Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best coaching book I have read by far. A must buy for any coaching that takes his development seriously., 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Modern Soccer Coach 2014: A Four Dimensional Approach (Paperback)
The book gives a great insight to the thoughts of modern coaches and the skills required to be successful. After reading the book in two days! I have already implemented some of the brilliant ideas. The session plans within are clear and concise and can be used by all level of coaching ability and experience. The book also looks at problems faced by coaches today and offer solutions on how they can implement changes to improve their team and get the most out of their players. It puts to bed the old school methods of doing laps around the pitch and only playing a game at the end. So if you want to improve your coaching style and ability this book is a must buy, your team will love you for it. I highly recommend it, enjoy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 27 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Modern Soccer Coach 2014: A Four Dimensional Approach (Paperback)
If your a football coach and your looking to up your game, this quite simply is a must buy.

Gary as you can tell by reading the book is obviously devoted to Football and is doing an excellent job by doing so.

The session plans to the 4 dimension approach to the talk of tactics is just endless knowledge that if you see on my twitter account I have a wall full of postick notes!

The reason I bought this book was due to being relatively new to coaching the higher ages, 11+. Most of my work has been with the younger ages so I lacked the experience and knowledge of how to deal and plan around these kind of players. And I can tell you it didn't disapoint.

I suggest that you read through it and apply it whilst doing it. If you simply plow through it you are wasting the book in my opinion. So for instance read the warm up paragraphs and apply them for that week that you read it and move on so and so.

Excellent buy hope to see more. MUST BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very useful, practical and concise book, 20 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Modern Soccer Coach 2014: A Four Dimensional Approach (Paperback)
The information in this book is well presented and concise, allowing anyone to understand the principles. These principles are lead through to implementation with practical examples. Has impacted my current coaching as well as now being a future reference source
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read and tips, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really interesting views, great advice and some great drills. Looking forward to putting them into practice in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best coaching book out there., 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Modern Soccer Coach 2014: A Four Dimensional Approach (Paperback)
Just finished reading this book and have put some of the ideas into practice, and am already seeing results. Gary has produced a brilliant resource that all coaches should have a look at, if they wish to improve their coaching skills.
It is a very easy to read book, with excellent diagrams and drills to illustrate what he is talking about. The book is written in a very structured way, and each point made follows on from the next.
This book is definitely the must-read book of 2014 for coaches of both the elite game, and also of grassroots - as the principles and practices can be applied effectively to both.
This is one the best coaching book I have read, in my opinion up there with the likes of Wein and Ford. As it is more up to date, and more reflective of the modern game, I would argue it is probably better too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars eye opener, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gary's passion drips off every page of this book. It gives you some practice ideas and sessions, but for me it is the talk of the little details, like tempo that are the real gems in this book. Well worth a read by any coach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE FOR COACHES, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Modern Soccer Coach 2014: A Four Dimensional Approach (Paperback)
This book really opens up the imagination and will make you think about the sessions you have been taking.. It will change your view and you will adjust your sessions according.. Quite simple an excellent read and it will also be a book you return to regularly for idea and drills
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you're fussy like me then this review is aimed at you, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Modern Soccer Coach 2014: A Four Dimensional Approach (Paperback)
This is a great book and I can't complement it enough. 10 well spent which sometimes we take for granted (like me with alcohol :D).

"Four Dimensional Approach", Technical, Tactical, Physical and Mental.

There are 10 chapters with the first 4 warming us up on how we can improve ourselves as a coach and explaining how training has changed. How traditional training can be too rigid and how modern training should be identical to match day for example high tempo, using time wisely and how to stimulate your players and not bore them basically. But all in all, how to modernise you and your coaching methods.

Chapters 5-9 pre-match, attacking, defending, transitional play and counter attacking. These are all drill based chapters and start with explanations on how the four dimensions play a part and what standards you need to set and what to look out for. Then there are diagrams showing and explaining how each drill works and how to progress them while offering coaching points, all of which are easily understood and ending with a summary on the chapter. (My favourite chapter being transitional, which works on how to prevent players switching off and how to recover quickly when possession is gained or lost)

Finally chapter 10 ends the book with again on how to help yourself. Dealing with setbacks, how to support yourself and above all how to enjoy what you're doing.

I use this book to coach under 11s but it would work with higher age groups aswell. If you're a coach looking for a book to improve your training sessions, to improve yourself and to help you and the kids to look forward to training buy this book, it really is a fantastic read. The corner pages on mine are already curling up due to overuse :) (Level One Cert Coach)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, must buy!, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Modern Soccer Coach 2014: A Four Dimensional Approach (Paperback)
I would recommend this book to any current or aspiring football coach at any age or level. As a young coach my self this was very interesting to read and see someones perspective on how the game has changed and how to get the most out of your players in the current day and age. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for any coach, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Modern Soccer Coach 2014: A Four Dimensional Approach (Paperback)
A must read for any coach looking to expand his knowledge base , Gary curneen challenges the way u think about coaching , I will be implementing some of what I have learnt into my sessions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3948cc0)

This product

The Modern Soccer Coach 2014: A Four Dimensional Approach
The Modern Soccer Coach 2014: A Four Dimensional Approach by Gary Curneen (Paperback - 29 Oct 2013)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews