Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best!
This is a beautifully presented book; colourful, well laid out and filled not only with mouth watering recipes, but information about the origins of the dish and potted social history.

For anyone unfamiliar with cooking pulses, there's explanation of the different types, their names and it's full of tips to ensure they're prepared and cooked to obtain the best...
Published 5 months ago by Bookie

versus
31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous book to look at, but recipes need re-editing and testing
I love the look, layout and design of this book and it makes me want to cook dals, having loved all the ones I've come into contact with. I'm onto my second recipe now and it's been a disappointing experience so far. The first one neglected to add one of the ingredients in at all (so I just threw it in at the end) and the second one wasn't clear about the fact that black...
Published 15 months ago by Milady


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best!, 10 Jan. 2015
By 
Bookie (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dal Cookbook (Hardcover)
This is a beautifully presented book; colourful, well laid out and filled not only with mouth watering recipes, but information about the origins of the dish and potted social history.

For anyone unfamiliar with cooking pulses, there's explanation of the different types, their names and it's full of tips to ensure they're prepared and cooked to obtain the best from them. Krishna Dutta explains that traditional recipes weren't measured; she does a great job of providing the basic ingredients and also encourages the reader/ cook to improvise and experiment.

I love the variety of pulses used and there's no doubt that this book will be well used. It's vibrant, practical and inspirational. After some 50 years of cooking, this is my first cookbook dedicated to dhal. It's also one of the most exciting too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastically nourishing book!, 29 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dal Cookbook (Hardcover)
There's something fundamentally nourishing about dal. In terms of bang for your buck you cannot beat it as a foodstuff for providing essential nutrients. The same can be said of The Dal Cookbook. Krishna Dutta writes beautifully about the essentialness of dal; about how, in India, you can take away meat, fish, vegetables and just about anything else, but you cannot take away the dal. It is the lifeblood of that country. The fact that it is also incredibly cheap to make and absolutely delicious makes it nigh on perfect as a staple. The west are ignorant about it, treating it as a side dish to accompany the meat, fish, rice and breads that constitute the curry experience over here. Dal is so much more. It has the ability to take on the flavours of everything that you cook it with and that's what makes Krishna's book such a delight - the dals are all different; some complex, some stunningly simple. She explains about the different recipes and the regions from which they come. She sometimes incorporates other sources of protein in them - the lamb dal is fantastic and I'm looking forward to trying the ones with chicken and prawns. Most of the recipes in the book, however, present the pulse as the star, and rightly so. This is dal as soulfood and The Dal Cookbook is a wonderful guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Dal Cooking book, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dal Cookbook (Hardcover)
Wonderful book, lots of delicious dal recipes and very informative too. I like a cook book that provides a bit of knowledge to go with the dish and The Dal Cookbook does.

The author has a nice relaxed style and the quality of the pages and images are great. Could do with a few more pictures but what there is, is mouthwatering.

All the ingredients listed are easily purchased from supermarkets, in fact you will probably have them in your store cupboard as there is nothing too fancy here. Good honest cooking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous book to look at, but recipes need re-editing and testing, 16 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dal Cookbook (Hardcover)
I love the look, layout and design of this book and it makes me want to cook dals, having loved all the ones I've come into contact with. I'm onto my second recipe now and it's been a disappointing experience so far. The first one neglected to add one of the ingredients in at all (so I just threw it in at the end) and the second one wasn't clear about the fact that black chickpeas never seem to mash down like the others (although there was the ambiguous word 'blend' near the end... does this imply use of a blender? or is this just a word for mixing?). I also nearly used toasted sesame oil rather than plain sesame as I wasn't even aware there was a difference (in a regular supermarket you only find toasted). For us non-Indians, more explanation of things Indians take for granted would be great, so we know what to expect, and a rigid proofreading of the recipes (and testing by someone who isn't used to cooking dals). I'll carry on though as so many of the recipes look great, and hope that they are forgiving too (as many dal recipes do seem to be).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Mar. 2015
By 
Ambercat (Cheshire,England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dal Cookbook (Hardcover)
Lots of variety and clearly set out with step by step instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dal-icious!, 30 Oct. 2013
This review is from: The Dal Cookbook (Hardcover)
This book is an absolute must for lentil lovers. Dutta brings together a diverse range of recipes from different parts of India some deceptively simple to make like Bengali Masoor Dal others are more complex and involved like Dhokar Dalna. Many people are wary of lentils deeming them a dull and worthy ingredient but are probably unaware that many Indian staple snacks are made with them such as poppadums and dosa (for which she also provides recipes). Each recipe is prefaced with a brief introduction which gives them context. There's also a useful pictorial guide to the different types of lentils making them easy to recognise when you're buying them. This book has taken away my fear of cooking lentils and so far all the recipes I've tried have been a success with the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Buy, 11 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dal Cookbook (Hardcover)
A disappointing buy. I've tried to cook dal in the past but have always had trouble with getting the cooking time correct to produce the right consistency. When I saw that there was a whole book dedicated to dal cooking, I thought that surely it would help me out. But no. There is a page at the beginning supposedly giving general advice on cooking the lentils. However all Krishna says on the subject of cooking time is, "Be experimental"! This is not very helpful when I've heard that some dals can take anywhere between 30 minutes to two hours to cook. Most of the recipes simply give a sentence telling the reader to cook the dal till tender. No advice is given whether to boil the dal covered or uncovered. I've heard that many Indians cook their dal in a pressure cooker; this is mentioned in passing, but there are no directions on how to do it.
I would say that this booking doesn't really suit a beginner like myself - maybe it would be ideal for someone who already can cook dal but was looking to branch out with other recipes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars it's ok for a fiver., 24 Jun. 2015
By 
David (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dal Cookbook (Hardcover)
Some good recipes, some over complicated, some inadequately explained (no timings) and some errors (ingredients listed but then not included in the method).
I cook lots of dals so guessed what to do but was hoping for some new ideas but got few.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A clear and exciting set of recipes, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dal Cookbook (Hardcover)
This book is somewhat specialised, but anyone who loves dal will love it. I am a great fan of dal, it is the ultimate comfort food, and the recipes in this book are easy to follow and the ones I have tried are absolutely delicious! Plenty for the vegetarian too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dal Cookbook (Hardcover)
Great book, lovely recipes. Healthy and cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dal Cookbook
The Dal Cookbook by Krishna Dutta (Hardcover - 2 Sept. 2013)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews