario) The book also has a conversational tone which will also be attractive to many readers new to this area.

Hannah appropriately advises that legal advice should also be sought when divorcing (as a Family lawyer I would say that!) and whilst I agree with the other reviewer about the potential quibble over whether a Court is putting parties into the position they were in prior to the divorce; this should absolutely not detract from the book's main message. This is a book about finances, NOT legal advice, and many of her points about, for example, not giving up too many assets in an attempt to hang onto the matrimonial home are very good ones and I would absolutely agree with them and her reasoning on them.

Whilst the book is aimed at a specific group, namely those women who are divorcing and are in the 'lucky' position of there being sufficient assets to go round and provide both parties with some form of financial security. However, even those who are not within this group, including those who would just like to understand finances better, will find something of use on this book. Overall - highly recommended!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
Hannah's book manages to be highly informative and even inspiring about the whole divorce process. I was someone who thought I simply wasn't interested in finances, but Hannah has made me realise that is a bit like saying 'I am not interested in myself'. I have been lucky enough to meet Hannah and in even just a short meeting, I began to understand about my emotional relationship to money and how it impacted almost every aspect of my life. I am about to fill in the dreaded Form E for my divorce and have been waiting eagerly for her book to come out. I haven't been disappointed: Hannah's practical but supportive approach is a godsend. As a writer and editor, I can vouch for the high quality content of 'The Wealthy Divorcee'; as someone who felt potentially overwhelmed by the whole prospect of divorce and its financial consequences, I can only thank her for writing this much needed book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
Hannah is an incredibly gifted author with a deep understanding of all the financial issues that divorcees are likley to encounter. She is careful to ensure that the reader's passage through this book is both informative and rewarding. she is sensitve to the overuse of jargon sometimes found today in many,far too wordy,financial handbooks.

Her unmistakable talent lies in her ability to break down sometimes complex financial notions in to easy-to-understand practical notes,and put them within easy reach of the reader. The Wealthy Divorcee is an ideal companion for anyone about to embark on the divorce process.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
This is a highly informative yet concise guide covering the financial implications of a divorce. The book in fact provides financial planning advice and information which is relevant to everybody, both men and women, and not just those who may be contemplating divorce. The book is well written and easy to understand, a particular bonus for those who may also be trying to deal with the emotional trauma of a separation. An invaluable and highly recommended guide for family lawyers and clients alike.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
Hannah has spent time identifying the really important areas for someone going through a divorce. The book is filled with practical and accessible advice without being patronising. She hits exactly the right level for any reader. I would recommend this book to anyone going through a divorce, but especially those who are unfamiliar with financial or legal terminology.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
This book is an absolute must not only to a female divorcee, but to anyone going through divorce. It gives a great insight into financial planning and picks up on things that people wouldn't have even given any thought about.
The style in which the book is written makes it easy to understand financial planning to anyone.
The only person I wouldn't recommend this book to is my wife!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
I chose this book because I found myself one day with a divorce petition and I did not have a clue. I got through two unhelpful solicitors and then found the final one I hope will be able to do the deed. I have learnt so much from this book I have read in in a day and recommended to a friend in same position. a real asset.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
This book is a "must have" for women who are unfortunately going through the divorce process. It is laid out in easy to follow steps and will help readers navigate the challenging elements involved in creating a workable solution out of marital breakdown.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
Hannah clearly has an excellent grasp on the types of financial issues facing women as they go through the divorce process and beyond. The book is full of useful tips and advice, delivered in an extremely practical way, I would highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)