Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FOOTBALL'S STEPTOE AND SONS!, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jimmy Adamson: The Man Who Said No to England (Hardcover)
PITS, POTTS, LORD OF THE MANOR,THIS BOOK COULD BE CATHERINE COOKSONS DOMAIN! DAVE THOMAS SHOULD PASS THIS ON TO SCRIPT-WRITERS,FOR JIMMY ADAMSON WOULD BE ONE BUT FAR FROM ONLY COMPLEX AND INTERESTING CHARACTER TO HANG YOUR HAT ON! ,AS THE STORY UNFOLDS...FOR FANS OF SMALL TOWN/CITY CLUBS YOU WILL REALISE YOU ARE FOREVER TRAPPED IN A HOPELESS CAUSE FOR BURNLEY WERE THE HIGHEST WATER MARK FOR THE UNDERDOG, AND JIMMYS DREAM FOR THE 70S AND BEYOND WAS CUT OFF BEFORE HIS MANAGERIAL REIGN STARTED THROUGH THE FREEDOM WON BY PLAYERS TRAPPED ON LOW WAGES,AND THE PRISON OF BEING RETAINED BY DESPOTIC CHAIRMAN. FOR ME JIMMY ADAMSON'S TRAGEDY IN FOOTBALL WAS HIS LOYALTY!!!TO HIS CLUB AND TOWN, THEN MOVING ON FOR MORE OF THE SAME!!!!.HAD HE FOLLOWED THROUGH AND JOINED SPARTA ROTTERDAM IN 1976,HIS CAREER COULD HAVE BEEN OF THE GREAT BOBBY ROBSON! THE REAL TRAGEDY OF HIS LIFE THOUGH WAS TO LOSE THOSE MOST DEAREST TO HIM AND THE PHOTO'S OF HIS FAMILY,WILL NOT FAIL TO BRING A LUMP TO THE THROAT. DEREK DOOGAN IN ONE OF HIS MANY BOOKS SPOKE OF CLUBS COPYING EVERY IDEA WHEN SUCCESS COMES TO OTHERS,(STILL TRUE) AS A FAN OF SOUTHAMPTON IN THE 70S/80S I NOW KNOW WHERE THEY WERE COMING FROM..FROM BURNLEY WE HAD BOB LORDS DARLING BRIAN O'NEIL IN THE SIXTIES/70S,WE HAD THE NO1 SCOUT JACK HIXON!!!!ON THE COACHING STAFF WE HAD DAVE MERRINGTON..AND THE TWIST ON ALL THESE IDEA,S WAS LAWRIE MAC THE MANAGER DOING WHAT JIMMY ADAMSON COULD NOT...THAT IS NOT SELLING BUT PUTTING OUR BEST YOUNG PLAYERS ALONGSIDE GREAT STARS...SAD TO SAY THE RESULT WAS THE SAME AS JIMMYS..WHAT IF!!!BUT LAWRIE ONCE SAID 'WE ARE SEVEN YEARS BEHIND BOBBY ROBSONS IPSWICH TOWN,AND ITS INTERESTING TO NOTE THE SPAT BETWEEN LORD AND THE COBBOLDS IN 1962 AS LITTLE IPSWICH UNDER THE MAN WHO SAID YES ALF RAMSEY,TAKE THE TITLE FROM BURNLEY IN WHAT WAS JIMMY ADAMSONS GREATEST YEAR!!!!FOR ME, DESTINY WAS THE ONLY TRAGEDY FOR OUR PROTAGONISTS!!!!,FOR RAMSEY,ROBSON,AND IPSWICH TOWN...NOT TO FORGET ENGLAND!!!!THE DREAM CAME TRUE,,,,AND THE BROTHERHOOD OF THE UNDERDOG SHOULD HOLD THAT THOUGHT!!!BURNLEY FC,THE TEAM OF THE 70S,JIMMY ADAMSON,NOT TO MENTION THE GREAT HISTORY OR THE LIFE LONG LOVE OF JIMMYS WIFE MAY..THAT JIMMY GOT AS FAR IN LIFE DESPITE THE SHACKLES OF SMALL-TOWNS AND SMALL MINDS, IS IT NOT PLAIN TO SEE JIMMY ADAMSON DID NOT FAIL...HE WAS A WINNER,,,LIKE THIS BOOK!FROM AMAZON .U.K....P.S.ITS GREAT TO SEE EX CLARET JAY RODRIGUEZ AT SAINTS DOING SO WELL, EVEN BETTER THAT BURNLEY'S SON OF SOUTHAMPTON SAM VOKES,AND DANNY INGS LIFT BURNLEY F.C. TO WHERE THEY BELONG!!!!GOOD LUCK BURNLEY FC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The previously not known life of a private man, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Essential reading for bfc followers well written and researched an excellent insight into football in the 50's 60's and 70's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read about a lonely figure in his public/working life., 7 Sep 2013
This review is from: Jimmy Adamson: The Man Who Said No to England (Hardcover)
As a Leeds fan who actively took part in the demonstrations at Elland Road to have Adamson (and several of the Leeds directors) removed in 1978 to 1980, I found this a very interesting read. It goes into detail about Jimmy's private life, which is both revealing as well as saddening. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "A complex and private man", 3 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. M. Griffiths "Mark G" (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jimmy Adamson: The Man Who Said No to England (Hardcover)
An unsung hero; a "player's player"; an often difficult and sometimes introverted individual; a man with an intellectual approach to football. Jimmy Adamson was all of these. His life was tinged with sadness and a sense of betrayal; albeit towards the very end there was a sense of rapprochement where Adamson felt able to go home to the club where he had made his name. This latest work from the prolific Dave Thomas captures the essence of one the greatest ever to wear the claret and blue shirt. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Re: Jimmy Adamson biography, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed reading this book about one of the most influential men in football. I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, unexpected moments everywhere, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I knew most of the story but this felt like a peek into his obviously very private life. Great insight into all aspects of Football management.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Clarets Great, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I knew Jim, a great cultured footballer, captain and a gentleman, an idol at Turf Moor, Burnley recently deceased and very much missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Falling out of love with football, 10 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen Pickles (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jimmy Adamson: The Man Who Said No to England (Hardcover)
As someone who watched Burnley towards the end of Jimmy Adamson's playing career, throughout his time (bad, good, bad) as a manager, I was curious to know more about how someone descended from the heights of 1962 (FA Cup runner up, First Division runner up, Footballer of the Year, England Assistant manager at World Cup Finals) to someone who walked from football within 20 years at the age of 51.
A great read, especially for Burnley fans and those who lived through the period who will have the context for many of the events described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thought this book would be hard to read being a Bolton fan but heard about it through my friend Jennie (Jimmy's granddaughter). I couldn't put it down while on holiday and found it interesting from a football fans perspective and also very emotional and sometimes difficult to read about the tragedies which he endured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Story of "What If", 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a really riveting read that digs into the background of Jimmy Adamson and what made the player and manager he became. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jimmy Adamson: The Man Who Said No to England
Jimmy Adamson: The Man Who Said No to England by Dave Thomas (Hardcover - 1 Aug 2013)
12.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews