Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars43
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 June 2014
Does 'exactly what it says on the cover'......tells 'all about the boys'....I was hoping that this book would have been full of tales about what the the aircraft was like to fly....'hairy moments' 'carrier landings' etc etc. but alas book was all about 'The Boys' their youth, their education,joining the services, their postings, their promotions........dominated by many personnel group photos,with just a few previously not seen photos of the aircraft.
Perfect..... if you were part of the Buccaneer fraternity, having perhaps ;- manufactured, flown, or been part of a squadron,this book may have been ideal, but as a "Plane Crazy" enthusiast with no military service or interest whatever, found this 'fairly heavy going 'and gave up around the half way stage.............
Did ...'exactly what it said on the cover'
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2013
Virtually finished the book but really enjoying it. Finding it very well written, informative and entertaining. I served thirteen years in the RAF and the Buccaneer was always a favourite. I can remember sitting in the tower at Kinloss watching a Buccaneer doing an airfield attack virtually on the deck. Impressive stuff. All aspects of the aircrafts service are covered and I found it very interesting with the accounts from the aircrew very informative and a great account of a classic british bomber. The pictures are also very good. The Bucc was a classic, this book is a very fine account of its service life from the guys who flew it. Well worth a read.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
This superb book captures in detail the élan, flair and exuberance shown by those lucky enough to fly Britain's last All British Bomber. The whole spectrum of Buccaneer Operations are covered from the early days through Fleet Air Arm operations, maritime attack and Red Flag triumph. Detailed personal accounts convey a fast paced narrative with conviction and a sense of immediacy. The authors have often spent the greater part of their military careers on the type and radiate an innate sense of satisfaction that theirs was a military life of fulfilment and great professional satisfaction.

Superb photographs compliment an exciting and compelling read. Highly recommended. I wish I'd flown it too!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
Really enjoyed this collection of firsthand accounts of this very special British military aircraft. Like its peer, the Vulcan, it was really only used in anger in the twilight of its career but reading this makes you feel confident that this plane and its crews and support staff did a fine job as part of the deterrent during the Cold War.
I did not find it repetitive as it might have been. Mr Pitchfork has done a very good job in assembling personal accounts from the Bucc community so as to illustrate its development and deployment. We read of FAA service through the RAF early days to the operations in the Gulf War. Along the way Torrey Canyon and Red Flag come up and one of the parts I particularly liked was the Bucc in SAAF service (the type's only export success). Here are stories I had never heard before told in a readable manner with passion and authenticity. One cannot help but wonder whether we should have retained the aircraft in service a few years longer but then this story is not alone, the same could be said for several other RAF aircraft. All had validity in this uncertain world to defend we the taxpayers who after all, paid for the planes!
One thing I thought might have been mentioned was the final public display at Cranfield. I was there for that exciting but sad occasion. The Bucc had been a star at many airshows for decades so it was good to see the old girl off.
For the future maybe others will be inspired to send Graham their accounts - maybe from the last active examples in South Africa and Bruntingthorpe - from the groundies as well as aircrew. This is my second in the "Boys" series and so far both have been almost exclusively from former aircrew; I doubt I am alone in seeking firsthand stories of what it was like to keep these monsters in action.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
Great book which brought back all the old memories of my time on 16 Squadron - a must read for those of us who helped to keep it in the air. Its just a shame that there were no stories from the ground crew which would have made it a more complete book

Mike Smith
Ex Gen Tech
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2016
This book has chapters written by different pilots and navigators for this excellent aircraft. Each chapter is full of stories and incidents that give you an idea what it was like to be part of the crew at that time. What is particularly good is the number of people who contributed their stories, and how those stories often overlap. Some of the chapters are written by US exchange crew, and even a few stories from the South African crews who flew these aircraft over Angola and Namibia.

One minor thing stops this being a 5 star book - the Kindle version has some strange mixed case which means many (but not all) of the names of people and places have lost the initial capital letters. Not a big problem, but clearly the Kindle version has not been properly proof-read. This makes picking out place names a bit more challenging.

Don't let the proof reading put you off the book, buy it anyway and hope a corrected version is issued soon on Kindle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
As an ex Fleet Air Arm pilot was interested in the subject matter. A look at the sample turned me off completely as it was so poorly edited. I look forward to the second edition where the spelling, punctuation and use of capitals has been rectified. I would have expected better from an Air Commodore!
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
A nicely illustrated book, but as an ex Fleet Air Arm Buccaneer pilot, I would have liked to see more contributions from Navy pilots. The RAF pilots write well, but are rather over serious, and I'm afraid I did'nt finish the book as a result of literary indigestion!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
When I was a youth I used to be a regular attender at the Naval Air Days at HMS Fulmar (RAF Lossiemouth) in the 1960s and 70s. In those days it was not unusual for the Fleet Air Arm to start the show with a mass 'attack' on the airfield with anything up to 18 aircraft. The Buccaneers were always spectacular - especially on an overcast day when the shock waves would explode off the aircraft during their high-speed passes. This book is really a love story from the guys who flew this remarkable aircraft, the last of the British bombers. Can't recommend it enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
I enjoyed this book a lot. It presents a very wide range of accounts from both the Royal Air Force and the South African Air Force (altogether there's 26 chapters). If you're interested in the more technical aspects of the Blackburn Buccaneer, I'd recommed 'Flying the Buccaneer' by Peter Caygill, but if you want to know what it was actually like to serve on a Buccaneer squadron, this is the book for you. There's a few hilarious anecdotes, but also numerous in depth recollections of flying this beautiful (in a Tyrion-Lannister-sort-of-way) aircraft.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)