Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars23
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
21
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£12.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 September 2013
To those who, like me, have always believed that Capt ('Biggles') Bigglesworth's ability to crash his aeroplane amongst the Front-Line trenches and survive was unbelieveable; here is the story of the man who did just that, and more. I do not think that there can be any doubt that many of Biggles's fictional escapades are based upon the actual life of Arthur Gould Lee.
Biggles may have sustained the fascination with primitive air warfare during the intervening period; but it is this book, No Parachute, that finally reveals that it was all true and helps to unravel some of the unanswered questions, which have been raised in all our minds.
The Author acknowledges that he eventually attained that degree of skill and instinct necessary to survive in aerial combat; but that luck remained the key factor in selecting him as a survivor. The nervous exhaustion, which is only alluded-to in Biggles's story, is soberly acknowledged here; as is the ability of one's Comrades or Commanding Officer to recognise it more clearly than one could oneself. Arthur Gould Lee was a lucky man to emerge with his MC and the rest of his life, to enjoy.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
Brilliant, truthful book. How many people would dare to send such truthful letters home, front the war front. If you're at all interested in the first world war, then this is a must.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
I found this book extremely interesting . It is written in a very clear style from diaries he kept at the time when he flew in 1917 to 1918. I recommend it highly.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
The author draws you in to the way life was in the RFC of WW1. In his letters to his wife, A G Lee is proud of being with his fellow pilots whilst modestly recounting his own actions, admitting his fears as well as his excitement and, at times, elation. The undiluted bravery of all WW1 pilots shouts at you from the pages yet is not stated as such. Air war at 20,000 feet in 1917, flying a glorified kite, in an open cockpit, the face smeared in whale grease as protection against frostbite, no oxygen equipment, a dodgy canon that frequently jammed which had to be hit with a hammer to free the jam whilst engaged in a dogfight and, most significantly, no parachute! I found it almost impossible to put down.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
One of the aviation classics, the author fluently describes the rapid learn-or-die life of new pilots at a time when they flew outclassed aircraft on the offensive against better opposition including the Richthofen 'Circus'. He was undoubtedly lucky, very lucky, to survive several engine failures far over the lines, and being shot down on at least 3 occasions in the space of about a fortnight, crashing into front-line trenches. He describes his failing health, nerves and what we'd now call 'combat fatigue'. If you are interested in this book, you should also read Cecil Lewis 'Saggitarius Rising'.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
This is a wonderful account of life as a pilot in WW1. Written in letters and a diary at the time it is an account of the daily life and covers the mix of intense air battles and the long boring patrols where nothing happened. Add into this the fragility of the planes and the randomness of battle damage it's no surprise that pilot's often didn't survive long. They knew this, but the desire to do their bit for country kept their morale going. A great read, couldn't put it down!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
Sjould be read by all WW1 aircraft enthusiasts. Most books are written about the Aces, but this one give you a genuine feel for what it was like going out day after day in inferior equipment against an enemy who was reluctant to venture over allied lines. Having said that it is a remarkable tribute to the Britsih pilots that they were able to survive in their 80hp Sopwith Pups against 160hp Albatros D111's.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
For me this is the first-hand record that says it all. Arthur Gould Lee tells his story with the simple honesty of a young pilot writing home to his wife. This was my principal research source when writing The Larks, so much so that Lee makes a brief cameo appearance in my novel.
Having spent fortunes on disintegrating second hand copies of this book I'm delighted to see it back in print.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2016
This is the best WW1 aviation book I have ever read and it has completely changed my perception and understanding of the period and events.
It is beautifully-written and easily readable.
There are enough pictures to support the literature but not too many.
I immediately ordered "Open Cockpit" by the same author.
He has had a unique experience in the air during that time having survived countless close-shaves; but fortunately is here to relate them and put it all into perspective.
His accounts are balanced and relevant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
This true story of a Pilot , who took part in two world wars, is written with honesty, it is a must for all Aviation Buffs, and those who
aspire to reach for the stars.. I first read read the story 35 years ago.It is equal with Saggitarius Rising, and The recollections
of an Airman, by Louis L'Estrange MC DFC*OBE. all three are classic memories of a Fighter Pilot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£11.39
£16.00

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)