Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A criminal scandal of the 50s and 60s
This might even be the scandal that inspired Dick Francis to start writing crime novels about horseracing. His first such book came out in 1962, at a time when the crimes described in this book were all over the news in Britain. At least with those books, we know that the good guys always win in the end. So it is in this book about a true-life crime, but it isn't always...
Published 16 months ago by Peter Durward Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable yarn
This is the story of the doping gang that was busy in the horseracing world in the 50s and early 60s.

It is well paced, albeit a bit "racy" in style (well it would be). The gang used to research racing stables, break into them at night and nobble the selected horse (usually the favourite for a forthcoming race). The gang (bookies and friends) made their money...
Published 13 months ago by Bob from Beds


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars what can one say who are the high rollers?, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doped: The Real Life Story of the 1960s Racehorse Doping Gang (Hardcover)
very interesting story bill roper being my mothers younger brother knew him well.,was always very generous to mum and us kids
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Exciting Story, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doped: The Real Life Story of the 1960s Racehorse Doping Gang (Hardcover)
We bought this book for our son's Christmas present and he thought it was a great read. Great value on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great gift, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doped: The Real Life Story of the 1960s Racehorse Doping Gang (Hardcover)
A gift for my brother in law who loves horse racing and all scandals relating to it. An interesting read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 17 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed book but we wished the parts where our family were involved was a little more accurate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars gift, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doped: The Real Life Story of the 1960s Racehorse Doping Gang (Hardcover)
it was a gift for my dad and he enjoyed it as he remembered it at the time it happened
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars racing book, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doped: The Real Life Story of the 1960s Racehorse Doping Gang (Hardcover)
wow now this book was good I sat and read it in one day I just could,nt put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent obviously a tremendous amount of research has gone in to this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Xmas pressie for my hubby. He's about to start reading so watch this space
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Tedious book, endless lists would have been more entertaining, 20 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tedious book,endless lists would have been more entertaining
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast delivery no problems A***** Merry, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fast delivery no problems A***** Merry Christmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doped: The Real Life Story of the 1960s Racehorse Doping Gang
Doped: The Real Life Story of the 1960s Racehorse Doping Gang by Jamie Reid (Hardcover - 27 Sept. 2013)
£16.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews