Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History explained beautifully.
A beautiful book well received by a newly turned 8 year old. A complicated story made interesting in a beautifully and quirlily illustrated book. I took the opportunity to buy this book as this year is the centenary celebrating Shackleton and feel sure this will engage many children.

William Grill is an illustrator worth collecting for those who enjoy this...
Published 10 months ago by Marianna D

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too tense for early elementary school children
Very interesting book with great illustrations but I found the content too tense for my 6 year old son. It's a real story of a dangerous journey that went wrong. I wept at the end. My son listened to the whole book and then said that he doesn't want to hear it again. I think this book is great for early teenagers or older, but not small kids who might be too sensitive.
Published 2 months ago by Joanna Wareluk


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History explained beautifully., 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shackleton's Journey (Hardcover)
A beautiful book well received by a newly turned 8 year old. A complicated story made interesting in a beautifully and quirlily illustrated book. I took the opportunity to buy this book as this year is the centenary celebrating Shackleton and feel sure this will engage many children.

William Grill is an illustrator worth collecting for those who enjoy this media.

Also sent DK's Eyewitness on the Arctic and Antarctic...which proved to be a super accompaniment....full of photographs and facts of tradition,flora, forna and peoples etc of both poles......a good birthday gift together, although bought for a young boy I think his younger sister will also enjoy them too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too tense for early elementary school children, 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shackleton's Journey (Hardcover)
Very interesting book with great illustrations but I found the content too tense for my 6 year old son. It's a real story of a dangerous journey that went wrong. I wept at the end. My son listened to the whole book and then said that he doesn't want to hear it again. I think this book is great for early teenagers or older, but not small kids who might be too sensitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful & Impressive, 8 Dec. 2014
By 
This review is from: Shackleton's Journey (Hardcover)
I've read a lot about the explorers and am no stranger to Shackleton's journeys. This book does a very fine, and entertaining, job of detailing Shackleton's attempt to cross Antarctica by land. This is an oversized picture book suitable for upper-elementary and up. The art is absolutely amazing, using a limited palette of blacks, blues and browns Grill appears to have used pastels or chalks and his use of white space to invoke the emptiness and harshness of the desolate continent is breathtaking. The story is very detailed (including the names of all the crew and 69 dogs) and told in short blocks of text interspersed with the illustrations. The narrative contains quotes from the crew themselves and the narrative voice is entertaining to read. An impressive book, for an introduction to the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is amazing! the illustrations are absolutely beautiful and the story ..., 11 Dec. 2014
By 
L. Talbot (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shackleton's Journey (Hardcover)
This book is amazing! the illustrations are absolutely beautiful and the story is perfect for all ages. Also, it fits in perfectly with the Inspire Curriculum planning for Year 5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful book, 22 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shackleton's Journey (Hardcover)
A beautiful book...a real pleasure to read. The pictures are unusual and interesting and the story is told simply and powerfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book and well written, 2 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shackleton's Journey (Hardcover)
Beautiful book. Wonderful graphics and well written. My Kids love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A winner, 31 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shackleton's Journey (Hardcover)
A stunning book - as said before in the reviews. Nothing much more to add. I will be using it for teaching and it couldn't suit my needs any better. Great detailed information and compelling illustration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book, 16 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shackleton's Journey (Hardcover)
A beautifully illustrated and informative book for adults and children alike. I look forward to more books by the talented William Grill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This was an amazing book bought for a child, 26 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shackleton's Journey (Hardcover)
This was an amazing book bought for a child. Illustrations different to the norm and convey the vastness of the ocean
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 28 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shackleton's Journey (Hardcover)
A beautiful, informative book which appeals across ages. I have bought 4 copies now- for my son, my niece and my two Godsons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shackleton's Journey
Shackleton's Journey by William Grill (Hardcover - 3 Feb. 2014)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews