Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deliciously gripping!!, 1 Mar. 2013
This book is an absolute must-read for anyone who enjoys travel, adventure, or just a fabulously juicy story. The author, Lindsay de Feliz, recounts her experience of giving up her first-class London lifestyle to pursue adventure and happiness in the Dominican Republic - with many bumps along the way. Lindsay's journey from riches to poverty is, at times, both nail-biting and hilarious, and is told with such ease and honesty that you feel as if you've always known her. Whether looking for adventure in a foreign land, romance, suspense, or a thriller, this book has it all, and captivates the reader's interest from beginning to end. In short, Lindsay's story is an exhilarating and inspiring journey not to be missed!

Heather Kent
Former ex-pat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One hell of a ride!!!, 15 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like other reviewers on here, i have nothing but praise for this book!! Lindsay has such a wonderful way of engaging her readers, i felt i was right there with her, for all the highs and lows.
It is a mesmersing journey for anyone that has holiday-ed in the DR or thought about living there. She doesn't filter, or sugar coat it, but says it how it is, which at times is downright terrifying. It's a real rollercoaster, and hugely insightful for anyone that has ventured outside of their luxury All-Inclusive resort.

I bought it on a whim after holidaying there twice this year, and wanted to see if i'd uncovered the "real" DR, but even i had barely scratched the surface!! Managed to read it in one sitting and loved it.

Well worth every penny, and can't wait for a sequel!! Shall continue reading the blog until then!!

Thanks Lindsay, really great book from a wondeful woman!! xxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Open your eyes, and see the real deal on living in the Dominican Republic, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What about Your Saucepans? (Paperback)
If you have holidayed in the DR and ventured outside of the padded confines of your 5 star resort, experienced just a little of the music, dancing and culture of these wonderful people, but been left with more questions than answers-then this is the book for you!
A real life tale, of an ex-pat Brit that took the country and people to her heart and then set about trying to help change the bits that need changing-venturing into the very murky waters of Politics and corruption instead of the beautiful clear Caribbean seas and exotic fish!
I was one of these tourists and now thanks to this book I have looked at this marvellously diverse paradise with new eyes and a better understanding of what makes this culture tick.....without having to be shot or have my husband thrown into jail!

A real page turner-I read it from cover to cover in two hits, not because of lack of content but because I was totally engrossed...! Do yourself a favour when you receive your copy.....stock up with snacks, a pot of tea and switch off your mobile.....!! Enjoy, I did!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars When Worlds Collide, 16 July 2013
By 
Jack Scott (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: What about Your Saucepans? (Paperback)
What would you do if you came to the depressing conclusion that all the things you worked hard to get - big job, big bucks, big house, big car (oh, and a loyal husband to mow the lawn) - weren't all they were cracked up to be? Most of us would just plod on regardless. Money, as they say, doesn't make you happy but it does make you comfortable and keeps the wolves from the door. Lindsay de Feliz faced this dilemma and decided that plodding on wasn't enough, not by a long chalk. She chucked in the fluffy designer towel, unclipped her wings and flew towards the sun. Eventually, the trade winds carried her to the Dominican Republic, a half-an-island country half a world away, a place that most of us know nothing about. Trust me, you'll know a whole lot more by the end of `What About Your Saucepans?' Lindsay de Feliz's white-water ride of an auto-biography. The intrepid author swapped the daily grind of bourgeois life for a daily grind of an entirely different sort, a world where the wolves battered down the door and then ate you for lunch. But this is not the sorry tale of some deluded sankie lady (or VOMIT as I might say from my Turkey days) finding herself in hot water in a hot land. This is a pioneering and life-affirming story of love and survival written with sensitivity and panache. Perking the Pansies: Jack and Liam Move to Turkey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly amazing!, 5 April 2013
This review is from: What about Your Saucepans? (Paperback)
I was fortunate enough to meet Lindsay personally about a year after she was shot in the throat and from then onwards she became a best friend. I shared many of the traumas, laughs and devastating disappointments with her along the way of this story (sometimes in person but more often in an online chat situation). During the whole part of her life recorded in this fabulous book, she tells it exactly as it happened allowing us to share all the pleasures, odd and often funny situations and also how it really feels to be destroyed by political corruption. I am truly proud of my best mate for all she has endured and survived, almost always with a smile on her face and a love and admiration for the native people in her chosen island of the Dominican Republic. This book is a credit to her as it grips the reader every step of the way and I would encourage everyone to read her amazing true story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What About Your Saucepans, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What about Your Saucepans? (Paperback)
Lindsay De Feliz was married, had a good job and a comfortable lifestyle in the UK. However she always felt that something was missing. So she decided to forsake all and pursue a dream job of being a scuba diver in the sun. A job, which eventually brings her to The Dominican Republic where she finds true love and an adventure beyond her wildest imagination.

During her first 10 years in The Dominican Republic, Lindsay gets married, inherits a ready-made family, gets shot at and gets involved in local politics as she supports her husband who decides to run for political office. She interacts closely with many who live a life of poverty and is forced to fight corruption of a menacing kind.

The book is also full of factual information about day-to-day life in The Dominican Republic. A fascinating read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars *A MUST READ BOOK*, 21 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What about Your Saucepans? (Paperback)
Heart rending gripping book, has all the components you could wish for, Single lady leaves comfy and well paid lifestyle, to become a Dive Instructor, finds romance, but then this is where the story darkens the corruption and the violence that attacks them as they move into the world of politics. Enlightens the reader to the real world beyond the holiday perception. This book leaves you wanting more!
I was guided to this book by my friend Perri who as a friend of the author knew of her story.
I read the free chapter and was hooked! I had to know the rest of the story!
My Husband and I can identify with giving up the luxury's of life ( rat race!!) as we are in the process of our own move to Bali. Just one question Lindsay What do I do with my saucepans ????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big eye opener, 14 Mar. 2013
This review is from: What about Your Saucepans? (Paperback)
Anybody reading this book and not knowing Linds would think she has a screw lose!! Why would you go from what most people would consider the dream life to having a life of complete mayhem. Well as we do know Linds we understand what she was looking for out of life and boy did she find it.I'm what you might call a holiday reader but reading this book was unable to put it down. Even though I knew what was going on in Lindsey's life through my auntie seeing it in black and white was fascinating and I have nothing but respect for Lindsey and Danilo for what they have been through and it is obvious even to the worst romantic in the world that they are sole mates through and through. If you only buy or download one book this year make it this one!! You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Lindsay De Feliz, 18 May 2013
This review is from: What about Your Saucepans? (Paperback)
Being a regular traveller to dom rep I was looking forward to reading Lindsay's book, and was not disappointed. Picked it up to read a few chapters and read the book cover to cover on one sitting. A very honest account of life in dom rep. Extremely well written drawing you into the amazing life she has lived , at times funny, at times sad and at times truly remarkable. Would thoroughly recommend any one to buy this regardless of whether you have visited the country or not. Also try and read Lindsay's blogs for a daily insight into her life. Looking forward to future books and congratulations on the success of this one <3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put the it down!, 9 Mar. 2013
This review is from: What about Your Saucepans? (Paperback)
This book made me Laugh, Cry, Angry, sad, hopeful and at times Amazed! A truly wonderful account of Lindsay de Feliz and her ten years in the Dominican Republic with humour, hope, love and tragedy everyting a woman looks for in a book as far as I am concerned. As a fellow Ex-pat in the Dominican Republic I could sypathise with much of the content but after 8 years here it reminded me of the good and the bad anyone can experience here or in many foreign countries, but to never loose hope and to cherish the really important things in life. A remarkable woman has written a remarkable book that everyone should read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What about Your Saucepans?
What about Your Saucepans? by Lindsay De Feliz (Paperback - 27 Feb. 2013)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews