Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On the Street
This is a great book. It's not littered with fantastic photos but it gives you this little and important things to think about........how others might view you as a street photographer. The author gives some valuable advice.
Published 5 months ago by Denise - Maidstone, Kent

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Content average, book and print quality an absolute disgrace
This is the third book I have purchased that has been printed by amazon themselves. The content is average however most of it can be found by a google search. The quality of the paper and the print quality is an absolute disgrace, the pages look as if they have been printed at home with a cheap colour laser printer whose toner was running out, the images themselves are...
Published 21 months ago by Photographer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Content average, book and print quality an absolute disgrace, 4 Dec 2012
By 
Photographer (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Street Photography: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
This is the third book I have purchased that has been printed by amazon themselves. The content is average however most of it can be found by a google search. The quality of the paper and the print quality is an absolute disgrace, the pages look as if they have been printed at home with a cheap colour laser printer whose toner was running out, the images themselves are mostly pixilated. When amazon prints books they really do know how to cut corners. Definitely not worth the asking price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Drivel, 14 April 2014
By 
Colin MCLEAN (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read very many photography books and without a shadow of a doubt this is the worst. Shocking that this author thinks he has something to contribute. Terrible text, dreadful advice, dubious ethics and some very poor quality photographs. A cheap shot that he puts a shocking image on the front cover. The author should stick to his day job. Do not waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad, 1 Sep 2014
By 
Jacobo Canady Salgado (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Street Photography: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
I bought the Kindle edition of this book and I must say it is a waste of money. The author really says nothing new, and, what is worse, nothing that you cannot probably read for free on any street photography web or blog. To offer just a couple of examples, you will learn more about street photography from Thomas Leuthard's free boooks (downloadable from his web) or from Eric Kim's blog than spending any money on this book.

The author illustrates his points with pictures taken by him. Well, although those photos are nothing special, that should not mean that Mr Sadgrove is not entitled to offer his knowledge about this style of photography. After all, one can master all the theory but be bad or average when it comes to practice. But, the problem is that Mr Sadgrove offers just a mixture of commonplaces and questionable ethics.

The commonplaces consist on what I said above, there is nothing in this book you can't find googling "street photography". The questionable ethics concern the treatment Mr Sadgrove gives to his subjects. I like street photography, I try to shoot some myself and I like reading about it. One of things most street photographers seem to agree with is that you must treat your subjects with respect. Above all if you are, as Mr Sadgrove, into candid street photography. That is, taking portraits of strangers without their knowing. As you can see, we are on thin ice when it comes to the ethics of this practice. It is true that, in most countries, it is possible to take photos of anything that is on the street, including people. But, on the other hand, you must be conscious that you are intruding people's life and using their image without their consent. Therefore, I think that you must try and make your photo respectful. But Mr Sadgrove will tell you that the best subjects for street photography are the ugly and the obese. That is, he does not try to show how life is on the streets; he does not try to show something funny or unexpected that he saw taking place; he simply wants to shoot the "ugly and the obese". And when he invites you to take photos at burger, he does so because there, he says, people look at their worse. Mr Sadgrove seems to be interested only in making people look grotesque.

Some people complain about the quality of the printed version. I, having read the Kindle edition, can say nothing about it, but I must say that there's a number of errors that seem grammatical (although might just be typos), such as confusing "than" and "then". That says little about the person who edited the book.

So, to sum up, if you are interested in street photography and want to learn about it, this is not the book you are looking for. You will find some reviews claiming that those who talk bad about this book are wrong and that they learned and enjoyed it a lot. So I propose you this exercise: google "street photography", spend 30 minutes reading what you find, and then come back here and buy the book. Then decide for yourself whether it was worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On the Street, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book. It's not littered with fantastic photos but it gives you this little and important things to think about........how others might view you as a street photographer. The author gives some valuable advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Street Photography: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
Great book runs through the basics and very simple and easy to read. The book gives you a few different ideas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dont be put off by the cover or the other reviewers comments !, 23 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Street Photography: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
I bought this book on the Kindle, which I would not normally do for photography books, however I found this was actually a good idea. The reproduction of the photographs is fine and whilst the book is quite short it does bring the authors enthusiasm to life for the subject. I feel this is an important aspect of any book which you are reading on a subject which you are considering either taking up as a hobby or just want to know more about. I have yet to read other books on street photography but this book certainly wouldn't put me off doing so and I feel is worth the money you pay for a Kindle edition. Worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Auwful, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is without doubt the worst book on street photography I've had the misfortune to buy. The images are so-so, the print quality terrible and the film peeled of the cover within a day. Rather than put it on my bookshelf I threw it in the bin. Minus 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Street Photography, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting and informative publication. Nothing I already know and practise here but all the same it's presenters in a no nonsense, non-technical style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Shame their were so few pages, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Street Photography: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
The content of the book was OK but could have done with a bit more input. I got to the end of the book far too quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful Insight, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this brief guide as I have a general interest in photography and wanted to try "street". There are some useful tips and I have recommended to my daughter who is into street photography but was not sure where to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Street Photography: The Complete Guide
Street Photography: The Complete Guide by Kit Sadgrove (Paperback - 7 Aug 2012)
£13.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews