Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Read, 2 July 2013
This review is from: Saturday Afternoon Fever: A Year on the Road for Soccer Saturday (Paperback)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book, thought it was a cracking read. Didn't know about any of the stories in it and it made a nice change to read about something new and unheard of. I suppose if you are spending your life looking for them then you'll find them but it's refreshing to see someone give them some prominence. I really liked the bits with the fans because without them the game is nothing. I would really recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT READ, 13 July 2013
WHAT A GOOD BOOK TELLS THE INSIDE STORY OF ONE OF SKYS BEST REPORTERS
A REALLY GOOD READ LOOK FOWARD TO HIS NEXT BOOK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just a game, 10 July 2013
This review is from: Saturday Afternoon Fever: A Year on the Road for Soccer Saturday (Paperback)
This collection of stories about footballers is a great read for even those not as fanatical about the game as some. It is primarily a story of individuals competing not only against opponents on the field but against their own demons, their false starts in the game, and the disadvantages that set the odds against their success. It is the human side of football which is often swamped by the weight of monies and celebrities weighing the game down. In this way it goes to the roots of the game, and reminds us of the real human values in football. It does all this without preaching or being pretentious. It allows the footballers to tell their own stories, and takes you places well off the Premier League map. It is more than a good read, and will appeal to fans and those interested in the extraordinary stories of ordinary footballers. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars saturday soccer, 12 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saturday Afternoon Fever: A Year on the Road for Soccer Saturday (Paperback)
A great read for any footy fan who either follows his team or watches the great sky coverage on a saturday. Dairy of the season from one of the top reporters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great stories, 7 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Saturday Afternoon Fever: A Year on the Road for Soccer Saturday (Paperback)
This book was great - it told stories about people you would never normally get to hear about. The stories range from inspirational to eye wateringly funny. Phillips certainly knows how to tell a good tale. I would thoroughly recommend this book as a holiday read - it's a collection of short stories, so was great to pick up and put down during my recent holiday in Spain. A must read not only for football fans, but for those of you who like stories about everyday people (my girlfriend even borrowed it off me to read and enjoyed it).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top read, 14 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saturday Afternoon Fever: A Year on the Road for Soccer Saturday (Paperback)
Really enjoyed this book. Football is full of stories that rarely get documented in the mainstream and those that Johnny Phillips recounts are great examples. As a result of reading this book I'm looking forward to hearing how the likes of Forest Green and even Welshpool fare this season. In a way, it brings the Soccer Saturday videprinter to life. This book is a highly entertaining read and I'm looking forward to the sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Proper football stories, 23 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Saturday Afternoon Fever: A Year on the Road for Soccer Saturday (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading this. Gave a fascinating insight into what life is like working in the game as a reporter. But best of all were the stories about the subjects themselves. Proper stories about real football people. It's people like Torres, Thomas, Deuchar and the others the author discovered who demonstrate why it is the beautiful game. These people should be heard and I'm glad I got to know about them too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, but fine, 4 Jun. 2014
By 
J. Stoeving (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saturday Afternoon Fever: A Year on the Road for Soccer Saturday (Paperback)
This book is a light read with many short, fine stories. There's not that much extra knowledge or speciel moments in the book, but it's ok. I was close to giving it 3 stars, but went with 4 small stars. A light read when you need to relax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great stories, brilliantly told, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saturday Afternoon Fever: A Year on the Road for Soccer Saturday (Paperback)
A book full of inspiring tales and humbling people! Stories told with great humour and sensitivity. You don't need to be a football fan to appreciate this - a fantastic read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saturday Afternoon Fever: A Year on the Road for Soccer Saturday
Saturday Afternoon Fever: A Year on the Road for Soccer Saturday by Johnny Phillips (Paperback - 4 Jun. 2013)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews