Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amusing and informative
I thought this was terrific. I had the good fortune to be sent a few of these Bluffer's Guides for review by the publisher: they are pocket-sized and only around 150 pages long and I have found them all amusing, informative and very enjoyable. This is one of the best. The Guides are, in fact, a bluff in themselves because although they purport to be a handbook for those...
Published 12 months ago by Sid Nuncius

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
It is good, it didn't blow me away, but for the price I am happy enough. I know nothing about wine except how to drink it, so happy with this book!
Published 2 months ago by Richard Quirk


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amusing and informative, 29 Aug 2013
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Bluffer's Guide to Wine (Bluffers Guides) (Paperback)
I thought this was terrific. I had the good fortune to be sent a few of these Bluffer's Guides for review by the publisher: they are pocket-sized and only around 150 pages long and I have found them all amusing, informative and very enjoyable. This is one of the best. The Guides are, in fact, a bluff in themselves because although they purport to be a handbook for those who simply want to bluff their way, they use this as a cover for providing lots of very sound fact, written by people who really know and love their subject while being very witty about it and often scathing about the pretence which surrounds it.

I suspect that this will be read by a lot of people who, like me, aren't experts by any means but drink quite a lot of wine (yes, doctor, I know - sorry) and have picked up a fair bit of basic knowledge of grapes, regions and so on from the experience and from reading labels. This Bluffers' Guide is a witty, erudite, shrewd and pretence-free guide to may of the things we know a bit about and lots and lots we don't from super-basics to some quite out-of-the-way snippets. It contains invaluable tips on where good wine is currently made and what to look out for, in the guise of giving you nuggets to show off with. As an example of their style: "Napa's wines are like Hollywood teeth: huge, unnervingly bright and faintly unbelievable," which made me smile.

Where it is really helpful is in the deep knowledge of its authors who are ruthless and direct in separating quality and important fact from myth and pretension. They explain (and debunk where necessary) a lot of the stuff written and said about wine, and it's a delightfully unpretentious and enjoyable read throughout.

Warmly recommended to anyone with any interest in wine. It's fun to read and a source of masses of really helpful information and opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INFORMATIVE AND FUN, 4 Nov 2013
By 
Eleni - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Bluffer's Guide to Wine (Bluffers Guides) (Paperback)
Some time ago I encountered a strange couple at a restaurant; a middle-aged man, who seemed really out of place, and a young model wannabe. When the waiter served the wine, the man first swirled the wine in the glass and said something to his very impressed date. He then brought the wine close to his nose and sniffing made another comment to the girl, and finally he confidently raised the glass to his ear and started to roll the glass on his hand, listening carefully. Clearly the poor man, in his effort to impress his date, confused the wine testing process with the cigar testing process and made a fool of himself, though I doubt the model wannabe could tell the difference.

Bluffing about your knowledge and pretending to be an expert on wine can be very difficult and risky, which is why this little book can be very useful. It is well written, concise, light and fun to read, and it has any wine related information a bluffer might need. The book includes sections on understanding wine types, wine lingo, grape varieties, different wine producing regions, and of course testing methods.

This book is packed with information and can be an invaluable tool for any bluffer, however it is not only for those who wish to pretend they know about wine, but also for those who wish to learn more. Although not a wine expert, I consider myself an informed and rather educated wine drinker, and I have to admit that I learned a lot from this book.

The author makes some generalizations, I don't necessarily agree with all the opinions expressed about specific wines and regions, and sometimes the humour is a little forced, but I really enjoyed reading this book and I highly recommend it. However, if I may offer some advise, please don't ever say to a wine drinker that Cabernet Sauvignon tastes like Ribena (it doesn't!), and don't ever refer to Bordeaux as claret, unless you are talking about something Jane Austen said.

I was given a free copy by the publisher, but that did not influence my opinion in any way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book if you like a glass now and again and want to know more about wine. As others have said it is a very tongue in cheek guide and there are some real laugh out loud parts, but don't be fooled, for such a small book it packs a lot of excellent information on all kinds of wine as well as port and sherry.

This makes an excellent gift for wine lovers of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative and Humourous, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At the time of writing I am only about a third of the way through this guide but very much enjoying it. The book is informative in an easy to understand format and gives practical tips and information. Lots of humour too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Coverage of a Difficult Subject, 24 Sep 2013
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Bluffer's Guide to Wine (Bluffers Guides) (Paperback)
Wine is not the easiest of subjects for a Bluffer's Guide. There really is just too much to know about it, and to be an accomplished bluffer in any subject you need to follow the maxim `In the land of the blind, the one eyed man is king'. Unfortunately you are likely to come across wine buffs, and less knowledgeable, but still informed, wine experts, who are going to knock what you have gleaned from this little book into a cocked hat.

If you really know very little to nothing about wine, you are going to learn enough here to avoid appearing totally ignorant as it is fair to say that an enormous amount of information has been crammed in here. No reflection on the author, but its just not possible to cover the subject in 150 odd pages of a very small format book. As an example, consideration of the wines of the Loire runs to just two pages. I know this region and these wines reasonably well, although I am by no means an expert, and it would be perfectly possible to write a whole book on this subject without adequately covering it.

So on one level, as a bluffers guide, this book is not going to succeed in making you appear to be the expert you are striving to look like, unless you are talking to someone with little knowledge of the subject. On the other hand it is an excellent grounding in the subject and is very impressive for such a small book. This is one bluffers guide where an index would have been useful as if, for example, you were looking for Zinfandel, there is a lot of ground to cover in your search.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good guide, 20 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Bluffer's Guide to Wine (Bluffers Guides) (Paperback)
Assumes a little prior knowledge which I suppose is to be expected. Still very useful and of course, funny. Better in its was than many serious guides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to wines, 16 Aug 2014
By 
Partisan (West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good introduction to wines, that cuts through a lot of the pretentious rubbish that surrounds the subject. Written in a humorous style and easy to read. Whether you could actually assimilate any of the detail to help your "bluffing" is another question - the sections that go through the various producing regions, grapes, wines etc is densely packed with names that eventually merge into a blur.
Still a good read and well worth the very low price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... got me through a bunch of dinner parties sounding like I know a thing or to, 25 Jun 2014
It's got me through a bunch of dinner parties sounding like I know a thing or to. Hilarious too, thoroughly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wine knowledge with a chuckle., 10 Aug 2014
By 
P. C. Jacob (UK and Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An amusing little book, with a relaxed style I found enjoyable, very readable and extremely useful and educating! It raised quite a number of chuckles and the odd eye brow at some of the recommended behaviour, but nevertheless was good value, a book to have handy just before a dinner party or other vinious gathering!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bluffer's Guide to Wine (Bluffers Guides) (Paperback)
It is good, it didn't blow me away, but for the price I am happy enough. I know nothing about wine except how to drink it, so happy with this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bluffer's Guide to Wine (Bluffers Guides)
The Bluffer's Guide to Wine (Bluffers Guides) by Harry Eyres (Paperback - 1 Mar 2013)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews