Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars192
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2014
I enjoyed it, though it's debatable whether or not it's actually an autobiography. You don't really learn an awful lot about Andrea Pirlo as a person, and it's incredibly non-linear, as he plucks snippets of situations from all over his lifetime in no real order. I like his writing style regardless. It's a little over-the-top, like something Eric Cantona would probably write, and some sections read like the memoirs of a tortured artist. I found it interesting just how many clubs he flirted with and nearly signed for, and how his heart often lost the love for particular football clubs, including his boyhood club. The book lacks detail and direction, but it makes up for it by containing swagger, in plentiful proportion.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
I picked up the kindle version as I've always been a fan of Pirlo and it's definitely worth the low price. A short, to the point read giving a great insight into the mind of Pirlo at different stages throughout his career, I'd recommend it to any football fan.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
A fantastic read. Insightful and funny in equal measure. A must read for any football fan. 10 out of 10
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2015
I had been looking forward to reading this for ages. I finally persuaded myself it would be worth buying, the reviews suggested it was a funny, well written scattergun story of the stylish Italian midfielder, they suggested it roamed around with no fixed narrrative (much like Pirlo in the Juventus midfield) and that it was much too short.

I would concur with every single point made by other reviewers, the book is very short and took me around 70 minutes to read, it doesn't fill in all of the blanks on Pirlo's life and career and doesn't even follow him in the traditional manner from childhood to present day, instead he picks up areas which are important to him, such as being castigated by other parents as a child for playing like Maradona, playing pranks on the fearsome Gattuso or playing playstation on the day of the World Cup Final.

Pirlo is a very funny book, some of the comments are very thoughtful and melancholy, but most have a wry humour to them. I had wanted more and was gutted when the book finished so quickly, but I thoroughly enjoyed the story and the little snippets about offers from other clubs, views on other players (although these are minimal) and a funny story involving Roy Hodgson and a rather unfortunate mispronounciation of Pirlo.

Pirlo talks of the confusion over AC Milan's capitulation to Liverpool in Istanbul in the Champions League final but only to address the fact he can't understand how it happened, he glosses over the match and other big matches, never really detailling them. He never gives himself up to this book and in the end it comes across as a series of funny stories, some connected, some not, which detail times in his career.

The book is short, sweet and a pleasure to read, if it had been longer i'd have given it five stars but this is fun while it lasts, but leaves you wanting to know so much more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
Andrea Pirlo is without doubt one of his generations greatest midfield players. He is a maestro. Sadly this doesn't transfer to his storytelling. This isn't a terrible book and has some interesting anecdotes...but sadly not enough. 'I think therefore I play' is like Pirlo's memoir, told from a specific period in his life about the whys and whatnots of what he does. Nods to times when I he could have joined Chelsea/Madrid et al are glanced at but never fully detailed.
This is a short read, but could have been much better.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2015
I bought this book because I liked the way Andrea Pirlo played the game treating the ball with a duty of care. The first quarter of the book is quite hard going and if he had kept his recollections in a more chronological order it might have been appreciated by English readers to smooth the way because of having to deal with so many Italian names and places. Full of Italian pride and retells how Barcelona and Chelsea were let down at the last minute in their attempts to sign him in favour of staying in his beloved Italia. All the best Italian players stay playing in their homeland. He also appears absolutely disgusted how on earth Milan could possibly have lost to Liverpool in the Champions League final. He does say some interesting things like describing how one of his Italian team mates received several very frightening threats after elbowing and seriously injuring a rival player in a World Cup finals match. The chapter regarding superstitions of his Italian teammates before matches held my attention and he also reveals how the rather serious looking and technically minded Italians are just as prone to joking and larking about as anyone else. Not the easiest book to read through but the fact that their are only 150 pages makes it worth the effort. It would certainly have been an arduous effort to have read over double that amount of pages though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
Funny and enlightening account of a marvellous career. Clearly he has thought about the game for many years and not just played it. I enjoyed reading this mainly whilst travelling. However, it felt far too short overall and the footballing anecdotes were quite odd. Pippo Inzaghi comes across as frankly ridiculous and we do not get an insight into how a 'limited' player like that could have scored so many goals. Pirlo did not seem to reveal too much about the coaches he has played for; I guess because he is, of course still playing. Some of the nuance may well have been lost in the translation, this should be taken into account. He mocks a few friends and foes but does not really give a detailed analysis of their motivations or their strengths and weaknesses. Once he has finally hung up his boots maybe we will get more of an insight into his true feelings about teammates and opponents and his future intentions in the beautiful game....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2014
Touching in a very friendly way. I felt I got to know one of my heroes, and even made me think that it would be fun to play some FIFA on playstation with him.

You get his voice and his words, maybe a little polished in terms of storytelling due to his writer friend that helped him with this book. I guess it is a perfect transposition of the player on the page. To the point to be exact, all the "big words" in the book aren't there for show, everything you read is Pirlo through and through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
A first class book full of interesting intelligent stories of a wonderful footballer and how to be an example of what books should be like.not the biggest but has true quality rather than quantity.highly recommended.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
Pretentious ! Wonderful football player ...... but doesnt he know it . Lost all respect for the man when he put down a fellow professional for shadowing him in an international match . Are the opposition supposed to let him play as he likes ??? To be fair I havnt read a footballers autobiography yet that wasn't pretentious . Thin on jaw dropping insight into one of arguably the worlds best players ,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)