Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars skis really do come in pairs
Where to ski, how to ski, what to wear (and not wear ~ a hat with ears or one sporting the name Adolph are definitely out ) How to impress your friends with a snow-reflected suntan and how to cope when you get too cold !!!

Mirth is in short supply in these awful dog days of the 21st century so the Bluffers guides are just too brilliant to ignore. They come in a...
Published 21 months ago by David Spanswick

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars laugh... I nearly chewed off my tongue!
This witty little book is an essential for that holiday on the slopes, but even après ski, it will make you laugh out look with some of its' observations on the ski crowd. do you know the difference between a mogul and a bump? well this book will tell you. Full of funky and fun facts about the noble art of skiing, it tells you where the best sport is to be had,...
Published 16 months ago by J. Turner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars skis really do come in pairs, 10 Oct. 2013
By 
David Spanswick (Brighton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bluffer's Guide to Skiing (Bluffer's Guides) (Paperback)
Where to ski, how to ski, what to wear (and not wear ~ a hat with ears or one sporting the name Adolph are definitely out ) How to impress your friends with a snow-reflected suntan and how to cope when you get too cold !!!

Mirth is in short supply in these awful dog days of the 21st century so the Bluffers guides are just too brilliant to ignore. They come in a handy size ~ just right for that pocket in the front of your new dazzling white puffer jacket (guaranteed to get you mown down as nobody can see you); a pocket that you could find no use for ~ mini flask not advisable

Any skier whether on the slopes or on a PC with simulation programmes will enjoy this jolly little volume and there really is something for everyone from choice of ski and baggage to recognising ski types ~ The Pig on Planks is a special favourite

The most enjoyable (and essential) piece of advice in the whole book comes in the Apres Ski section :

" Never urinate against a a lamp post in freezing conditions (unless someone is prepared to detach you)"

no to mention under Useful Bluffing Impedimenta :

"The flashiest avalanche transceiver you can find. This is a device that sends out a feeble signal after you have been buried. In most cases it would be quicker to wait for the snow to melt"

Love it !!

I am, truthfully, no likely to take up skiing at this ripe old age but this will never stop me enjoying this wonderfully witty series from the comfort of my armchair.

Long live bluffers everywhere
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Painfully funny, 7 Mar. 2013
This review is from: The Bluffer's Guide to Skiing (Bluffer's Guides) (Paperback)
I read this on a coach going skiing and I had to stop as I was laughing out loud and annoying other people. It's superb - especially all the comments about other nationalities' habits on the slopes. Any skiier of whatever level will howl...and probably recognise themselves now and again. It's also pretty useful for a first-timer: along the way you do learn what all that ski jargon *really* means, so a fun presy to drop into a newbies' bag alongside the knee brace, helmet, bandages, Resolve sachets etc etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing read, 22 Jan. 2013
Just finished reading the Bluffers guide to Skiing and have to say it was a GREAT read. I now know the difference between snowboarders and skiers! Fantastically written and very funny. Would recommend to anyone who wants to know the ins and outs of skiing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, light-hearted look at the world of skiing, 28 Nov. 2013
This review is from: The Bluffer's Guide to Skiing (Bluffer's Guides) (Paperback)
If the idea of a 'bluffers' guide' is to give newbies information about the topic in a fun, light-hearted way, this little guide does a great job. Like many of these types of books, it's also interesting (& funny) for the veteran skiier who will recognise the characters he's met along the way (and maybe himself?) and perhaps appreciate some of the references that you just have to experience to understand. Short, entertaining read and a cute present for a newbie heading to the slopes for the first time this winter.

Disclosure: I recieved a free copy of this book from LibraryThing as part of their early reviewer programme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars laugh... I nearly chewed off my tongue!, 27 Mar. 2014
By 
J. Turner (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This witty little book is an essential for that holiday on the slopes, but even après ski, it will make you laugh out look with some of its' observations on the ski crowd. do you know the difference between a mogul and a bump? well this book will tell you. Full of funky and fun facts about the noble art of skiing, it tells you where the best sport is to be had, what to wear, and what not to do... its a mine of information! And it's funny too. Essential reading for those who are planning to strap on their skis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A skiing book that doesn't go down hill fast..., 24 July 2015
This review is from: The Bluffer's Guide to Skiing (Bluffer's Guides) (Paperback)
A brilliant book.

One of my favourite Bluffer's Guides...

David Allsop is an excellent and very engaging writer and the book in full of interesting titbits on skiing!

The chapter on 'The Art of Survival' is a must read for anyone on the piste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for a laugh (& first time skiers), 24 Jan. 2013
I bought the guide in prep. for my first skiing holiday and it proved a good move. Genuinely helpful as well as funny (lots of technical info, but not so much it hurts!).

I dipped in and out on the plane over and when our first proper skiing day arrived I was ready to impress (and shock) my friends - who all thought my not-so-sporty-self would be providing the apres-ski entertainment for the week. On the second day I followed the guide's suggestion and told my uber-sporty friend that it was 'good to see his edging was coming along.' His reaction was absolutely priceless- he was completely flummoxed by how on-point my ski chat was!

There's a reason why people say 'fake it till you make it'. A bit of faux-confidence is exactly what you need with an extreme, and sometimes terrifying, sport like skiing. By the end of the week I was actually pretty good and it probably had more than a lot to do with this little lifesaver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't travel to the snow without this book!!, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got this to read on my way to go skiing in Austria. People around me were laughing at little snippets I read aloud! Very funny. Every skier can identify with something in this book!! Hilarious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun present, 2 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bluffer's Guide to Skiing (Bluffer's Guides) (Paperback)
Bought a whole bunch of these 'Bluffer's' books as Christmas filler. They all make for half decent reading and are actually generally quite light-hearted. Good fun present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 21 May 2013
By 
Kevin O'Hanlon "KevO" (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Raised a few smiles, but not as good as I expected from the recommendations I had read. Worth reading if you have spare hour and nothing better to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bluffer's Guide to Skiing (Bluffer's Guides)
The Bluffer's Guide to Skiing (Bluffer's Guides) by David Allsop (Paperback - 1 Mar. 2012)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews